We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fairly good but kind of average”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Firefly

Firefly
Ranked #31 of 58 Restaurants in Lenox
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Hampton, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fairly good but kind of average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

This place was very busy so we felt lucky to get one of the last tables available which was out on the deck. We were a bit squeezed in though and the staff and other patrons had difficulty getting past us and other tables along the front deck. The service provided by our young waitress was good and she was friendly and helpful. The food was fine. It's been less than a week since we ate here and I can't remember what we had. I am a real foodie so that is a sign that the food was not memorable. But I remember that it was fine! We would probably not go to this restaurant again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    55
    40
    35
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philly burbs
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good food, spotty service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We had 2 dinners here on a recent Lenox visit. Dining inside, we had terrible service as the waitress constantly ignored us. It took 20 min. to get a drink order. We had allowed 2 hours before a performance, but that wasn’t enough. Dining on the porch - which is very pleasant on a nice summer night -- we had good service by an experienced waitress. Both times, we found the food very good: moist & meaty trout, tasty & crispy Quinoa cake appetizers, and delicious linguini.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Slow service and mediocre food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Ate here over the weekend and the service was just horrible. It wasn't all that crowded but we had to track down a waitress for EVERYTHING. Food was just ok and the wine recommendation was lousy. There have to be better places to eat in Lenox other than the Firefly...save yourself time and money!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tonitony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing service, food just average”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We were the first diners inside and sat at a booth by the bar. Arrived at 5:45 and our meal finally arrived 45 minutes later.

Our waitress passed us every time she went out to check on her customers outside. We watched the staff, check email, send text, make phone calls. Guess they forgot they were there to serve people??? We listened to the loud bartender tell the staff about his 1 hour of sleep, his 11 day work out....We did not come there to hear about their social life, but rather to enjoy a meal out. It is a shame as the place has a wonderful décor!

Never was asked about another drink, water refilled, or how was the meal that was served. We just watched her walk back and forth trying to catch her eye as she was headed out doors.

Where is the training - when customers are present that this the business priority. The hostess was great, we shared our concerns on the way out and asked for the name of the manager.

The Bartender who was the manager on duty - said to my husband - "some people you just cant please, and thanks for nothing.' Don't think this is how the owners are expecting the tone of service to be.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patti714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
1 review
“Salty food, extremely noisy & sub-par service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Having lived in the Berkshires for the past several years we had walked by Firefly many times when in Lenox on business or pleasure. We decided to try it on a recent Wednesday date-night when we were sans-child. It was a very disappointing experience. Given that it was the middle of summer and high season in the Berkshires I didn't expect the restaurant to be quiet - but the noise level was extreme and got louder as the evening and meal went on. It was very hard to hear my husband across the small table for two we had. The food (quinoa cakes, flounder, chopped salad with shrimp) was very salty -and I really like salt, so I was surprised that even I found it unappealing. While our server was new, and a sweet young man, he was inattentive and looked confused most of the time. Unfortunately I could not recommend a visit to this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Firefly also viewed

 
Lenox, Berkshires
Lenox, Berkshires
 

Been to Firefly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing