We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”

Trattoria Il Vesuvio
Ranked #17 of 59 Restaurants in Lenox
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This is up there as one of the best Italian restaurants around the Berkshire area. Very professional wait staff, cool atmosphere inside, pleasant but not overly fancy. I think the food is amazing here, try it out. I agree with another reviewer here too though in that you need to check reservations carefully, tanglewood attracts many, long waits may be expected. In my opinion it's worth it

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Uechi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    43
    16
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Maybe it's too early in the season?”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I see that others have had a great experience there but we did not. We had reservations for three and were there even a bit early. The wine, bread and salad came promptly and we ordered our entrees. ONE HOUR later we received our main meals.We did say that there was no rush but, really? About 30 min. into this wait, the waiter said that my lasagna took longer to prepare. I said I really didn't need lasagna but I guess changing wasn't an option! He did come periodically to apologize for the wait. When the meal finally came, the others' entrees were dry and not appetizing. The lasagna was hot and delicious but still...

There were two huge parties. I honestly don't think they should have taken our reservation in the first place unless they had more cooking help. This may be an anomaly but just check and see how busy it's going to be before you commit to going. The waiter tried his best but should have told me in the beginning that there would be a wait for the lasagna. Again, this experience might have been an anomaly for an otherwise good restaurant.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Pleasant dining experience”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My wife's shrimp francais was excellent. My pasta with mussels and clams and fradiavolo sauce was above average. I thought the entrees were a little pricey as was the salad. However as I said. It was a pleasurable experience.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful meal. The salmon was delicious and the restaurant gives the impression that the family is welcoming you to their place.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marshall B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Very nice meal.”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

My fiance had the veal special and it was awesome. I had the veal saltimbocca, it was good but I was disappointed in the quantity and veal for the price in comparison to what my girl had. All in all, it was good.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Khris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria Il Vesuvio also viewed

 

Been to Trattoria Il Vesuvio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing