We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Berkshires getaway delight”
Review of Eastgate Inn B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Eastgate Inn B&B
Ranked #7 of 19 Lenox B&B and Inns
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Berkshires getaway delight”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My wife and I had a last minute getaway to the Berskhires July 19th & 20th to see the closing night performance of a play (The Mystery of Irma Vep) at the Berkshire Theater Group. We stumbled upon the Eastgate Inn by happy accident while phoning around for a place to stay & found both the inn and its owner absolutely delightful! We stayed in their overflow facility... a Victorian styled-manor down a long country lane (very seculded), complete with its own fresh water pond (my wife loved her morning swim) & beautifully landscaped grounds. The cost for the accomodation was very reasonable & Dalija (the owner) was able to put us up for just the one night stay - very unusual during high-season in the Berkshires. Our room was beautifully furnished & the making of a sumptious breakfast was available for us in the morning. Not to be missed: cocktails under the stars on the verandah looking out over the pond and to the hills beyond.

Eager to go back for a more extended stay soon!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GHartpence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
25
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cumberland, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here over Memorial Day weekend to attend a workshop at Kripalu. Because we booked last minute, this was the closest we could get to Kripalu. The only thing left at that point was a room with 2 extremely creaky but comfortable twin beds. It was a little odd to have this sleeping arrangement for our wedding anniversary weekend, but we made the best of it.

Dalija, the owner, is extremely pleasant, friendly, & helpful. For a fee, she even picked us up from the local aiport & helped us arrange return transportation. Our room was basic but thoughtfully appointed & clean (bring conditioner as there was none in the bathroom). We appreciated the accessibility to snacks & coffee in the morning before we would leave for Kripalu. The gardens surrounding the property were beautiful. We did not spend much time on the property because we were at Kripalu most of the time, but it was a decent place to have as home base.

As for location, it is a very short walk to Tanglewood & you are a short drive from the shops & restaurants in town. To get from the inn to Kripalu's entrance is about a 20 minute walk. If you borrow one of the inn's bikes, it takes less than 10 minutes to get there. Be advised that Kripalu's driveway is poorly lit at night & can cause a safety hazard. One of the staff can drop you off at the property's edge if you catch them early enough. Once you get to the road, it is pretty well lit & there are sidewalks.

The inn was very basic compared to what we are used to, but it is an okay lodging option. If I returned to Kripalu, I will try to book earlier & stay on property or at the Apple Tree Inn because it borders the property & is a shorter walk.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carolgb328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Eastgate Inn is a very welcoming place, the property is very lovely with its many gardens tucked into areas that invite you for a little stroll. The Innkeeper is the best, Dalija, welcomes her guests with open arms, her breakfasts are delicious, anything from a hearty banana bread to yummy granola. The home is ecletic, with lots of interesting decor, and antiques that furnish the bedrooms, and main sitting area. Dalija will help you in making the best of your stay in Lenox, often recommending restaurants, and historical/cultural sites to visit. In walking distance to Tanglewood Performing Arts Center, downtown Lenox, and The Kripalu Yoga Center, it is an ideal location!! My husband and I stayed at Eastgate Inn for seven nights, we enjoyed our stay tremendously, and would return again. Whether its for a night or a longer stay, you will have fond memories of your time at Eastgate! Bonnie and David, Nova Scotia , Canada.

Room Tip: Our room was comfortable and quiet, upstairs and on the left.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank family1234_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York, USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

The owner is irresistable and will help with anything and everything you need. Clean and comfortable, this small B&B is just steps from Tanglewood and a very short drive into town. Eastgate is hospitality itself.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank balzacnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York, USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The owner is irresistable and will help with anything and everything you need. Clean and comfortable, this small B&B is just steps from Tanglewood and a very short drive into town. Eastgate is hospitality itself.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank balzacnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is a go to place when heading to Tanglewood! The owner Dalija is a sweetheart! More than accommodating! The house has an eclectic homey feel. The porch is such a relaxing place! She added a wonderful solid roof to the porch this year. It's basically the common room for the house in the warm weather! We went back for our second year...a walk up the back entrance to Tanglewood - no traffic to deal with, and the luxury of borrowing Dalijas gardening wagon to tote our coolers & chairs up the road.
Dalijas knowledge of the area and referrals for dining are great! She even arranged our dinner reservations! (Rouge Restaurant-fabulous meal!)
Breakfast on the porch was lovely, homemade quiche with vegetables from her garden, or blueberry pancakes, fresh fruit salad, yogurt, warmed pastry and plenty of juice & coffee. (If your looking for spa like, sparse accommodations - this is not your kind of place) we went for R&R and got it....we'll be back next year!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AMM124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

What a find! This sweet inn is perfect for me so I can attend Kripalu at the day rate and not stay in monastic conditions. Dalija (Dahlia) has a meticulous inn with an astounding veranda, garden, and yard. The guest parlor has fruit, wine, beer, soft drinks and a coffee machine. Dalija is super friendly--she even offered to pick me up in town (I chose to walk --15 mins). It's an easy walk to Kripalu and Tanglewood. My twin bed room has lots of things along the "antique doll" theme. Air conditioning unit-- yay! Dalija gave me a discount because I was alone and taking my breakfast at Kripalu. I will return here next time I'm in Lenox.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArGeeEf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
3.9 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#6 of 16 in Lenox
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
1.2 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#4 of 16 in Lenox
5.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
1.4 mi away
Cornell Inn Lenox
Cornell Inn Lenox
#1 of 19 in Lenox
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastgate Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastgate Inn B&B

Property: Eastgate Inn B&B
Address: 207 West St, Lenox, MA 01240-2412
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Eastgate Inn B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Eastgate Inn B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing