We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You need to keep looking” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Birchwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Birchwood Inn
Ranked #7 of 20 Lenox B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You need to keep looking”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Birchwood Inn last August. We came for Tanglewood and were looking forward to a romantic weekend. We have stayed at many other B & B's in the Berkshire's in prior years together. Tanglewood was wonderful and welcoming, but the Birchwood Inn was not. Ellen, the innkeeper, is a no-nonsense businesswoman whose goal is the bottom-line. I should have realized this prior to booking from reading her responses to other negative reviews.The atmosphere of the inn from check-in (very business-like, I've experienced more hospitality in a large hotel in a large city), reservations (lots of rules), and breakfast (eating times, there is only one selection daily, and must speak quietly) are extremely strict. I understand that it is a small inn so it needs rules, but the Berkshires is a very hospitable place by nature. The Inn needs to be cognizant of that. Thankfully, my boyfriend and I did not need to make any changes and followed all the rules, but it is not a relaxing atmosphere. The rooms are in serious need of being updated. There is quaint and there is old and run-down. For the expensive price, they should be able to keep the rooms smelling nice and make necessary repairs.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank animallover424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Chatelaine, Owner at Birchwood Inn, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
I am rarely at a loss for words, whether it's for great or bad reviews. This one has me stymied as this guest did not like anything. The Berkshire Team works hard to give each guest a special experience so we are all so very sorry we failed to meet any of your expectations. Every complaint is an opportunity to improve, and I would be happy to discuss your specific concerns with you. Meanwhile, I assure you that we are regularly inspected by Select Registry, the highest honor inns/bed and breakfasts can achieve, to make sure we continue to meet their high and exacting standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    19
    14
    6
    7
See reviews for
19
182
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

My two grown daughters and I spent three days including Christmas here this year. Innkeeper Ellen was friendly, interesting, witty and opinionated -- a pleasure to talk to. Her nephew Joe was very friendly and enthusiastic. Then there are the adorable dogs, Charlie and Quinn -- both beautifully trained service dogs (Ellen is slightly hearing-impaired but you'd never know) who are also the cleanest animals I've ever been around. The inn looks like the New England inn of your imagination. It's two blocks from town and across the street from a darling New England church. Really, it could not be more picturesque, especially under a dusting of snow at Christmas. Ellen's breakfasts are thorough and served with old-fashioned courtesy worthy of Emily Post. Over three days we ate pear crisp, noodle kugel, Swedish tea ring, Portuguese sweet bread, a Christmas tree made out of fresh fruit, eggnog French toast, New Jersey cheese blintzes (couldn't figure out if "New Jersey" modified the cheese or the blintz?), and a Florentine souffle. Our suite on the third floor had a gas fireplace and was comfortable for three of us. The bathroom for the suite happens to be across the hall, but it didn't matter because we were the only ones on the floor. Another plus: My quads got a workout going up and down the stairs. We also enjoyed sitting by the traditional fireplaces in the living room and library.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAFreeman225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Chatelaine, Owner at Birchwood Inn, responded to this review, 26 January 2013
We always enjoy having families here for the holidays, and I am delighted we were able to provide you with a New England holiday experience. Although Joe is not related to me, he is an amazing assistant. My cochlear implants are miraculous, so much so you didn't realize that I am deaf and not just slightly hard of hearing. And by the way, the New Jersey modifies "cheese blintzes" rather than the cheese or the blintzes. It would be our pleasure to welcome you and your daughters home to Birchwood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

If you are looking for the quintessential New England experience, this is the place. The Inn's age (1766) belies its modern amenities. The oldest Inn in Lenox, the ambiance and warmth of another era envelopes you as you enter the three story mansion. Although there are nine guest rooms, you'd hardly know it as we felt we had our own wing in the spacious third floor room all ready for our visit. We brought our little dog with us and were welcomed by the warm and friendly owners who insisted we relax and enjoy ourselves in the main library or dining areas of the inn. Dining at the best restaurants in Lenox only a few blocks away, we felt the old New England charm wherever we went. A fantastic way to see the fall leaves from a local perspective, far away ( actually only a few miles) from the overly touristy Stockbridge.
Breakfast each day was a healthy gourmet treat. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fmtraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Chatelaine, Owner at Birchwood Inn, responded to this review, 26 January 2013
Happy guests make innkeeping fun! We hope to welcome you home to Birchwood again soon so that we can spoil you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

We were over on holiday touring and staying at B&B's,and this inn was our last stop prior to leaving.We have to say that our welcome from Ellen was wonderful,and we felt at home straight away.
A very pleasant walk down into the pretty town of Lenox,then returning to sit on the verandah with
a lovely cup of tea,and cakes made by Ellen which were simply delicious! As we're her breakfasts
Just so imaginative!
I would like her to know that Our four year old grandson has made her 30second chocolate cake in a microwave and now can't wait to do the same every time we visit!
Ellen thanking you and your team for a super stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnrowe918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Chatelaine, Owner at Birchwood Inn, responded to this review, 26 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your Birchwood experience. Who knows but your grandson just may have the makings of a pastry chef!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012 via mobile

Once again--a lovely stay at the Birchwood Inn and in the wonderful Dana Room! It's a large, beautifully decorated room with the most comfortable bed and I especially love the chaise lounge in front of the fireplace. The owner of the inn, Ellen, couldn't be more welcoming and her breakfasts are superb. We enjoy visiting the local shops, touring the "Gilded Age"mansions and learning at the Shaker Village. There are many places to hike, several museums and antiquing.

But--we mostly love afternoon tea- just sitting in the library with a fire going, hot tea, coffee or cider, home baked cookies or warm apple cake and a great book.

Ellen's golden retriever, Quinn, is a sweetheart and this time we got to meet the new member of the family- Charlie the Bichon--adorable and full of energy! Lenox and the surroundng areas are the epitome of beauty in the fall. Hope to be back at the Birchwood Inn next October!

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GinnyRae51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Chatelaine, Owner at Birchwood Inn, responded to this review, 26 October 2012
Welcoming repeat guests home to Birchwood Inn is one of the special pleasures of being an innkeeper! It's great when guests explore the Berkshires and come back to unwind in front of the fire with a cup of hot cider. We are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

Every BB in Lenox was expensive, and this was no exception.It was a lovely Victorian house. In my last stay, I was wowed by the breakfast. This time not so much. I think it depends on who is in the kitchen. It turns out that the kitchen help was just temporary help.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maiboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Chatelaine, Owner at Birchwood Inn, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Mea culpa. While we had interim innsitters helping serve the breakfasts, I am the one who made all of the breakfasts during this stay, as I always do. I am sorry I missed the mark during your recent stay, and I hope we can welcome you home to Birchwood Inn again soon to a more "wow" breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
260 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

We regularly stay in B&B's and I have to say the innkeeper and her assistant are the most hospitable of any we have encountered. From check-in to check-out their genuine friendliness really enhanced our stay.

Our room was very nice, although our private bath was located across a public hallway (but then robes are provided). The building is something like 200 years old. It has been very well maintained in the public areas and the backyard garden offers a peaceful and pretty sitting area. The hallway floors on the upper levels could use refinishing in the off season.

The breakfasts were excellent. The breakfast room is small so you need to reserve your time the day before. They were very accommodating with requests. In the afternoon tea, lemonade and a treat are made available. A coffee machine is also available 24 hours in the kitchen (which you are welcome to use anytime except when breakfasts are being prepared).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NoSpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Chatelaine, Owner at Birchwood Inn, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Thank you for your generous comments about Birchwood Inn's hospitality and breakfast! We certainly enjoyed hosting your visit to the Berkshires this summer (and we hope to get to refinishing the third floor hallway this winter -- they are exactly as they were in 1885 when the third floor was added but perhaps it's time to go for beauty rather than authenticity).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
5.8 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
2.9 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#5 of 14 in Lenox
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
2.2 mi away
Blantyre
Blantyre
#4 of 14 in Lenox
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cornell Inn Lenox
Cornell Inn Lenox
#2 of 20 in Lenox
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn
0.1 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#1 of 20 in Lenox
5.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchwood Inn

Property: Birchwood Inn
Address: 7 Hubbard St, Lenox, MA 01240-2329
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Birchwood Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape your everyday worries at our romantic Berkshires bed and breakfast. Complimentary afternoon tea and "the best breakfast in New England" await you every day at our Lenox, MA inn. Individually appointed rooms at our Berkshires B&B are accented with fireplaces and breathtaking views. Bring your well-behaved dog along to enjoy any season at our pet friendly Berkshires inn, staying in one of our pet-friendly rooms.Our Lenox bed and breakfast is that romantic getaway you've been waiting for and we are waiting to welcome you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Birchwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birchwood Hotel Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing