We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely, romantic, welcoming”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Garden Gables Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garden Gables Inn
Ranked #1 of 20 Lenox B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
1 review
“Lovely, romantic, welcoming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

We had a wonderful Labor Day weekend at the Garden Gables Inn and look forward to our next visit! Peggy was a lovely hostess, the whole staff was very helpful, the building was historic and charming, and breakfast was AMAZING!!!!
Only possible improvements might be a better mattress (too soft and saggy in the middle) and a small in-room fridge for wine/cheese.
All around great!!! -elizabeth and steven.

Room Tip: Know what's in/out (i.e. in-room fridge, fireplace, etc.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    482
    56
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
54
378
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Schenectady
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

This was my gift to my daughter for her 40th Bday. I could not have picked a better place to stay. The Inn is centrally located but very private. The staff were so helpful, giving us tips and directions. We loved the breakfast choices. Both my daughter and I said these were the best omelets and pancakes we had ever had...and we are breakfast lovers! Each night, we would sit downstairs, have tea and cookies and visit with other guests.

Room Tip: We stayed in the
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barrykline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

On our first trip to the Berkshires we were lucky enough to have chosen Garden Gables Inn. Everything was perfect except the breakfast was beyond that. The blueberry pancakes, sausage and bacon , fresh squeezed orange juice, homemade chocolate chip cookies, too much to list.... I would tell you what room we were in but I want it to be available next year this time...

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trialaw23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basye, Virginia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

We had a most enjoyable stay here last week. The grounds were beautiful, the huge pool was a perfect ending to a day of exploring the area, and our room was comfy and attractive. Being able to walk into town for all the great shops and restaurants was an added plus. Delicious cooked breakfasts on the sun porch were a treat, as well as the afternoon sherry (and fresh-baked cookies) in the living room. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Best of all were the innkeepers:John and Peggy made us feel right at home and offered lots of good suggestions for things to do in the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

Extraordinary service, lovely Inn Keepers and exceptional staff! Our Room, #15 was immaculate, well appointed and the bed was very comfortable. It is large with lots of storage, which we needed, because we stayed 8 nights and it included a sitting area which opened to the balcony with a view of the back yard. The housekeeping staff went well above and beyond my expectations. I was experiencing a slight skin irritation after bathing and using the bathrobes provided. My husband did NOT have this problem. Regardless, the staff provided me with specially washed towels and robes and I was completely fine the rest of the stay.

Breakfasts were a highlight which we looked forward to each morning. It is served in two charming locations, the dining room or enclosed sun porch. Pat and all the servers were exceptionally friendly and attentive. The food was divine. The breakfast chef, Bob(Ben?) prepared the most delectable pancakes, french toast, eggs, omeletes etc. The cold buffet which included a complete selection fresh and dried fruits, and an array of pastries and breads also included bacon and sausage, yogurt and homemade granola!. The best freshly squeezed orange juice with bottomless glass service!

Inn Keepers Peggy and John were gracious and totally knowledgeable of the area and had terrific suggestions for dining, and exploring. The Inn and property are beautifully maintained and it is a 3-5 minute walk from downtown in one direction and a park in the other. We loved it!

Room Tip: Rooms 14 and 15 are the largest in the main house with balconies and backyard views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leslie n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
65 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

We recently stayed at this inn on a last-minute visit. Overall, it was a very nice inn, with one caveat.

The location is pretty much ideal, just a few blocks from many restaurants and shops in Lenox. At the same time, it is away from the street and very peaceful and quiet. The grounds are beautiful, with flowers and lovely trees. And the inn itself is very well kept - very cozy. The common rooms are very nicely appointed. The pool also looked very inviting, although we didn't have a chance to check it out.

The innkeepers were wonderful. Both were extremely friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. We felt at home right away. The breakfast was tasty and served in a lovely breakfast room. And the free availability of excellent cookies and tea was very nice for snacking.

The one caveat was the particular room we had (room 9), which was in the main building. It was very nicely appointed in classic B&B style, with a comfy bed and all the amenities. However, the walls were very thin and we could hear not only conversations, but also snoring from the other rooms. Also, the floor above the room was very creaky and loud. My guess is that the rooms in the cottages are probably more sound-proof, and I would definitely recommend booking one of these rooms instead.

That said, the inn itself was quite wonderful, and the service very attentive. We would definitely recommend it, particularly if you get the right room.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jodydavis617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

A perfect place to stay in the Berkshires: ideally located, with beautiful grounds, charming rooms and public spaces, excellent food, friendly hosts, and one of the nicest pools I've ever swum in (warm and gorgeously sited). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAPinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lenox hotels
2.2 mi away
Blantyre
Blantyre
#4 of 14 in Lenox
5.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
3.0 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#5 of 14 in Lenox
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cornell Inn Lenox
Cornell Inn Lenox
#2 of 20 in Lenox
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn
1.8 mi away
Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort
0.4 mi away
Gateways Inn
Gateways Inn
#3 of 20 in Lenox
5.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Gables Inn

Property: Garden Gables Inn
Address: 135 Main St, Lenox, MA 01240-2396
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Bed and Breakfast Country Inn, updated with 5-star amenities and personalized, professional service. Set back on five quiet and landscaped acres, yet just steps from the shops and restaurants of historic Lenox Village. Your breakfast, which is included, features many local and organic foods, private seating, professional waitstaff, cooked to order breakfast favorites of your choice, complemented by fresh fruit, baked goods and other items on our extensive buffet. Pamper yourself with a massage or facial in our dedicated spa treatment rooms; swim in the 70-foot heated pool (June-mid Sept). All guest rooms have private baths, AC, spa robes, L'Occitane products, LED TVs, DVD players and iPod clock radios. Complimentary WiFi throughout the Inn and grounds. Homemade chocolate chip cookies, beverages and afternoon sherry are included, as is free wine-tasting at Furnace Brook Winery at Hilltop Orchards, in nearby Richmond. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Garden Gables Hotel Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing