We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we'll be back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chesapeake Inn of Lenox
Ranked #17 of 20 Lenox B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Great hospitality it was a pleasure staying there. Clean and neat. Nice location just outside the Tanglewood gate which makes it very convenient. John, the innkeeper prepared us a couple of fantastic breakfasts. we just booked a room for the Jerry Garcia Celebration 6/22, see you there

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KenR40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2013

We stayed at the Chesapeake Inn last Aug. It was fantastic!!
Walking distance to Tanglewood. We never had to use our car.
After the performance we got to enjoy a glass of wine by the pool and watch the traffic.
Great Location.
John the Innkeeper is fantastic and Breakfast is what ever you want. When ever you want it

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Stayed with John at the Inn last year, and am currently making plans to return this year. John cheerily accomodated my dietary requests, the Inn is in a fantastic location with relation to Tanglewood, I was able to pop onto the wireless when I had to attend to a "crisis" from work, and I absolutely LOVED, LOVED, LOVED the peace and tranquility of the heated lap pool. (What a luxury --> It rates way above 5 stars in my opinion). I found the Inn, and my room in particular to be neat and clean and I appreciated that there were always plenty of pools towels at hand. Looking forward to returning!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Being a music critic, I spend a lot of time at Tanglewood, the Boston Symphony's wonderful summer festival in the Berkshires. For convenience, comfort and privacy, the Chesapeake Inn can not be beat. Located almost across the street from the Tanglewood campus, the inn is wonderfully rustic and charming. The innkeeper John makes a cooked to order breakfast everyday. You just write down what you want for breakfast the night before and John shops and buys fresh food every morning. There is no set time for breakfast. You can have it any time you want, even in the afternoon. There is an inviting lap pool and John has a barbecue every Saturday night on the house for his guests if you do not feel like taking on the restaurant traffic on that busiest night of the week prior to a Tanglewood concert or theater performance. John goes out of the way to meet his guests' needs and see to it that they have a comfortable, relaxing stay. With its great location and warm, friendly ambience, the Chesapeake Inn is your best pick for Tanglewood.

Room Tip: Each of the rooms are different. When you call John, he can describe each one for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LawrenceEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

For the past three years, we have enjoyed staying at the Chesapeake when visiting Lenox to see James Taylor and the Boston Pops during their July appearances. No other Inn is closer to Tanglewood, and the convenience of walking to the park is worth the stay alone. We love "our" Innkeeper John, and can't say enough about his hospitality and willingness to go out of his way to accommodate our needs. John has coordinated with the box office to obtain concert seats exactly where we prefer to sit, eliminating that hassle and frustration for us, and the "whatever you want-whenever you want it" breakfast is terrific. The Inn is humble in its wooded setting and not gussied up with antiques and too much "stuff" (the type of environment that makes one of us dislike staying at the typical B&B), making it a great value by comparison to other Lenox lodging during the season. The result is a rustic, casual and comfortable experience that's exactly right for us. And when we're not out and about, we're content to lounge by the pool-a bonus during this year's heat wave. Thanks for another wonderful stay, John, we'll see you again next year!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank LegalGirlCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChesapeakeInn, Owner at Chesapeake Inn of Lenox, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Chesapeake Inn is a Tanglewood Business Partner. This provides us with access to tickets before they go on sale to the general public (usually 6 – 8 weeks). We extend this opportunity to our guests. Our pool is available to our guests 24 hours/day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I had a fantastic long weekend stay at the Chesapeake Inn of Lenox. The facility was super clean and John Sporck, the innkeeper, was a great host. Just steps away from Tanglewood made it real easy to enjoy the events for a weary traveler. The breakfasts were terric. I had my favorite, smoked salmon on a bagel, which is a rather expensive item for a B&B to serve. Enjoyed John's Saturday evening chicken BBQ, and that we were able to avoid waits at local area restaurans before the concert. I wholeheartedly would recommend The Chesapeake to everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChesapeakeInn, Owner at Chesapeake Inn of Lenox, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

This review illustrates our efforts to cater to each guest’s needs, wants, and desires. We shop each morning to be able to serve each guest a breakfast according to his individual order.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

If you're in Lenox, and especially if you're there to see a show at Tanglewood, this is the place to stay. John, the innkeeper, goes out of his way to make sure your stay is pleasant. The rooms are cozy and bright, and it's within trail-pleasing, walking distance of Tanglewood.

In addition to John's flexibility, graciousness, and enthusiasm, one of the things we love most is breakfast. Most inns have a set menu at a set time. At Chesapeake, you let John know what you would like to eat and he'll cook to order whenever you come downstairs.

We highly recommend this inn.

Room Tip: John can let you know which rooms are bigger, more private, etc. Just ask. :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DMarieTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChesapeakeInn, Owner at Chesapeake Inn of Lenox, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Our approach is customized for each guest. We’ve served breakfast as early as 4:30am and as late as 2:00pm. We search for add-ons that create value for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lenox hotels
1.2 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#4 of 16 in Lenox
581 reviews
3.9 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#5 of 16 in Lenox
587 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Gateways Inn
Gateways Inn
#2 of 20 in Lenox
400 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort
1.4 mi away
Cornell Inn Lenox
Cornell Inn Lenox
#1 of 20 in Lenox
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chesapeake Inn of Lenox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chesapeake Inn of Lenox

Address: 210 West St, Lenox, MA 01240-2412
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range: £332 - £333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chesapeake Inn of Lenox 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chesapeake Inn of Lenox features: Four guestrooms with full, private, ceramic tiled baths; Three guestrooms with queen-sized beds; One guestroom with a queen-sized bed; and a twin-sized, custom built murphy bed; Central air-conditioning in the guest rooms; Free WI-FI HOTSPOT: High-speed, wireless, internet access; a 75 foot, in-ground, heated, lap pool. We pride ourselves on the personal services provided to our guests. For example, your full "Whatever You Want and Whenever You Want" breakfast will include your personal selections. Snacks are provided throughout the day and evening. During the summer season, fresh cut flowers are in each room, and every room has 2 windows with flowered window boxes. You are encouraged to use the grounds and barbecue. On Saturday evenings, we offer a complimentary BBQ during the summer season. It is only 1/4 mile from the Chesapeake Inn to Tanglewood's East Gate. This is an easy stroll for most people. It is 1 mile to the center of Lenox. It is less than 1 mile to Kripalu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Chesapeake Inn of Lenox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing