We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Musical memories”
Review of Apple Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Apple Tree Inn
Ranked #9 of 20 Lenox B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 January 2013

We stayed here in Tanglewood season, having planned our trip a little late and being unable to get into our first choice accommodation. The Inn was a pleasant surprise. It is an old summer home, not quite of the level of Blantyre, etc., but very pleasant. It is a skip and uphill walk from Tanglewood Music Center, and the sound of the music drifts uphill nicely. (We were booked for all the concerts anyway, but sat on our private balcony and heard the Saturday morning rehearsal.)

We stayed in Room 2 of the main house; the one with the balcony mentioned above. It is spacious and nicely decorated, with the only downside being the small bathroom. We'd expected this in an old house anyway, and coped well. A few more outlets or extension cords would be useful; I had to unplug a lamp and pull the cord over to the desk area to plug in my computer adapter, but the Wi-Fi was free.

The continental breakfast was adequate, but as some have mentioned, hot breakfasts are additional. It's pleasant to sit on the porch. We ate once in the evening, but found more variety in the Lenox restaurants.

Finally, the turkeys roaming the grounds are fascinating. In summary, a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2012

I stayed at the Apple Tree Inn for 3 nights while I was a day guest at Kripalu. I wanted basic, inexpensive, convenient, clean, and safe lodgings, and Apple Tree Inn provided all that and more. I stayed in the cheaper and more modern building, the Lodge, and I was very pleasantly surprised by how comfortable the bed and bedding were, and by how quiet the room was. I would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: For a luxury B&B experience, pay more and stay in the main house. For very comfortable, clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kplinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We were in the Stockbridge area and were searching for a B & B and this one sounded quite nice. We were greeted well upon arrival and shown to our room. The room was clean and comfortable. The innkeepers were very friendly. We enjoyed visiting with other guests in the charming living room with the fireplace warming the room. They provided a nice continental breakfast in a room with beautifuly fews of the mountains around the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012 via mobile

We stayed here as part of the Salute to Veterans free Veterans Day overnight stay. The inn is outside of historic Lenox village over looking the valley. The view is spectacular. The room we had was not inside the main house but behind it in their " lodge". Room 108 was done up in lovely blue and white decor, from the wallpaper to the bedspread, even the rug.. However this was offset with dark furniture and made the entire room come together. Soft mattress that felt like you were sleeping in a huge cotton ball. I have a really bad back and woke up the next day with no pain at all! Free cookies and coffee available at the big house and free coffee and tea in the foyer of the lodge. Our room was super clean. White bathroom with not a speck of dirt anywhere! Now for the cons- The outsides of the buildings need to be cleaned up and painted. They take away from the beauty of the rooms. The check- in foyer/ office is very crowded with signs, pamphlets and dear god get rid of the "turn your cell phone off " signs everywhere! Ok so you don't like modern technology, it's here to stay and it really cheapens the beauty of your B&B with these handwritten warnings all over the place. The tv in the lodge room was extremely outdated. I expected rabbit ears the signal was so poor. We were here in Nov. so there were no flowers or gardens to view and the outdoor pool was closed; it would have been really nice to have seen and used a couple of outdoor benches to sit and enjoy the spectacular view. The is only a cold breakfast offered with the room ( first time I've encountered that at a B&B ) you can order hot meals off of a menu. The special tht day was pumpkin pancakes with syrup for 8$. I'm cheap, I had a yougert and juice from the breakfast bar.
Overall, I would give the inn another try, I'd like to stay in the spring and see if they have beautiful gardens tucked somewhere. I really thank them for their wonderful hospitality to the Nations veterans.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen331966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

This was our first stay at the Apple Tree Inn and it was great! The owners went out of their way for us, giving helpful advice and directions on places to visit. The inn is beautifully furnished - there is always coffee, tea, hot chocolate, etc. waiting for those who want it, lending to the relaxed atmosphere. The breakfast was ample and leisurely with no one rushing us out. The views from the inn are incredible overlooking Stockbridge Bowl and nearby Tanglewood. Our room was spotless and quiet and the shower worked very well. There is no television in the room but it was not needed. Tanglewood is a 5 minutes walk. We went for a hike on the nearby mountain. The beautiful Kripalu grounds are across the street. We also had a wonderful dinner on the Porch. It was beautiful and delicious.
We heartily recommend this inn.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the main house if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yudi_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

The Apple Tree Inn has the perfect combination for a visit to the Berkshires: charming facility, beautiful views and convenient access to the region. The rooms in the main house are quaintly furnished but very functional. The drawing room is a spacious, comfortable place to linger. You can have breakfast or dinner on the porch that looks out over the trees to the distant hills. The Apple Tree sits on a hill itself and from the pool area there are great lines of sight. Tanglewood is, essentially, at the bottom of their hill, a short walk for a program and one that avoids all the hassles of parking and traffic, It is a short drive into the center of Lenox and not much of one to Stockbridge. The staff is friendly and can help with any plans you might have in the area. We have been coming to the Inn for eight years and have never been disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jdarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

The tone for our stay was set when we arrived at the front desk to observe the Master of the House treating his desk clerk with condescension and rudeness. Because of his dour demeanor and very informal dress we initially mistook him for a handyman. It was only later when we found it necessary to negotiate with him for a better room than the darkened claustrophobic chamber we have been assigned, that we came to realize that this Dickensian figure was one of the owners During our three day stay, we never saw him smile or greet anyone in a welcoming manner.
We ended up paying about $300 per night, $70.00 more per night for an airier larger room. It was late in the day, we were tired from our travels and we had an event to attend that evening. In our extensive travels we had never met a highwayman.
There was no one to help us with our luggage. We struggled up a full flight of stairs to a room where we discovered the following features- a stopped up sink, leaking faucets, a very noisy inadequate air conditioner, no TV, one small closet, lighting so dim we could not read by it (we ended up buying and changing some of the bulbs for incandescent 75 watts) a toilet seat yellow brown with age which rocked on its moorings, and rotted boards at one end of the bathroom floor. Since there was only one egress from our room which was part of a labyrinth on the second floor we also had some concerns about our safety should we need to evacuate our room quickly. There appeared to be detectors and a sprinkler system but we did not have great confidence in their effectiveness.
The room was clean, the bed quite comfortable, the wall paper decorative, the furnishings as advertised late Victorian and interesting, The included continental breakfast was ample, the staff pleasant and attentive ,our one dining experience there, mediocre.
The common rooms are large and reasonably attractive.
The hotel is conveniently located for area attractions and set on beautiful grounds.
At the prices advertised for other seasons, as little as $85, one might be willing to put up with the obvious short comings, but our expectations were greater.
Be careful on the front brick steps, they are in disrepair and look like they could crumble at any minute.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Commonsense8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
4.2 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#6 of 16 in Lenox
573 reviews
1.7 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#3 of 16 in Lenox
573 reviews
3.6 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
2.7 mi away
Courtyard Marriott Lenox Berkshires
1.9 mi away
Cornell Inn Lenox
Cornell Inn Lenox
#1 of 20 in Lenox
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Tree Inn

Address: 10 Richmond Mountain Rd, Lenox, MA 01240-2433
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range: £54 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Apple Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Tree Hotel Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing