We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Unpleasant Experience”
Review of Birchwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Birchwood Inn
Ranked #6 of 19 Lenox B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Unpleasant Experience”
Reviewed 21 October 2008

I am writing to inform this community about a very unpleasant experience I had with the Birchwood Inn.

I have stayed a many B&Bs throughout the country and in the Berkshires in particular. However, my experience with the management of the Berkshire Inn over the past week has been among the worst that I can recall.

The short story is that I made a reservation several months ago to stay at the Inn, at which time they took a deposit for the first night's stay. When I called the confirm the reservation a few days before arrival and requested access to a refrigerator to store milk for my newborn child, the staff informed me that, in fact, we could not stay at the Inn since they do not allow children.

I am fine with that policy, and though I was inconvenienced, I acknowedged their decision and asked for my deposit back. They have since refused to return that deposit, despite numerous requests I have left and messages that have gone unreturned. How can they refuse to return the deposit when the reservation was cancelled at their discretion? And what kind of business won't return messages or address an issue such as this?

I find the behavior of the management of the Birchwood Inn to be unscrupulous and very unprofessional. I would recommend that if you are considering staying at the Inn, you use caution when dealing with the management.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
5 Thank berkshireguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Chatelaine, Owner/Innkeeper at Birchwood Inn, responded to this review, 31 October 2008
Please note that this reviewer is commenting on policy rather than on an actual Birchwood Inn experience.
If you are a potential guest, we invite you to read the subsequent reviews from people who have stayed at Birchwood.
This is the first time I have encountered this situation in 10 years of innkeeping. When the reviewer made his reservation, he was asked – as all callers are – with whom he would be traveling. He responded by giving us his wife’s name. Several days prior to the scheduled arrival, the reviewer called to change his arrival date. The night before arrival, he called again, this time to ask about refrigeration. Only when asked what needed to be refrigerated (we do have a guest refrigerator and guests use the inn’s refrigerators for medication) did he mention breast milk for his infant. Subsequent telephone calls and emails ensued in which he was told that because we are unable to accommodate children under 12 and because he neglected to tell us of this third, albeit small, person we were cancelling his reservation. Since we were never informed of the infant (the overwhelming majority of inns in Lenox are not child-friendly) and had held his reservation for a period of time, turning down other requests, we told him he would be forfeiting his deposit.
We did find a room for the family in a child-friendly inn nearby. He was not interested. We offered a gift certificate toward a future stay when the couple could get a babysitter. He was not interested.
The reviewer describes us as “unscrupulous and unprofessional.” We do not agree. From our perspective, it is deceptive to make reservations for two people when one intends from the beginning to bring three.
To help ensure the peaceful stay of our other We have this policy to retain the tranquil and romantic nature of a stay at Birchwood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    19
    14
    6
    7
See reviews for
19
182
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sewickley PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2008

Three generations of women in our family (Mother (88), two daughters (59 and 53), and Granddaugher (25)) stayed for a sun-filled fall-colored week in this inviting and homey inn. As with all guests, we were encouraged to use the common rooms (large library and den) which allowed for a variety of activities including games, reading, and visiting with other guests.

Rooms were tastefully decorated and comfortable, but stairs to the second and third floor are a little steep for those having mobility issues.

The friendly dogs, Quinn and Piper, mingled with guests on the main floor.

Breakfasts and afternoon Teas were delicious.

  • Liked — Wonderful breakfasts
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morselSewickleyPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn NY
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2008

My partner and I chose to stay here after seeing its listing on purpleroofs.com, and we were very pleased. Our large suite on the second floor was very comfortable and homey with a wood burning fireplace. The grounds were nicely landscaped, and the house was warm and inviting. The breakfasts were delicious, and the staff was welcoming and attentive. The innkeeper, Dave, was especially solicitious and helpful. The Berkshires has very limited accommodations for gays, but we found this inn to be very friendly and accommodating, and recommend it to everyone.

  • Liked — Beautiful house and great staff
  • Disliked — Dogs at breakfast, but they're cute.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NYguyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2008

I have never felt so much at home anywhere I've ever stayed. They even have a midnight snack! Close to many attractions and restaurants are within walking distance.

  • Liked — homey
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jean08Connecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Providence, NJ
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2008

As a wedding present our family gave us a gift certificate for a stay at the Birchwood Inn, Lenox, MA. My husband and I looked forward to getting away for a long weekend stay and a chance to leave the stress of our jobs and escape from the day to day grind and tight schedules we both had recently been facing.

From the moment we entered the driveway, the Colonial Mansion unfolded a charm and a sense of tranquility that immediately put us at ease. We were greeted by Ellen, our hostess and owner of the Birchwood Inn. Ellen took us on a personalized tour of the mansion and the first floor lay out that provided her guests with a large great room where one could sit and read from the many books displayed in the cases, play board games, listen to tapes, or mix and mingle, A smaller room provided a group TV and sitting area, along with copies of the Boston Globe and New York Times. Most impressive was the dinning area that provided the charm and decor of this 1767 structure.

Memorable were the array of aromas coming from the kitchen adjacent to the dinning area. There Ellen and her assistant David created and presented the most delicious breakfasts that stirred one's taste buds and brought back memories of family recipes and shared meals with loved ones, i.e. homemade breads, the use of the fruits and vegetables of the season in an array of crepes and quiches, that melted in your mouth.

Our room, located on the second floor was room #1, the Dana Room. Open and airy it is one of the largest guest rooms at the inn. The king size four poster bed was to die for and at the end of our days sightseeing I looked forward to positioning myself under the plump comforter. It wasn't quite cold enough to utilize the fireplace in the room, but I can imagine how it would enhance a romantic evening.

The inn is in walking distance to the town of Lenox, and Ellen and her staff provided additional information on the many attractions available during our time stay.

The patio area provided a wonderful setting for the afternoon tea times. My husband and I especially enjoyed the hot, homemade apple cider with lemon and apple pieces floating on top of our mugs.

Best of all was the company of Quinn, a golden lab and Pipper her companion. Friendly and gentle they provided adoring eyes and unconditional love to all of the quests.

If you are looking for a special place that affords comfort, a sense of a home away from home, delicious food, and a wonderful hostess, then the Birchwood Inn is an excellent choice to consider for your stay in the Birkshires.

  • Liked — A sense of comfortability
  • Disliked — Shower head could have been stronger
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sfadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swampscott,massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2008

We have been staying at the Birchwood Inn for over ten years. It has become our 'second' home. Ellen, our innkeeper is just wonderful. Her hospitality and breakfasts are 'over the top.'
We talk about the Birchwood Inn whenever we can to friends and acquaintances for it is a destination not to be missed when in the Berkshires anytime of year.

Deanna Cooper

  • Liked — locaotion to Tanglewood,the town of Lenox, the food
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank deannacooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2008

We stayed here with two other couples, for two nights and had a wonderful experience together and at the Inn. We loved afternoon tea and our breakfasts and our individual accommodations. I can't say enough about the staff and the owner, Ellen and their wonderful hospitality. Heide Bredfeldt

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StaysAtInns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
0.1 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#4 of 16 in Lenox
5.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
2.9 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#6 of 16 in Lenox
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
0.2 mi away
Cornell Inn Lenox
Cornell Inn Lenox
#1 of 19 in Lenox
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchwood Inn

Property: Birchwood Inn
Address: 7 Hubbard St, Lenox, MA 01240-2329
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Birchwood Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape your everyday worries at our Romantic Berkshires bed and breakfast. Relax by a fire in the Library or on our porch in one of our rocking chairs and then stroll down the hill to the Historic Lenox Town Center where you will find a variety of high quality restaurants for lunch and dinner and a boutique shopping experience. Complimentary afternoon tea and "the best breakfast in New England" await you every day at The Birchwood Inn. The rooms are individually appointed at different price points, but all rooms have cable TV and climate control. Bring your well-behaved dog along to enjoy any season in the Berkshires by booking one of our pet friendly rooms. Our Lenox bed and breakfast is that romantic getaway you've been waiting for and we are waiting to welcome you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Birchwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birchwood Hotel Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing