We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous in the Berkshires!”
Review of The Kemble Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Kemble Inn
Ranked #5 of 19 Lenox B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous in the Berkshires!”
Reviewed 25 January 2012

I have to say that the Kemble Inn was a fabulous experience, as I have stayed in the berkshires in the past. The owner is very nice and very helpful, willing to go out of his way to make your experience an amazing one.

The breakfast was amazing and the food at the restaurant was very delicious. And the view... the view was beautiful from the back porch overlooking the grounds of the inn. Sunset was something specatucular!

I would recommend to anyone who wants to enjoy their time in the berkshires, good for a couples weekend or a weekend with friends.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salvatore A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    41
    13
    9
    3
See reviews for
18
157
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Beautiful location and excellent hospitality. My stay at Kemble was peaceful and luxurious.
The food was superb, love the cozy dining area. Excellent place for an event or a getaway to relax. The attention to detail and the beautiful renovations make this an A+ in my choice to stay.
I have visited twice and look forward to my next opportunity. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Each room offers a wonderful unique style
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adventureTMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, Vermont, United States
1 review
Reviewed 23 January 2012

When looking for a quiet place for a brief romantic getaway for my wife's birthday, I stumbled across the Kemble Inn on the Lenox, MA Chamber of Commerce website. What a great find. Scott was a gracious host, the rooms are well appointed, the house is a great place to enjoy privacy and 130 plus year old style appointments. Breakfast was made to our order each morning and well done I might add. We had dinner reservations for Friday night and another couple staying there also celebrated a birthday in the beautiful and cozy dining room. When you stay, be sure to check out the old cookstove, and the chandelier in the entry hall. Five minuter walking distance to nice shops and several very good restaurants, the Kemble Inn is about a mile from Tanglewood.
We had a blast exploring several of the surrounding communities and museums, and looked forward to each of our three nights stay of relaxation.

Room Tip: 204 has a great jacuzzi tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomasandgail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

I just had to write another review about this bed and breakfast.

We stayed back in January 2011 and I had a fabulous time (I wrote a previous review for this stay). We also stayed there for a weekend in the summer (June 2011) as a stopover from Toronto to NYC. The owner Scott even remembered us from our last visit which made us feel very welcomed! We had such a terrific time. I love how the lounge has flat screen TVs, a piano, candle light. The ambiance is very romantic and classic, yet modern and stylish - it's like a cross between staying at the W and the Ralph Lauren Mansion. The summer was a great time with the easy walk to the shops and entertainment.

We went there again just this past weekend (January 2012) and my goodness... they have a RESTAURANT! This was underworks when we visited in the summer, but now it's fully functioning with a superb menu and amazing decor. Typically, we would walk over to Alta to eat but after our first night of dining at the Kemble Inn, we ended up eating there for our entire stay!

The food and service at the Kemble Inn restaurant were sublime! The decor included this very old oven/range that Scott had mentioned they found while doing their renovations, dating back to the early 1900s (I think.. or maybe earlier). It brought so much history to the dining area...we felt very connected when we ate there. What an experience!

Having a restaurant at the inn was so convenient for us since we didn't have to leave the hotel at night when it was so cold out. The food (to be honest) was better than the restaurants at the village (at least that's my opinion) and for such a great price! We were even able to charge the bill to our room. In the lounge, we were also able to order from a great selection of wine and have that charged to our room as well.

Anyway, I just have to say, "Great Work". I can see this hotel continuing to be very successful in the Berkshires. The owner really has a "vision" for this place and my husband and I can't wait to come back to see how it progresses. We're looking forward to our stay this summer.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChemEngGirl82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Firstly, I want to make clear that this review is not being written in the spirit of victimization or retribution. I value honest reviews because of the valuable resource they provide for other travelers and hope that this review can be of value to others. This is a very beautiful inn in an interesting and friendly area. However, the time spent here was very unsatisfying. There were numerous lapses in professional innkeeping and an appalling lack of attention to the guest's having a positive experience. Guests at these types of lodging should never be made to feel as though they are simply an inconvenience to be tolerated for the revenue they provide. We will not return here and hope that any who do patronize this establishment have a very different experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Fortunateson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natick, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 29 December 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Kemble Inn for the last night of our honeymoon. The accomodations were just lovely. The staff was great, especially Laura, who gave a us tour of the inn. Our room was spacious with a very large whirlpool bathtub. The Kemble has all of the charm and ambiance of the great old house that it is but includes modern touches that make the inn a true luxury. We cannot wait to book our return stay for our anniversary next year!

Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ihearthayden523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 9 December 2011

After just a few hours in my car from Boston, I found myself at the beautiful Kemble Inn, a perfect mix of the extravagance of an time long ago and all the modern conveniences of today. The rooms were beautiful, the common spaces warm and inviting, and the outdoor spaces sprawling; the attentive staff made our time here both memorable and relaxing. More than anything, what I will remember most was the elaborate, delicious and fully satisfying meal masterfully prepared by their accomplished chef. I will definitely be returning to The Kemble Inn in the near future.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
0.5 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#4 of 16 in Lenox
561 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wheatleigh
Wheatleigh
#8 of 16 in Lenox
130 reviews
2.6 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Blantyre
Blantyre
#5 of 16 in Lenox
253 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort
0.8 mi away
Cornell Inn Lenox
Cornell Inn Lenox
#1 of 19 in Lenox
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kemble Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kemble Inn

Property: The Kemble Inn
Address: 2 Kemble St, Lenox, MA 01240-2813
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Kemble Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a Gilded Age mansion with a modern heart and stunning mountain views, Kemble Inn offers a 12-room retreat with a one-of-a-kind experience. Guests find sanctuary in contemporary styled rooms, savor expertly prepared seasonal cuisine at our on-site restaurant, Table Six, and with our central location, make the most of the cultural offerings and activities in the Berkshires. Our Classic American restaurant, Table Six, is helmed by former White House Chef, Ron Reda and serves expertly prepared seasonal cuisine. Come enjoy White House dining style in the heart of the Berkshires. Your Kemble Inn experience includes the following: New York Times rated “Best Breakfast in the Berkshires” Individually Controlled Thermostat En-suite Bathrooms with heated floors, two with Jacuzzi Tubs Free Wi-Fi HD Flat-Screen TVs w/ Free On-demand movies iPod Docks Complimentary Newspaper Complimentary Self-Parking Housekeeping Service Luxury Linens Luxury Bath Products ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Kemble Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kemble Hotel Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing