We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LOVELY!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cornell Inn Lenox

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cornell Inn Lenox
Ranked #2 of 20 Lenox B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“LOVELY!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

We had a wonderful time! Nell and Tim are lovely and made us feel at home. Breakfast was delicious with great choices. Downtown was just a short walk. The staff was very knowledgeable about the area and local fare. We had never stayed in a B&B before and this was a great experience! We'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xxxxxccq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornell_Innkeeper, Owner at Cornell Inn Lenox, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review our B&B. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and your first B&B experience. We're looking forward to your next visit!

Take Care-
Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    112
    26
    11
    2
See reviews for
52
305
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clifton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

We very much enjoyed our getaway to the Cornell Inn. Tim and his wife are perfect hosts. They really go out of their way to make sure you have a wonderful experience with them. The grounds are a great setting for relaxing; we especially liked the fish pond and waterfall. The room we selected was charming. It was beautiful and tastefully decorated. This B&B is a real gem. We hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celebrating30th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornell_Innkeeper, Owner at Cornell Inn Lenox, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for the sweet review, we're glad you enjoyed your stay with you. We hope you have a chance to come back for another visit!

Best Wishes
Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Our family stayed at this b & b in Lenox, MA, for a quiet weekend in the Berkshires. The family that ran it was friendly, as were all the staff. They took great care to meet any and all needs (including related to a faulty toilet) and created a nice atmosphere overall.

Room Tip: There are multiple buildings. We were in a carriage house, which was perfectly pleasant and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornell_Innkeeper, Owner at Cornell Inn Lenox, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Hi
Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. I'm glad the entire family enjoyed your stay in the Berkshires. We hope you think of us if you ever head back this way.

Cheers,
Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Our first visit to this lovely old inn. We had a spacious reasonably priced room which included a sumptuous breakfast - not your usual fare. Home-made muffins and very creative offerings on a daily basis. Extremely hospitable owners and staff. Our best stay in Lenox over the many years we have visited the area.

Room Tip: If you can- get a room that opens out into the back garden areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 51256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornell_Innkeeper, Owner at Cornell Inn Lenox, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We're so glad you enjoyed your time with us, especially since you have had the pleasure to stay in Lenox numerous times. We are quite spoiled in our location and our amazing chefs who can create tasty and unique offerings on a daily basis.

We hope you choose to stay with us again next time you visit the Berkshires!

Cheers,
Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Washington, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We are a family of 5 and had a great 4 night stay at the Cornell Inn. Tim and the entire staff were incredibly friendly, personable and did everything to make our stay enjoyable. The breakfast was delicious and had something for everyone. The outdoor patio and surrounding grounds were very inviting. Location is great, walkable to town and restaurants with beautiful Kennedy Park next door. We stayed in the Mamie room which was the biggest they had; a little tight for 2 adults and 3 teenagers (which we were forewarned) but with the staff's help in setting up the room, we managed fine. Thanks to TIm for really looking after us. We highly recommend the Cornell Inn.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornell_Innkeeper, Owner at Cornell Inn Lenox, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. I'm glad your entire family was able to to enjoy all that the Berkshires have to offer. You are correct in that is is difficult to find a room in Lenox, in one of the historic B&B's that can fit an entire family of 5 vs. having to book 2 separate rooms, especially during peak season, but I'm so glad everyone worked together to make Mamie a good fit for your family.

We hope you come back for another visit down the road-

Best Wishes
Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

My wife and I recently stayed three nights here. We were charmed by the historic structures with quirky dips and curves in the floors and stairways. We had a room with a small but adequate private bath and a private exterior stairway. Breakfast food was wonderful with a wide variety of tasty cooked pastries, egg dishes, and fresh fruit. The grounds are shaded and cool with a lovely breeze and plenty of outdoor seating and porch rockers. There's a small pub where a cold pre-dinner beer or glass of wine can be found for a reasonable price. The Inn is a short walk from downtown and has a good bike lane leading to it as well. We used this inn as a starting point for concerts at Tanglewood, hikes on the Appalachian trail, bike rides, and shopping. The innkeepers and staff are very friendly and sincere. The only negatives are some wear and tear notable on the exterior, some cramped and worn fixtures in the bathroom, and occasional balky wi-fi connection. Overall a very fine experience which is highly recommended.

Room Tip: A second floor room with exterior stairway is convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L Kendrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornell_Innkeeper, Owner at Cornell Inn Lenox, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thanks for the descriptive and detailed review, I know it will help our future guests. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found us a good midway point for all of your various adventures. You are correct that there is some noticeable wear and tear on some of the exteriors. Being that the Inn was banked owned for over a year and the fact that the youngest of the 3 buildings is from 1889, upkeep is constant and never ending. We are constantly upgrading our buildings structurally and aesthetically, but like all things take a bit of time, but no worries, we'll keep at it.

We hope you come back for another visit down the road!

Cheers,
Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

The Cornell Inn was the perfect place for our stay in Lenox. The house is lovely and extremely clean, with comfortable rooms and very nice indoors and outdoors common areas. The in-keeper and his staff couldn't be more pleasant and helpful. They all went out of their way to make sure we had a good stay without ever being intrusive. Breakfast was excellent and the location is perfect. We couldn't have asked for a better B&B. Will recommend to our friends and will definitely stay there when we return to the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank omho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornell_Innkeeper, Owner at Cornell Inn Lenox, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
We're so glad you enjoyed your respite with us. Thanks for taking the time to write us such a nice review. As new owners, we greatly appreciate it! Thanks for recommending us to others and we look forward to your next visit!


Take Care-
Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
2.7 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#5 of 14 in Lenox
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
3.3 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
0.3 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#1 of 20 in Lenox
5.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornell Inn Lenox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornell Inn Lenox

Property: Cornell Inn Lenox
Address: 203 Main St, Lenox, MA 01240-2384
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cornell Inn Lenox 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Cornell Inn, a three-guesthouse inn located in the heart of historic Lenox village. The inn's Main House (c. 1888) is a Victorian with 10 guest rooms. The Carriage House, circa 1889, is decorated in a country primitive style. Two of the suites in the Carriage House each offer full kitchens, perfect for long-term guests. The MacDonald House, a private family home built in 1777, has 10 guest rooms, each decorated in the Colonial style. All rooms are strictly non-smoking, have private bathrooms, cable television, and air conditioning. Many of our rooms feature fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, mini-bars and/or decks to offer you year-round comfort. The inn has a private pub for houseguests only. We welcome corporate travelers and offer government and corporate rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cornell Inn Lenox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornell In Lenox Hotel Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing