We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Cool B&B Exoerience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whistler's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Whistler's Inn
Ranked #12 of 20 Lenox B&B and Inns
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
313 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Very Cool B&B Exoerience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Thi was a true B&B experiece. Every room has character, unique in its own way. Victorian to the max, very personal service, and dated of course, but a B&B in New negland that is to be expected. Proximity to everything Lenox has to offer, yet tucked away on a side street s quiet you can hear the rain when it fall softly through the trees.

Room Tip: I would call directly for rates, I got a much better deal working with them personally, and make sur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JBMartiniguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    33
    7
    11
    10
See reviews for
15
46
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Central Englan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Our visit to Whistler's Inn didn't start well as they had lost our booking. We were a little taken aback as we had email confirmation. We had to sit and wait for quite a while before we knew what was happening It turned out OK as we were put in the African Room which was larger than the Garden Room we had booked. Our room was huge and felt more like an apartment than a hotel room. More than enough room for the three of us. The room felt more like a home than a hotel room, with lots of personal mementos from the families trip to Africa. It was quirky. We loved it but I could see that the lack of uber-clean hotel room feel may put some off. Breakfast was quite an informal, homely affair with home made items. The hotel is in easy walking distance to Lenox town centre and only 5 mins drive to Tanglewood.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pitst0p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Very good location in a lovely setting. Richard and Joan were delightful, informative hosts. Breakfast was very good, especially the wonderful Almond Cake. Our room was bright, sunny and welcoming. We relaxed, enjoyed the casual atmosphere and found another guest at the inn making four, for Mah Jongg.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank rg10s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevy Chase MD
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

Walking distance to downtown Lenox and a shortcut to Tanglewood - we were home so fast after the concert! The Inn Keepers are so lovely and the house is oh so charming! Delicious strata and breakfast cakes with fresh fruit. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cecerecr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

A great get away. This spot is convenient to the town for walking and looking around the area. The property itself is lovely. The outdoor area is a great and stress free place to relax. The indoor areas are also beautiful. The highlight though was the delicious breakfast complimented by the friendly and interesting conversation. The owners make your stay comfortable and made us look forward to returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank clees1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

My husband and I just stayed for our anniversary gettaway weekend. It was beautiful quiet very clean I love all the antiques and historic charm. The breakfast every morning was amazing and the service was impeccable. The gardens were so beautiful we sat and had a little picnic in the afternoon. Thank you for such a great weekend you were all wonderful!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crutter77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

We have stayed at this Inn already two times (second time - a week ago) and I am sure we will stay again next time when we come to Berkshires. It is a very charming place with a lot of antique details, cozy library and music rooms. The hosts, Lisa, Joan and Richard, are a very nice family, who enjoy talking to guests and provide a homely atmosphere. During breakfast time, the guests have opportunity to know each other and the hosts. And the breakfast meal is very delicious. We would definitely recommend this Inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eugene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
2.9 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#5 of 14 in Lenox
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
3.1 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
0.2 mi away
Cornell Inn Lenox
Cornell Inn Lenox
#2 of 20 in Lenox
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn
0.1 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#1 of 20 in Lenox
5.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
0.1 mi away
Birchwood Inn
Birchwood Inn
#7 of 20 in Lenox
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whistler's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whistler's Inn

Property: Whistler's Inn
Address: 5 Greenwood St, Lenox, MA 01240-2029
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Whistler's Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featured on The Travel Channel and Great Escapes, this 1820 English Tudor mansion in the heart of the Berkshires was once the home of the railroad tycoon Ross Wynans Whistler, nephew of the painter James M. Whistler. Close to Tanglewood and all major Berkshire cultural venues, Whistler's Inn captures the warmth and elegance of a bygone era. On six acres of gardens and woodlands and two blocks from the center of Lenox, this quiet antique and art-filled retreat has an extensive library and French music room with a Steinway grand piano. A buffet breakfast is served with recipes inspired by the cook's world travels (Spain, France, Israel, South America, Japan and Morocco). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Whistler's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whistler`s Hotel Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing