We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Choice in the Berkshires”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Kemble Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Kemble Inn
Ranked #6 of 20 Lenox B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Gatos, CA
Level Contributor
102 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Nice Choice in the Berkshires”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

We stayed at the Kemble Inn for two nights. On the plus side, it is a really beautiful old mansion in a very nice location. It is walking distance to downtown Lenox and Shakespeare and Co. It was really fun to stay in one of the grand old mansions in the Berkshires. The stay was pleasant, but it is a new inn, and they have a few more things to do to make it really a top place. To me, it is the details that really separate a great inn from a good one. You can see all the many improvements the owner has made and I am sure more are in store for this beautiful old home.
The room we selected was 201. It was very large and had hardwood floors and beautiful original fireplace. The curtains were gorgeous plum silk with lovely hardware. The linens were very nice. The furniture was an unusual choice of slick chrome and old fashioned mohogany reproductions. There was no closet, but an armoire. It was very quiet.
The bathroom was just redone and just lovely, sort of a retro 20's feel with shiny subway tiles, hexagon floor tiles and grey and white marble, perfect choice for this grand old mansion. But missing any counter space or make up mirror. The Aveda products very nice.
Wireless did not work in our room, but did downstairs.
The common areas are beautiful rooms, but with the same sort of odd mix of furniture as our room. The fabulous staircase was grand but in need of some sanding and new paint, as was the outside of the home and other areas (like the window in the bathroom). On the first night of our stay there was a vase with brown water and a dead plant in it, yet on the entry table there were homemade cookies.
The porch outside was lovely and so pleasant to have breakfast and dinner on. The outdoor furniture new and very smart looking. The view is of a beautiful grass backyard that was calling for some flower borders and landscaping. Both breakfast and dinner were good, but not as innovative or yummy as the food we had in town at Alta. The wine was very good, small but perfect and a great value.
The manager was super friendly and helpful and she really made our stay enjoyable. The piano player one night was a terrific touch.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparky22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    39
    13
    9
    3
See reviews for
17
150
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ridgefield, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

We recently experienced a wonderful weekend at the delighful Kemble Inn in Lenox, MA.
The Inn is lovely and conveniently located just a short walk to downtown Lenox.
The staff was extremely attentive and hospitable. Breakfast was included. I especially recomend the yummy homemade scones. The best dinner we had in the area was at the Inn. The chef is very talented. I would highly recommend this place. Thank you to the staff for a wonderful weekend in the country.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

The Kemble Inn is lovely and well located in Lenox. Everyone was very friendly and helpful...they went out of their way for us. The food was delicious, the setting lovely, and our room was very comfortable. I highly recommend the Kemble Inn.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

Very friendly and efficient service. Delicious and decadent breakfasts. New owners are updating the property with great modern style and panache. They have redone most bedrooms and baths and are working on the rest. Could't have been a nicer stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneBaltimore_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Hills, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

We stayed at this beautifully redone Inn in July and the friendly and efficient staff made us feel like family, The exterior of the mansion is grand and very much in keeping with the historic history of the Grand Houses of the Berkshires with a crisp gray and white color scheme but the interior is another atmosphere entirely. From the grand entrance crystal chandelier and welcoming iced tea , coffee and home baked snacks to the coolly elegant comfortably modern collection of art deco and contemporary furnishings the public areas were making it difficult to leave to explore the surrounding towns.The guest rooms have all been redone. Our room was simple, modern and very sophisticated with a large flat screened television, sitting area and a bathroom with a beautiful walk in shower ,.The dinner was a 3 course price fixed sumptuous feast- well worth staying to have dinner if you are a guest or just traveling through. The chef is doing it right. There is a guest refrigerator stocked with complimentary water and ice-cream- very thoughtful.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan-Lu14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

The Kemble Inn's new owners have changed the place completely. From the sleek furnishings to the fine mattresses and excellent kitchen, the place is now superb. Breakfast on the lovely porch is a real treat, there are always coffee or iced tea and cookies available throughout the day. For a quiet, elegant place to enjoy Tanglewood and the other area offerings, this place can't be beat.

Room Tip: Most rooms face the rear, which is preferable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dannyboy2_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

This newly renovated inn offers comfortable, updated rooms and a welcoming atmosphere overlooking a beautiful view of the Berkshires. Since I usually stay in five star plus hotels, I'm careful about small inns but the Kemble was terrific on all counts. Great staff, very clean. Breakfasts are excellent and dinners are first class. Indeed, after eating there on night, we cancelled our restaurant reservations to eat there yet again. Always, good to arrive at an inn where Queen Elizabeth II's portrait is on the entrance wall.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank belvoirterrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lenox hotels
1.8 mi away
Blantyre
Blantyre
#4 of 14 in Lenox
5.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
3.4 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#5 of 14 in Lenox
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort
0.1 mi away
Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn
0.8 mi away
Cornell Inn Lenox
Cornell Inn Lenox
#2 of 20 in Lenox
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kemble Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kemble Inn

Property: The Kemble Inn
Address: 2 Kemble St, Lenox, MA 01240-2813
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Kemble Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a Gilded Age mansion with a modern heart and stunning mountain views, Kemble Inn offers a 12-room retreat with a one-of-a-kind experience. Guests find sanctuary in contemporary styled rooms, savor expertly prepared seasonal cuisine at our on-site restaurant, Table Six, and with our central location, make the most of the cultural offerings and activities in the Berkshires. Our Classic American restaurant, Table Six, is helmed by former White House Chef, Ron Reda and serves expertly prepared seasonal cuisine. Come enjoy White House dining style in the heart of the Berkshires. Your Kemble Inn experience includes the following: New York Times rated “Best Breakfast in the Berkshires” Individually Controlled Thermostat En-suite Bathrooms with heated floors, two with Jacuzzi Tubs Free Wi-Fi HD Flat-Screen TVs w/ Free On-demand movies iPod Docks Complimentary Newspaper Complimentary Self-Parking Housekeeping Service Luxury Linens Luxury Bath Products ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Hotel.de, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kemble Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kemble Hotel Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing