We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent”
Review of Halpin's Grub and Grog - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Halpin's Grub and Grog
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, American
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Seating
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Decent”
Reviewed 10 October 2012

The service is good here. The live band we heard was pretty good. The beer selection was decent.
The food had mixed reviews. 2 of 6 us really enjoyed our food, 1 said it was "pretty good" and 3 didn't like it at all.
We really liked the environment, but this was just an average place to go.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    3
    5
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed 2 October 2012

The food is good, the service is great! The super nachos are awesome and there is always a good selection of beer. Thursday nights are karaoke and theres always a good crowd for that. Definitely a place to check out!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cbgtgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyngsboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Reuben Sandwich”
Reviewed 23 July 2012

My wife and I went here and ordered Reuben sandwiches. They were the best we have ever had. We actually wanted to go back and order some for breakfast the next day. But we departed the area before that time. Price was excellent.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
107 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best place 2 eat b4 tanglewood”
Reviewed 2 July 2012 via mobile

Not sure what prior reviewer was smoking but nothing was frozen. 2 of us ordered nachos gezpacho rubin and wings and could not finish half of it. Order nachos and gezpacho 2gether. Fantastic. Only complaint wait staff was lite so she didn't spend lots of time on us. Had 2 order water which is a pet peev of mine. Really good

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank khm1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holderness, Nh
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Pub, great food”
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Just passing trough but wish we were in the area more often to go to this fun place. Lots of TV's, lots of draft beer choices, open and bright make this a place suitable for all ages - kids to seniors.
The food was very good with a heaping platter of super nachos (more than enough for three people) for $11. All the food was reasonably priced and what we didn't sample sure looked good on others plates.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ss319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Halpin's Grub and Grog also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing