We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A heavenly location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Apple Tree Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lenox
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Apple Tree Inn
Ranked #11 of 20 Lenox B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
160 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A heavenly location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

I stayed at the Apple Tree Inn in 11/2011 while attending a seminar at Kripalu. The best part was the landscape, fruit ladde trees, and overall cleanliness of the inn. The host and other attendants were very professional, sweet and kind. I got a room at the lodge that I did not care for and was relocated to the main building which has lovely rooms with very victorian style and comfortable beds. The inn serves breakfast which is in its dining room. Beautiful settings and very sunny rooms. In the morning the lobby and dining areas are bathed with warm sunlight. A definite place to revisit. The rates were decent. I will definitey stay here on my future trips to Kripalu and would highly recommend other nature enthusiasts as well as vacationers to pick this spot.

There are some nice restaurants in the vicinity and lovely walking landscape if you are into exercising.

Fresh air and lovely landscape.

Room Tip: 1. Sunny Room 2. Room in the Main House 3. Always take care of your keys. 4. Always check the rat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZJ-161718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    31
    17
    12
    12
See reviews for
24
50
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
northeast u.s.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

This was our second stay at the Apple Tree Inn and it was as great this time as last year! The owners went out of their way for us, giving helpful advice and directions on places to visit. The inn is beautifully furnished - there is always coffee, tea, hot chocolate, etc. waiting for those who want it, lending to the relaxed atmosphere. The breakfast was ample and leisurely with no one rushing us out. The views from the inn are incredible overlooking a lake and nearby Tanglewood. Our room was spotless and quiet and the shower worked very well. While there is no television, we can honestly say it was never missed. We heartily recommend this inn.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main house are great because it is easy to relax in the lounge, with or without a firep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvstravel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, NH
Level Contributor
98 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

The rooms in the main Inn are comfortable and the Inn is very clean. The wood fire in the living room is wonderful on a cold day. The antiques are lovely. The inn was close to Kripalu so you can do a day rate there. It snowed when we were there and staff were kind enough to help us clean the car. The inn appealed to women over 40.

Now for the glitches. There is no one at the Inn after 11:00 pm, so if something goes wrong you are on your own. We had a smoke alarm going off in our room at night because of a low battery. There was no one around to help us. We called the owners but the alarm did not go off until 6 am when the maintainence staff arrived. We did not sleep all night and were not compensated in any way. Not great for business. For this reason we would not be back.

Room Tip: Located near tanglewood and kripalu.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

My husband and I recently spent a lovely weekend at the Apple Tree Inn. The property is beautiful with mountain views. We had a comfortable, clean, quiet room in the Lodge. The continental breakfast was fresh, healthy and ample. We did indulge in delicious French toast from the ala carte menu on Sunday, yum!

The staff and owners couldn't have been nicer, Cassandra was great with many helpful suggestions about hikes and restaurants.

Altogether a wonderful, relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

Imagine waking up in the morning and hear birds singing instead of coughing, green fields in all directions instead of smog and traffic jams, no tv (except in the suites), no telephones and cell./mobile phones are not allowed in the Lounge..plus FRESH AIR for FREE!!!. Then imagine The Apple Tree Inn near Lenox in Mass. USA

The Bar is very atmospheric - typical late 1800's New England 'Pub' atmosphere (very good selection of Scotch Whiskies - blended and Malt) and a building with history going back to that time period.

A 20 minute walk (leave the car) from a music festival area - Tanglewood which is - among other things home to many world famous Boston Orchestras and Jazz Festivals - (but no sound at the Inn from the area)

My son and I flew from Scotland on vacation and we stayed at Apple Tree Inn to go to - among other things - the Tangelwood Jazz Festival (excellent)...The Inn is owned by Sharon and Joel and they have kept many late 19th century character fixtures and fittings and also created a very warm and friendly atmosphere from all the staff..Is like visiting friends rather than vacation...Breakfast is light - but cooked breakfast is available - and Dinner is excellent value..There is a pool but the scenery and peace and quiet is priceless..Far from the Madding Crowd is definitely the words to use

Jim and Neil

Room Tip: Rooms have low ceilings - the norm for buildings of late 19th century - and very warm..The Inn has c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

You can't get closer to Tanglewood and the views are great. But if you are staying in the lodge, you better REALLY love the location. It's expensive and hot breakfast costs extra. Staff was fine. The big problem is the relentless mildew smell in the lodge. The innkeeper called it "sporadic"? Puleeze!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Johndoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

Absolutely no problems to report. Friends and I have stayed there on 3 occasions due to its proximity to the Tanglewood music festival grounds(across the street!).
Rooms are unique, but all are rustic, like staying in an old mansion but with modern amenities. The entire property (rooms, lobby, surroundings) are impeccably clean and well-maintained. Carpeted hallways keep noise to a minimum. Beds are great, sofa-beds and cots good too. Water pressure in shower good. Restaurant food and buffet brunch menu expansive and very fresh(homemade granola)! Dinners delicious and not expensive. Restaurant patio(with awning) overlooks gorgeous grounds, apple trees and the mountains.
Hotel staff and concierge are immensely efficient, helpful, but not overbearing. Obviously they take great pride in their property and guests.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pooh612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lenox hotels
4.2 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#5 of 14 in Lenox
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
1.9 mi away
Cornell Inn Lenox
Cornell Inn Lenox
#1 of 20 in Lenox
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn
2.7 mi away
Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort
1.7 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#2 of 20 in Lenox
5.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Tree Inn

Property: Apple Tree Inn
Address: 10 Richmond Mountain Rd, Lenox, MA 01240-2433
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 33
Also Known As:
Apple Tree Hotel Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing