We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Inn...Wonderful Hospitality”
Review of The Kemble Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Kemble Inn
Ranked #5 of 19 Lenox B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ridgefield, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Inn...Wonderful Hospitality”
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We recently experienced a wonderful weekend at the delighful Kemble Inn in Lenox, MA.
The Inn is lovely and conveniently located just a short walk to downtown Lenox.
The staff was extremely attentive and hospitable. Breakfast was included. I especially recomend the yummy homemade scones. The best dinner we had in the area was at the Inn. The chef is very talented. I would highly recommend this place. Thank you to the staff for a wonderful weekend in the country.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    41
    13
    9
    3
See reviews for
18
157
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2011

The Kemble Inn is lovely and well located in Lenox. Everyone was very friendly and helpful...they went out of their way for us. The food was delicious, the setting lovely, and our room was very comfortable. I highly recommend the Kemble Inn.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, MD
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Very friendly and efficient service. Delicious and decadent breakfasts. New owners are updating the property with great modern style and panache. They have redone most bedrooms and baths and are working on the rest. Could't have been a nicer stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneBaltimore_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Hills, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We stayed at this beautifully redone Inn in July and the friendly and efficient staff made us feel like family, The exterior of the mansion is grand and very much in keeping with the historic history of the Grand Houses of the Berkshires with a crisp gray and white color scheme but the interior is another atmosphere entirely. From the grand entrance crystal chandelier and welcoming iced tea , coffee and home baked snacks to the coolly elegant comfortably modern collection of art deco and contemporary furnishings the public areas were making it difficult to leave to explore the surrounding towns.The guest rooms have all been redone. Our room was simple, modern and very sophisticated with a large flat screened television, sitting area and a bathroom with a beautiful walk in shower ,.The dinner was a 3 course price fixed sumptuous feast- well worth staying to have dinner if you are a guest or just traveling through. The chef is doing it right. There is a guest refrigerator stocked with complimentary water and ice-cream- very thoughtful.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan-Lu14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

The Kemble Inn's new owners have changed the place completely. From the sleek furnishings to the fine mattresses and excellent kitchen, the place is now superb. Breakfast on the lovely porch is a real treat, there are always coffee or iced tea and cookies available throughout the day. For a quiet, elegant place to enjoy Tanglewood and the other area offerings, this place can't be beat.

Room Tip: Most rooms face the rear, which is preferable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dannyboy2_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2011

This newly renovated inn offers comfortable, updated rooms and a welcoming atmosphere overlooking a beautiful view of the Berkshires. Since I usually stay in five star plus hotels, I'm careful about small inns but the Kemble was terrific on all counts. Great staff, very clean. Breakfasts are excellent and dinners are first class. Indeed, after eating there on night, we cancelled our restaurant reservations to eat there yet again. Always, good to arrive at an inn where Queen Elizabeth II's portrait is on the entrance wall.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank belvoirterrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Very nice staff and wonderful breakfast, but dinners were not available during the week and bar service was unavailable the evening we requested. Also was a little put off by the fishing for a positive tripadvisor review. Maybe this is the reason for #6?

Room Tip: 3rd floor was a bit stuffy/warm in summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank compassjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
0.5 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#4 of 16 in Lenox
561 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wheatleigh
Wheatleigh
#8 of 16 in Lenox
130 reviews
2.6 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Blantyre
Blantyre
#5 of 16 in Lenox
253 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort
0.8 mi away
Cornell Inn Lenox
Cornell Inn Lenox
#1 of 19 in Lenox
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kemble Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kemble Inn

Property: The Kemble Inn
Address: 2 Kemble St, Lenox, MA 01240-2813
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Kemble Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a Gilded Age mansion with a modern heart and stunning mountain views, Kemble Inn offers a 12-room retreat with a one-of-a-kind experience. Guests find sanctuary in contemporary styled rooms, savor expertly prepared seasonal cuisine at our on-site restaurant, Table Six, and with our central location, make the most of the cultural offerings and activities in the Berkshires. Our Classic American restaurant, Table Six, is helmed by former White House Chef, Ron Reda and serves expertly prepared seasonal cuisine. Come enjoy White House dining style in the heart of the Berkshires. Your Kemble Inn experience includes the following: New York Times rated “Best Breakfast in the Berkshires” Individually Controlled Thermostat En-suite Bathrooms with heated floors, two with Jacuzzi Tubs Free Wi-Fi HD Flat-Screen TVs w/ Free On-demand movies iPod Docks Complimentary Newspaper Complimentary Self-Parking Housekeeping Service Luxury Linens Luxury Bath Products ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Kemble Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kemble Hotel Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing