We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”
Review of Birchwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Birchwood Inn
Ranked #6 of 20 Lenox B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed at the Birchwood Inn for two nights in very late October. It was our first visit, and we are already looking forward to returning!

Terri, the assistant innkeeper, was friendly, energetic, and very helpful with restaurant recommendations. We loved the cider and cookies in the afternoon, served in the beautiful and inviting library. (By the way, the library is stocked with books one might actually want to read, from Dickens and Proust to John P. Marquand and Philip Roth. Sadly, this is not something to be taken for granted in bed-and-breakfast libraries.) The breakfasts were delicious and ample even for hearty appetites. The inn seems very pet-friendly, but I am allergic to both dogs and cats and did not have the slightest symptom during my two-day stay.

It is an easy walk to the core of Lenox and all of the attractions there. We had a wonderful time, and I recommend the inn very highly.

Room Tip: We were given the Dewey Room, which is large, attractive, and equipped with a fireplace. The unoccup...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CBS2013603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Chatelaine, Owner at Birchwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

I was on vacation during your stay and am so happy that Terri and Roger made your stay memorable. Not only are the books in the library ones that you would actually read, they have all been read at least once! Thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay, and I look forward to meeting you when you come home to Birchwood Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013

This is a beautiful, elegant B&B with lots of comfortable common space. I arrived early and was able to see a number of the rooms. They are all beautifully decorated, with exceptionally clean bathrooms. I was attending early morning sessions at Kripalu, so I can't comment on the breakfasts. They do have a small kitchen for guests to make their own tea and coffee, and offered late night snacks. They also have a small refrigerator and a cabinet to keep your own food. I stayed in room 6. It is a small room, and it was perfect for my needs. All other rooms on the second floor are spacious and inviting. The location is great for convenience and quiet nights.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Chatelaine, Owner at Birchwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you, Laura, for your positive comments, and the Birchwood team is delighted you enjoyed the inn and your stay. Keith, one of our long-time housekeepers, takes special pride in keeping the bathrooms sparkling. Thank you for noticing and commenting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Our stay at the Birchwood Inn was a pleasant one and it was convenient for the three places we wanted to visit in the Berkshires. Norman Rockwell Museum, The Mount and Hancock Shaker Village. We received a warm welcome from Ellen when we arrived with tea and cookies in the library. This and the veranda are lovely areas to relax in when you return to the Inn.
Our room however was in the Carraige House annex and was disappointing. It was cold, dark and damp, in spite of the weather being warm for early October. We had to use the heating as the room didn't seem to get any natural sunlight. The decor was in need of a spruce up and the roller blinds were stained and didn't work properly. The shower room was small and had an unpleasant smell. Also there was no hanging space other than an open rail in the lobby by the front door.
The breakfasts were good and drinks and snacks available any time from the butler's pantry.
It is a short walk down the hill to shops and several good restaurants.

Room Tip: Look carefully at the web-site and choose a room in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LmKSussex_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Chatelaine, Manager at Birchwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

While I am delighted that you found us warm and welcoming, I am sorry that you found your guestroom lacking. Your Carriage House room, one of our most popular rooms, is situated in a rock garden, facing north. While most guests find that cozy, you would have preferred a room with more direct sunlight. Our staff and I could not find any dampness or odor nor any stains or problems with the roller blinds.If we did, we would take care of this immediately. The closet is the space by the door, with the closet door removed to provide more room. We do hope that a future stay will be more satisfactory for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We returned this summer for our second visit, our first was 3 years ago. The found the Birchwood Inn the first time because they are pet-friendly; this time we came to Lenox for Tanglewood.
This 18th century inn has become a warm and friendly B&B, with personal touches everywhere. We had cake and coffee waiting for us when we checked in ( in the evening ). Breakfast was served in a dining room, quite elaborate ( with courses ) and homemade breads. The Inn was completely full, yet it was quiet and peaceful.
The proprietors make all sorts of information available on special events, places to see and local history. The staff is warm and friendly. A hearty recommendation from us.

Room Tip: Corner room is quite large and comfortable. We stayed in the peach room (pictured here) and found it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flicker42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Chatelaine, Owner at Birchwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your stay. If everything wasn't in working order, we do apologize. Although our rooms are full nearly every night in the summer, we do try to squeeze in needed maintenance between check-out and check-in. Thank you for letting us know about what required out attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Once again, we had a lovely time at the Birchwood Inn. The house is so beautiful, well maintained and cozy! Enjoy afternoon tea and homemade goodies in the library or on the porch. Ellen makes the best desserts and her breakfasts are incredible! We particularly enjoyed the beautifully presented and delicious poached pear, the egg, cheese and spinach souffle and (my favorite) the yummy cheese blintzes! Come and relax or head out to the town of Lenox and on to Stockbridge or shopping! We plan to go back next year and stay longer!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank GinnyRae51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Chatelaine, Owner at Birchwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

We love to cook and bake and are thrilled your enjoyed our efforts and that the souffle rose to the occasion. The New Jersey Cheese Blintzes with Wild Blueberry Sauce is one of our favorites, too! We'll look forward to your next and longer visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Birchwood Inn for three nights for a tranquil getaway and it was wonderful. It had been recommended by a co-worker of mine and it exceeded my expectations. A perfect location with much in the area to see and do. The Bed & Breakfast is probably the best one I stayed at. The room we stayed in was Room 1 and it was luxurious yet homey. Immaculate! The breakfast in the morning was made and served with love and care and was something we looked forward to each morning. Honestly, home-made breads, unique gourmet breakfasts, afternoon home-made cookies and tea and special little touches that made the place endearing. The staff is helpful and hard-working. We just loved staying there and cant wait to return. Best of all, they are dog-friendly so next time we won't have to kennel our Teakie.
Thank you Birchwood Inn! You're a truly special place and deserving of the legacy you worked hard to earn. Barbara & Steve Schechter

Room Tip: Call and ask for help in selecting the room as they are all different with different prices. The sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbara s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Chatelaine, Owner at Birchwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

It was OUR pleasure to welcome the three of you to Birchwood Inn this summer! We are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I recently spent 3 nights at the Birchwood Inn and didn't want to leave. This is my vision of life in the Berkshires...comfortable accommodations, wonderful breakfasts, inviting porch where guests get to know each other, great staff who will go out of their way for you and make you feel right at home. Ellen, who runs the Inn is an amazing cook and a woman to be admired.
I highly recommend this place. Don't think twice...stay here!
BarbaraNY

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice. If you are on the top floor, it is a treck with a suitcase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Chatelaine, Owner at Birchwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay at Birchwood Inn. We have been truly blessed this summer with wonderful guests like yourself. Come back for breakfast, the porch, and the joys of the Berkshires again soon. (By the way, if one of the staff members is here when you check in or out, especially if you're on the third floor, they would be happy to help with the luggage.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
0.1 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#3 of 16 in Lenox
573 reviews
3.1 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Marriott Lenox Berkshires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#5 of 16 in Lenox
573 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cornell Inn Lenox
Cornell Inn Lenox
#1 of 20 in Lenox
505 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchwood Inn

Address: 7 Hubbard St, Lenox, MA 01240-2329
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range: £175 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Birchwood Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape your everyday worries at our Romantic Berkshires bed and breakfast. Relax by a fire in the Library or on our porch in one of our rocking chairs and then stroll down the hill to the Historic Lenox Town Center where you will find a variety of high quality restaurants for lunch and dinner and a boutique shopping experience. Complimentary afternoon tea and "the best breakfast in New England" await you every day at The Birchwood Inn. The rooms are individually appointed at different price points, but all rooms have cable TV and climate control. Bring your well-behaved dog along to enjoy any season in the Berkshires by booking one of our pet friendly rooms. Our Lenox bed and breakfast is that romantic getaway you've been waiting for and we are waiting to welcome you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Birchwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birchwood Hotel Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing