We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Surprise”
Review of Cornell Inn Lenox

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cornell Inn Lenox
Ranked #1 of 20 Lenox B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I booked the Cornell Inn rather than other B&B I stayed at previously, because it was more reasonably priced. It far surpassed my expectations. Excellent location in central Lenox; lovely large room with comfortable bed and nicely decorated; clean; quiet. Breakfast had many hot and cold options and could be eaten in the main dining room or in a lovely garden out back. The Innkeepers were helpful and friendly but never intrusive. Fun to notice that all the rooms are named after First Ladies. I spent 5 days there and look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Nope. I liked my room so much that I don't want to share which on it was because I don't wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkatesny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornell_Innkeeper, Owner at Cornell Inn Lenox, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Wow, thanks for the nice review! We really appreciate it! I'm glad we "won you over" and look forward to your next visit from Gotham!

Take Care-
Nell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (512)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 512 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

Comfortable and clean with friendly, helpful, but not intrusive staff and innkeepers in lovely historic buildings - there are actually 3 and we stayed in the main house - nice because we just had to go downstairs to get breakfast. Breakfasts included hot options and really tasty baked goods. I really liked that coffee, tea and cold water are available all day, and that there are homemade cookies served in the afternoon. Very pleasant backyard garden is wonderful for having breakfast or hanging out any time of day. Innkeepers were flexible and let us check out a little late so we could enjoy a very leisurely late breakfast in the garden. Free wifi.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 7laurels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornell_Innkeeper, Owner at Cornell Inn Lenox, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write us a review, we greatly appreciate it! It's always good to read that people enjoyed themselves both with us, and simply enjoying our Inn and its surroundings.

We hope you come back again for another visit!

Cheers
Nell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This was our second time staying at the Cornell Inn and I echo the good reviews below. Nice location near town, nicely decorated rooms in very old buildings which have been renovated; excellent variety at breakfast, nice proprietors. We stayed in the Hannah room which had a loft bedroom and bathroom, with the downstairs including a fully usable kitchenette, a dining table, sofa, chairs and TV. The grounds include a waterfall and small pond and are quite relaxing; you can enjoy breakfast on the patio as well.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ssgtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornell_Innkeeper, Owner at Cornell Inn Lenox, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Glad to read you enjoyed yourself yet again at our Inn and in the beautiful Berkshires! Thanks for taking the time to write us a review!

Cheers,
Nell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We are currently staying at the Cornell Inn, a lovely historic home that is within walking distance of the town of Lenox. I just could not wait to review it! My friends and I come up to The Berkshires several times a year; this is our first time staying at the Cornell Inn. All I have to say is that the new owner, Tim, is the most attentive, gracious, friendly, and accommodating host you will ever meet, and all of the other employees are equally attuned to the needs of the guests.
The breakfast buffet is fresh and delicious with choices that include freshly brewed coffee, different home baked muffins every day, yogurt, cereals and granola, a large assortment of fresh fruit, frittatas with fresh vegetables, delicious pancakes and French toast of all varieties, pumpkin, blueberry, raspberry, almond vanilla, cinnamon, banana etc., sausages, potatoes and breads. Home baked cookies and coffee are waiting your arrival 'home' at all hours of the day and night. The grounds are beautiful, with gardens, waterfalls, a fish pond and seating for dining or just relaxing. There's even a bar area if you desire a cocktail or glass of wine.
I will most definitely return to this warm, friendly, home away from home the next time I visit the Berkshires.

Room Tip: Book early because this place is so wonderful it may become a HOT spot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Idalucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornell_Innkeeper, Owner at Cornell Inn Lenox, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Wow, thanks for the glowing review, and you're correct, my husband, Tim, well he's a keeper and simply an around good guy! I'm glad everything meet your needs and expectations. We look forward to your next visit and glad you feel and can see we're trying hard to be the best we can be!


Cheers,
Nell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The owners/ managers of the Cornell Inn really know
how to run a bed and breakfast inn. The warm, friendly and helpful service made the difference and why this B & B is always filled. Each day's breakfasts were hot, fresh and tasty. The backyard gardens, pond and waterfall make for a pleasant place to dine or to just hang out. A small pub on premises also is a good place to hang.
The rooms were big and beds were comfortable for our friends and ourselves. The prices are reasonable, for summer rates in Lenox, MA. We especially liked the location on Main St. but not in the heart of town where it gets noisy and crowded.
From the time we arrived we got the feeling that the owners really cared about their guests. The Cornell Inn is my future place to stay in Lenox

Room Tip: Main house is the best for rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank psr707070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornell_Innkeeper, Owner at Cornell Inn Lenox, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. It's so nice to read that our guests truly enjoyed themselves in our lovely corner of the globe. I'm glad to read that we are your new "go to" spot when visiting the Berkshires. Looking forward to your next visit!

Cheers,
Nell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

So glad I came across Cornell Inn online. I had a cousin visiting from overseas and we needed a comfortable place toe stay for 2 nights. First of all the Innkeeper was very helpful and I am glad we went with the room "Letitia" which opened up int the garden. The Room was very clean and comfortable. I also liked the fact that you have your privacy especially at breakfast. The Breakfast area on the patio is delightful. The food was delicious and the little extra;s like unlimited tea/ coffee during the day and cookies is nice and appreciated.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rosh2970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornell_Innkeeper, Owner at Cornell Inn Lenox, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Wow, I'm glad you took a chance on us via online services and enjoyed your time in our region! If you get back to this area, we hope you come back for another visit!

Take Care
Nell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We have been to the Berkshires many times over the past twenty years and have stayed in many places. This place really worked well for us. The reservations were made easily and the staff was friendly and helpful. Barely ten minutes from the center of Lenox, we could easily access everything we wanted but were far enough away to enjoy the quiet. The setting of the inn is lovely with beautiful landscaping to enjoy. Especially wonderful was breakfast which is served buffet style. Each of the three breakfasts we had this trip was excellent. There were plenty of choices for the meat eater or vegetarian, and we loved taking the food outside. Our room, Letitia, was small but adequate for us. We were quite comfortable and found it a good value for Lenox. The only minor complaint we had was the lack of clothing storage, just one slightly rickety wardrobe which was too short to hang out dresses. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NHtraveler60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornell_Innkeeper, Owner at Cornell Inn Lenox, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

I'm glad to read you enjoyed the majority of your stay with us! Perhaps adding a rolling closet might be an option in addition to the armoir to hang longer items. Thanks for the head's up just the same. And we're glad to read that you enjoyed your time with us in the beautiful Berkshires!

Best Wishes
Nell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
0.3 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#4 of 16 in Lenox
581 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
3.3 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#5 of 16 in Lenox
587 reviews
2 mi away
Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort
0.7 mi away
Gateways Inn
Gateways Inn
#2 of 20 in Lenox
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornell Inn Lenox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornell Inn Lenox

Address: 203 Main St, Lenox, MA 01240-2384
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range: £111 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cornell Inn Lenox 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Cornell Inn, a three-guesthouse inn located in the heart of historic Lenox village. The Main House (c. 1888) is a Victorian with 10 guest rooms. The Carriage House (c. 1889) is decorated in a country primitive style. Two of the suites in the Carriage House each offer full kitchens, perfect for long-term guests. The MacDonald House, a private family home built in 1777, has 10 guest rooms, each decorated in the Colonial style. All rooms are strictly non-smoking, have private bathrooms, high definition cable with flat panel TVs, and air conditioning. Many of our rooms feature fireplaces, jetted tubs, refrigerators, and/or decks to offer you year-round comfort. The inn has a private pub for houseguests only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Cornell Inn Lenox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornell In Lenox Hotel Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing