We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting, excellent service”
Review of The Kemble Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Kemble Inn
Ranked #5 of 19 Lenox B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Shelburne, Vermont
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful setting, excellent service”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We did not stay at the Inn, no rooms were available, however my children hosted our golden wedding anniversary luncheon for 70 guests at this lovely place. Close friends and family from Northern New England to Virginia were treated to a wonderful buffet luncheon outdoors on the beautifully attended lawns under a white tent that shaded everyone. It was a gorgeous day and the service was impeccable. The food was great! Guests mingled on the stone patio and small children romped on the grassy lawn. It was a special day for all!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 414Nan62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kembleinn, Owner at The Kemble Inn, responded to this review, 7 October 2012
Your golden anniversary celebration was a special occasion for us too. We have hosted many family gatherings on our veranda, lawns and patio. It is always fun for us to see so many people enjoying Chef Johnathan’s delicious food and our beautiful grounds. Thanks for taking the time to write to let us know how much you enjoyed your special day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    41
    13
    9
    3
See reviews for
18
157
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westport, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We stayed at the Kembel the first weekend that the new owner was there almost two years ago. The Inn was beautiful and the view is probably the best in Lenox but it was a little chaotic.We just got back from a weekend and we decided to give the Kembel another try. Scot has done a wonderful job.He hired a professiona chef and the food is great. Every meal is individually prepared. Breakfast starts with warm rolls and pastry, then eggs, omlets, pancakes etc. a wonderful varied Berkshire breakfast. We also had dinner and I tried sweatbreads for the first time. They were very good. I liked the fresh cookies in the afternoon and they turn down the beds. I felt pambered. The help was personable and efficient. The Inn looks wonderful, Scott has wonderful taste and he has lightened a victorian historic Inn with contemporary art and color. We will be back soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celeste l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kembleinn, Owner at The Kemble Inn, responded to this review, 7 October 2012
Dear Celeste,

You have a real perspective on how much things have changed for the better here since that first weekend! Thanks so much for staying with us again. We do our best to pamper all our guests. We are glad you felt that. That is how it should be on vacation. You said it all – great food from our chef and a ‘lightened-up’ feel for a grand mansion like ours. Thanks for taking the time to write.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

I visited this inn for the first time since it has been reopened for dinner. There was a very reasonable prix fix option and I sat on the gorgeous back porch with friends to enjoy our meal. The food was very good and once we got going, the service was friendly and prompt. The risotto appetizer was amazing - and the entrees were also very good - meats were cooked as ordered and portions were on the generous side. By dessert the mosquitos were eating us alive so we had to move indoors - not nearly as nice as being outside. I didn't care for the stark white walls and gigantic horse painting - the room felt very claustraphobic - but I would highly recommend this inn for dinner based on the quality of the food.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berkshires106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kembleinn, Owner at The Kemble Inn, responded to this review, 7 October 2012
Hi Catherine,

Glad you enjoyed your meal this summer. We do think it is a good option and in-line price-wise with other popular restaurants in town. Thanks for mentioning that. The mosquitos were more hungry than usual that night (usually we are able to keep them under control). While you didn’t like our more cozy dining space, we are glad you could come inside to finish your meal. We look forward to seeing you again and serving you another gourmet meal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We travel to the Berkshires every year. We have stayed in several B & B's. We even stayed at the Kemble Inn sometime ago. BUT...in the hands of the new owners and with the extensive renovations it is just delightful. We actually stayed in 2 rooms as our first was not available upon check in. We booked the inn for 7 days. A nice long stay. When we called to make our reservation, Scott suggested that we take another room and then move. That worked out perfectly for us. Both rooms were large and beautifully decorated. The Ralph Lauren theme offers a different approach from the quaint and CHARMING approach of most B& B's. Kemble offers a more sophisticated approach more like a boutique hotel. The breakfast menu offers several nice choices and sitting on the beautiful porch overlooking the lawn and mountains is again LOVERLY! The wait staff are very nice. I do think that they can be forthcoming with letting you know that there are alternatives to the menu and the chef will accomodate your needs. We did miss the added touch of getting to know the owners. I asked to meet them and was told Scott would see us at breakfast the next day, that never happened. In fact the day we were leaving he and the chef were standing side by side in the main lobby area. The chef greeted us, Scott never even turned around. Ana Lise was very pleasant and seemed to care about all of the guests. A couple of suggestions ... for an inn of this caliber they should supply robes and make up mirrors in the beautiful bathrooms.
We ate dinner in the restaurant. The food was SUPERB! Some of the best we have had. Complements to the Chef. Actually we told him when we saw him the next day. We hope to be back next year and look forward to seeing more improivements that we heard were planned.

Room Tip: Coose the best rooms...they are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harriet Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kembleinn, Owner at The Kemble Inn, responded to this review, 7 October 2012
Hi Harriet,

Thanks for staying with us again. Lots of improvements have taken place, as you noted, since Scott bought the inn a little over two years ago. How nice that you got to enjoy two of our rooms and Chef Johnathan’s delicious cooking. We always appreciate feedback like yours – a few more details in the rooms and a little face-time with Scott. I am glad you felt well-cared for. That is what we all aim for.

Many thanks and see you again, Analesa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

The inn is clean, attractively furnished with Ralph Lauren linens and decor, and offers full meal service (breakfast is included). The food is wonderful. I had hesitations about ordering dinner for myself, my wife, and two friends, but I was very pleasantly surprised. Eating on the porch, with a view of the Berkshires over an expansive lawn, this was one of the two best meals I had in Lenox. I will also say that the innkeepers were very friendly and helpful with suggestions and directions. The wait staff at breakfast and dinner were also friendly and even prepared a care package of pastries for us on our long drive home. It's not quite the same experience as staying at Blantyre or Wheatleigh, but it's also much less expensive.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the mountains. It should be quieter as it will be away from street tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zumbido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kembleinn, Owner at The Kemble Inn, responded to this review, 7 October 2012
Thank you for writing. We are glad you enjoyed your dining experience with us this past summer. That view is still gorgeous in Autumn! We do think we offer a unique dining and luxury lodging experience here in Lenox for a reasonable price. Glad you agree. We look forward to seeing you again – perhaps in the often “still wonderful” but overlooked winter season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Orange, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2012 via mobile

This place is spectacular - its right out of a Ralph Lauren ad. The common spaces are beautiful, the rooms are well appointed and comfortable, and the location cant be beat. I recently spent a weekend in Lenox with friends and had the pleasure of staying at the Kemble Inn. I was skeptical when my BF told me we would be staying at an old inn and I was pleasantly surprised when we arrived - cool, stylish, classic, elegant, chic, and luxurious all describe the decor through out the inn.

Our friends met us at the Kemble Inn and we all had drinks on the terrace before walking to Tanglewood. Everyone enjoyed the beautiful views, cocktails, and comfortable setting. The boys were ready to leave their lodging and switch to the Kemble. 

I was lucky enough to chat with Scott (the owner) and he could not have been more charming and attentive - he was kind enough too share his plans for the Kemble and I can't wait to come back and see all of the improvements. 

The Kemble is my new home away from whome when I visit the Berkshires.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Heath O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kembleinn, Owner at The Kemble Inn, responded to this review, 7 October 2012
While summer is awhile behind us, we wanted to say thanks for writing this lovely review. We enjoyed having you stay with us. It is great that we are so close to Tanglewood. Many of our guests even walk to avoid the traffic. We look forward to seeing you again and hope next time your friends will join you. Let us know as soon as you can, so we can be sure to book your room in the busy summer season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level 6 Contributor
458 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

It is, perhaps, odd to say that the deficiencies of The Kemble Inn may be its virtues.
If you are expecting a B&B to be warm and welcoming with owners fussing over you,
giving you advice about local events and recommending restaurants you will be pro-
foundly disappointed. When we arrive for a one week sojourn we were greeted by a
very young lady who showed us to our room in a perfunctory manner with few remarks
other then to signify the presence of a refrigerator behind the door to our room. If you
wish to be left alone then you might welcome the hands off character of the inn.
On the plus side the common area as well as our room (202) were tastefully appointed
with modern furnishings, spotless hardwood floors, new windows, recessed lighting,
flat screen television and a modern tiled bathroom with an oversized stall shower
and rain forest shower head. The spacious room also had a large sofa which would
have been enhanced with some sort of table. Breakfast was served either on the
sheltered porch area or in a rather small breakfast room during inclement weather.
Although the wait staff tried to provide a high level of service, it is obvious that they
need some additional training. One is presented with a breakfast menu which has
a nice array of choices. However the staff does nothing to make one aware of the
possibility of modifying or augmenting these choices. If one asks, one is accommodated, but nothing is freely offered. This is another manifestation of the
laissez-faire management of the inn. It should be noted that the location of the
Kemble Inn is perfect, and one can enjoy a very relaxing time here indeed, but it
seems more like a hotel than a B&B, but this may not be a negative thing.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redramPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kembleinn, Owner at The Kemble Inn, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, especially when you have visited and left reviews for 55 properties on Trip Advisor. We do strive to make all of our guests comfortable, relaxed and attended to - but in a way that let's them enjoy their leisure time. I do hope that you will visit us again as we continue to evolve in the direction of a boutique hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
0.5 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#4 of 16 in Lenox
561 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wheatleigh
Wheatleigh
#8 of 16 in Lenox
130 reviews
2.6 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Blantyre
Blantyre
#5 of 16 in Lenox
253 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort
0.8 mi away
Cornell Inn Lenox
Cornell Inn Lenox
#1 of 19 in Lenox
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kemble Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kemble Inn

Property: The Kemble Inn
Address: 2 Kemble St, Lenox, MA 01240-2813
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Kemble Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a Gilded Age mansion with a modern heart and stunning mountain views, Kemble Inn offers a 12-room retreat with a one-of-a-kind experience. Guests find sanctuary in contemporary styled rooms, savor expertly prepared seasonal cuisine at our on-site restaurant, Table Six, and with our central location, make the most of the cultural offerings and activities in the Berkshires. Our Classic American restaurant, Table Six, is helmed by former White House Chef, Ron Reda and serves expertly prepared seasonal cuisine. Come enjoy White House dining style in the heart of the Berkshires. Your Kemble Inn experience includes the following: New York Times rated “Best Breakfast in the Berkshires” Individually Controlled Thermostat En-suite Bathrooms with heated floors, two with Jacuzzi Tubs Free Wi-Fi HD Flat-Screen TVs w/ Free On-demand movies iPod Docks Complimentary Newspaper Complimentary Self-Parking Housekeeping Service Luxury Linens Luxury Bath Products ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Kemble Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kemble Hotel Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing