We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Berkshire Hotel/B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apple Tree Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lenox
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Apple Tree Inn
Ranked #11 of 20 Lenox B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Perfect Berkshire Hotel/B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2011

We stayed in Sepetmeber 2008 and loved every moment - the goregous views from pool and the kids rolled down the hill after breakfast every morning whilst we drank tea/coffee and chatted with friends. We stayed here to attend a wedding and despite staying in many lovely 5 star resorts around the world previously our 3 kids talk about this B&B more than anywhere else. We stayed in a top floor attic room/suite with creaking floorboards and small bathroom - but loved every minute of it.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank macmarkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    31
    17
    12
    12
See reviews for
24
50
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hazlet, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2011

I really love this B&B! Such care is taken in every part...the grounds, the rooms, the food, the service...nothing is missing here! The owners are genuinely nice people and you can see how much they love their Inn.
This is the perfect place to stay if you are in the Berkshires. Tanglewood is literally across the driveway, Kripalu is right next door and the town of Lenox is a couple of minutes away.
I have stayed in both the lodge and the Inn and had a great experience in both. All of the rooms have phenomenal views and the decor is beautiful.
My favorite rooms in the Inn were #2 (has its own porch!) and #4. I stayed in the Inn in the winter and it was so nice to have the fireplaces going in both the rooms and in the main parlor. It is so cozy here!
My very favorite feature here is the pool. It is absolutely breathtaking!!!! It is clean, spacious and the views are FANTASTIC!!!
In the summer they open the kitchen for dinner and it is delicious!

I highly recommend a trip to this beautiful place!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marenleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay (second) with a large group of friends. The common area was perfect for our group, breakfast was excellent, and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom had a large tub - great for reading! The owners were very accommodating and served our group a delicious dinner both nights we were there, even though the kitchen was closed for the season. I left a couple of items behind and they were promptly sent to me. We will return!!!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank far2pennywise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2011

How can I start this... My daughter and I book a 1 one night stay at the Apple Tree Inn this past January, and WOW a snow storm came in fast and furious. Overnight we had 22 plus inches. We had extended our stay for another night ...no one was going anywhere.. and the owners graciously upgraded us to a room with a fire place....for no reason . If I can remember what the owner said... If you are going to be stranded in the Berkshire, at least be warm and comfortable... I loved it,. Here we were in an incredible room with a fire place, that was beyond words. We watched the snow fall from our king size bed with an amazing view through 3 windows, of the Berkshire Mountains. The next morning we were welcomed with a fire in the main parlor and a yummy continental breakfast that included the best home made granola that we had ever had. In short...It was the most magical, totally unexpected, perfect time in a Bed and Breakfast Inn that we have ever had. Great conversations, perfect ambiance, and stunning environment We have booked another visit this March, and I can only hope for a spring snow fall

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cmredel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2011

We arrived and were greeted in a very off-hand manner; it was as though he did not want to be there (we later realised this was the owner!). Neither he nor a member of staff offered us any assistance with our luggage - in all the other places we stayed it was always taken to our room for us.

The overall appearance was run down. Our room was OK but some of the furnishings were looking past their best and the decor was bordering on gothic! We found coffee cup stains on the mantlepiece and a duster on the window sill. The bathroom was not good - it was very antiquated and in dire need of an update - it was also cold.

There were no coffee making facilities in the bedroom or downstairs; when we asked why, we were told by the owner that it was for health and safety reasons! However, we were allowed to light an open fire in our bedroom???!!!

The owner was also very unhelpful when we asked for suggestions where we could eat in the evening.

Breakfast was basic but just about OK.

Moira (Hertfordshire UK)

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mograinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2011

Prices seem to be lower than other Lenox Inns but there's not alot offered. No TV in communal areas, No place to hang out (bar/tavern closed) common area too close for sharing with strangers.
Generally needs a good cleaning. Lots of cobwebs and dust balls, small details are overlooked.
Breakfast just ok. Nothing special. No other meals offered.
The lodge is very dank and musty from your first entrance into the sitting area. No better in the room. Heat hard to figure out - no cable channel guide, no literature in the room to help you get around the town.
Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank phillygal39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2010

We cannot say enough good things about the Apple Tree Inn. From the moment we checked in, we were treated like very special guests. We were given recommendations for places to have dinner (thank you for recommending Alta) and even a hand written map to get us there. We enjoyed wine in the lounge in front of the fireplace with other guests. It was so friendly! Our room was wonderfully furnished and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast the next morning was plentiful and in the dining room we had the feeling that we were at a wedding reception. The owners are so friendly! And, the best part is that this inn is literally across the road from Tanglewood! We wish everyone would spend the night at Apple Tree Inn and experience the best that Lenox has to offer for yourself!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosemary1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lenox hotels
4.2 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#5 of 14 in Lenox
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
3.2 mi away
Blantyre
Blantyre
#4 of 14 in Lenox
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Cornell Inn Lenox
Cornell Inn Lenox
#2 of 20 in Lenox
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn
1.7 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#1 of 20 in Lenox
5.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Tree Inn

Property: Apple Tree Inn
Address: 10 Richmond Mountain Rd, Lenox, MA 01240-2433
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 33
Also Known As:
Apple Tree Hotel Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing