We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birchwood Inn July 4th”
Review of Birchwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Birchwood Inn
Ranked #6 of 20 Lenox B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 July 2013

My husband and I just returned from a 3 night stay at this lovely B&B. Hospitality and service and food were all amazing. Ellen, the owner and her 2 dogs were the best hosts and she can make a wonderful breakfast. Terry and Roger made our stay so memorable by providing restaurant suggestions, attractions and driving routes for all our fun plans in and around Lenox, plus the use of their kayaks for a memorable trip down the Housatonic! Our room was quiet and well kept and cleaned each day. Would definitely recommend this B&B. Enjoy

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geezeRidgewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Chatelaine, Owner at Birchwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Terri, Roger, Quinn, Charley, and I were delighted that you chose to celebrate the 4th of July at our historic inn and took advantage of the many activities the Berkshires have to offer. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2013

The good news is that the very nice innkeepers were willing to offer me a one night stay at the last moment when we found out the Hampton Inn didn't have operable windows; for me, fresh air is a necessity.
Also, on the positive side, the front porch was lovely with rocking chairs and the common rooms seemed very comfy and interesting.
Read my other reviews; I rarely write anything negative, just high marks and lots of information, all praise. I don't know what to say; other people seemed to love this place. All night long, I just wanted to leave and get my money back. I got the feeling this would not be an option!
The room: Old motel feel, no hair conditioner, just a shampoo and a bar of soap, kind of bare bones, oldish mattress, curtains partly missing hooks. I opened the windows, and, while there were screens, the room flooded with mosquitoes and other insects. The window air conditioner sounded like a B52 all night long and put out inadequate cooling. We slept miserably.
Breakfast: This required an appointment, and I came on time to find the tables all filled. They very kindly prepared a gluten free option for me. The fruit was in a bowl of pre-sweetened yogurt, no espresso or latte available, other offerings were prepackaged sugar and flavored yogurt. There was a dog in the dining room, beautiful dog, nuzzling under the table, only I am highly allergic to dogs.
Outside my room in the morning was the strong smell of cigarette smoke.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MerlynKauai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Chatelaine, Owner at Birchwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. When you called at the last minute looking for a room because you were unsatisfied with your original accommodation, we were happy to help, even offering you a significant discount for the night. We quickly prepared our only available room for you and your daughter. Had you mentioned the conditioner during your stay, we certainly would have gotten you some immediately. We have not had any other guests mention the unit in your room being loud, so thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will look into this and make any necessary repairs.

Since we make all of our breakfasts fresh for our guests, we do ask that you choose one of 3 seatings for breakfast. When you arrived, we let you know that a table would be ready for you in a few minutes. You returned 45 minutes later, and although it was well past the time we would normally close our kitchen, we happily prepared your special gluten-free entree, as per your request. The fruit dish that morning was one of our most popular, our “Fruitini” with fresh fruit, yogurt and granola. There were also freshly prepared bread and muffins for you to choose from. We tried to bring your attention to these items but hesitated to interrupt your cell phone conversation that lasted the entire time you were in the dining room. Our breakfasts have won numerous awards, and we are sorry that you did not enjoy it more.

We are a dog-friendly inn and have two service dogs of our own. As soon as we learned of your allergies, we did remove Quinn from the dining room.

We strive to make all of our guests feel comfortable and well taken care. By your own admission, we were succeeding for most of our guests as they were “loving the place,” we are sorry that you were not one of them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We couldn't have hoped for a more relaxing little getaway celebrating my husband's birthday! This Inn is charming, quaint, dog friendly and the service was exquisitely above and beyond. Our hosts, Ellen, Quinn, Charlie and the associate inn keepers, made sure that our pups and us had a memorable stay from start to finish. The town is adorable with great boutiques, places to eat and gorgeous architecture at every turn. We were greeted with beds/bowls/towels/treats for our dogs and a delicious afternoon tea with homemade rhubarb cake in the library. We enjoyed the grounds and hammock immensely, perfect spot to relax and read a book. There is a great walking trail right across the street that is perfect for exploring. The breakfasts were unique and satisfying, as were the afternoon treats and "sweet dreams" in the butler's nook. We were even treated to cookies and milk after arriving home from a dinner in town, delivered fresh from the oven to our door...we felt spoiled! Thank you to everyone at Birchwood Inn for making this a wonderful birthday for my hubby and fun for the dogs too!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RachaelLeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Chatelaine, Owner at Birchwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

All of us got great pleasure from seeing you enjoying yourselves. That's what we're all about! And what wonderful Bernese Mountain dogs! Quinn and Charley certainly enjoying hosting Jack and Bu's visit. All of us are looking forward to welcoming you home to Birchwood Inn again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Came out to the Berkshires for a kid free romantic weekend with my wife. Couldn't have been more pleased with our stay. The innkeeper and her assistance were all welcoming and attentive. The grounds, common rooms, and guest rooms were beautifully decorated and maintained.

And the food! The award for best breakfast in New England is well deserved! Be sure to hit the butler's pantry in the evening when you return after a day's adventure in the area, you never know what sweet treat will be waiting for you on the counter.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russ W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Chatelaine, Owner at Birchwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

I am delighted that we were able to make your romantic getaway a memorable one!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Just stayed at the Birchwood. I'm a tough critic when it comes to hotels & B&Bs. Nothing but excellent marks for this place. Birchwood is authentic. Despite the off season, we had a wonderful time in front of the wood burning fireplace and enjoying Ellen's amazing cooking. Lenox is an enjoyable town with some very good food options even in the off season. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: If you can get a room with a wood burning fireplace its a major plus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BackPackGuy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Chatelaine, Owner at Birchwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

The Birchwood Team is so happy that we more than met your exacting standards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Very sweet Inn. Lovely appointed rooms, welcoming innkeeper. Library room a total gem. Anyone looking to stay in a well maintained, historically accurate, homey Inn, this is the place. Breakfast room just delightful. Breakfast was delicious and the only downside was that it was a quite heavy on sugar and carbs, (pear and cranberry crumble, corn muffins and blintzes) while delicious, a little protein would have been nice.

We had been trying to visit this inn for several years and their usual policy of 2 or 3 night minimum didn't fit into our plans. We were fortunate to secure a single night that was well worth the wait and worked for us. Would definitely consider staying here again. Very convenient to Lenox shops and attractions and Lee Outlets.

Stayed in the Wright-Smith mini suite that has the private bathroom across the hall. Don't be put off about the bathroom not being in your room. It's a lovely spacious bathroom that was not inconvenient at all. Bed comfy. Has a "sitting room" that has a day bed in it (day bed has no back to rest up against and multiple pictures on wall that make it difficult to sit on without knocking them off wall...it's really a spare bed. Would rather have had a couple comfy chairs to enjoy the fireplace and TV.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Chatelaine, Owner at Birchwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Birchwood Inn as we enjoyed having you stay with us. Yes, some breakfasts are on the sweet side, but we do alternate between savory one morning and sweet another. We do try to offer a protein with the latter, usually sausage, ham or bacon, none of which truly compliment blintzes; however, the blintzes did contain some protein in the form of several eggs as well as the cream cheese. If requested, we are always happy to offer an egg alternative. While a sofa or chairs would be a nice addition to the Wright-Smith's sitting room, 90% of the time the daybed is used for a third person, but I will look at moving the photographs higher. If you hadn't mentioned it, it would not have occurred to us that they were a problem. Comments such as yours help us to continually improve the comfort for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We are already booked for our annual return to the fabulous Birchwood Inn! I always book early so we can enjoy our October trip with Ellen (the best cook and very sweet owner) and her dogs Quinn and Charley. We love the delicious breakfasts served in a beautiful breakfast area with a crackling fireplace, toile wallpaper and antiques. Ellen outdoes herself every time and even has two breakfast seatings to accommodate her guests. There are always freshly baked breads, muffins, etc to go along with the two to three course breakfast. Afternoon tea in the magnificent library makes you feel so comforted and happy. Scrumptious cookies, brownies, doughnuts with a cup of tea, coffee or mulled cider in front of the fireplace can't be beat! Ellen know all the great restaurants and things to do in the area so you never have to worry about what to do while staying there. The rooms are very clean and well kept, too. We love the Dana Room (another reason I book early) but the entire Inn is lovely. Can't wait!

Stayed: October 2012
Thank GinnyRae51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Chatelaine, Owner at Birchwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

It is always my pleasure to welcome two of my most enthusiastic "encore" guests home to the inn. It's like welcoming old friends. And over time, you have become old friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
0.1 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#3 of 16 in Lenox
573 reviews
3.1 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Marriott Lenox Berkshires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#6 of 16 in Lenox
573 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cornell Inn Lenox
Cornell Inn Lenox
#1 of 20 in Lenox
505 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchwood Inn

Address: 7 Hubbard St, Lenox, MA 01240-2329
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range: £175 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Birchwood Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape your everyday worries at our Romantic Berkshires bed and breakfast. Relax by a fire in the Library or on our porch in one of our rocking chairs and then stroll down the hill to the Historic Lenox Town Center where you will find a variety of high quality restaurants for lunch and dinner and a boutique shopping experience. Complimentary afternoon tea and "the best breakfast in New England" await you every day at The Birchwood Inn. The rooms are individually appointed at different price points, but all rooms have cable TV and climate control. Bring your well-behaved dog along to enjoy any season in the Berkshires by booking one of our pet friendly rooms. Our Lenox bed and breakfast is that romantic getaway you've been waiting for and we are waiting to welcome you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Birchwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birchwood Hotel Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing