We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Perfect B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Garden Gables Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garden Gables Inn
Ranked #1 of 20 Lenox B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brewster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The Perfect B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2011

After 15 years of B&B stays and varying levels of disappointment, I experienced three perfect days/nights at Garden Gables Inn. We were welcomed by innkeepers John and Peggy. Married 40 years, they relate as if on their first date and work flawlessly together. The aroma of a wood fire and fresh chocolate chip cookies set the atmosphere. John graciously responded to each of our needs as did Peggy’s wit, genuineness and knowledge of restaurants and events. We were in caring, capable hands. A walk able distance from Lenox, the Inn’s landscaping is meticulous, with ample parking. Interior décor is soothing and consistent with the inn’s history. Couches facilitate meeting guests, talking with friends or reading silently. Rooms are meticulously clean, with pillow-top beds, and stunningly beautiful bedrooms. Afternoon Sherry around the fire brings together the guests. Bold, hot coffees greet you early each morning to start the best gourmet breakfast you will find at a B&B. Their extensive menu includes individualized omelets, French toast, buttermilk pancakes, fruit and maple syrup from the owners’ Hilltop Orchard, ham, sausage, laughter and copies of national and area newspapers. On our friend’s birthday, Peggy and John surprised us with a bottle of Champagne. Access to snow shoeing, cross country skiing and wine tasting at the Inn’s orchard and winery are included! You need not look further; Garden Gables Inn is the perfect B&B.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pamchowder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    482
    56
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
54
378
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

It was just perfect. Such a cute place, clean rooms, friendly staff, great value for the price, and amazing breakfast! Would recommend to anyone period!!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tjc7200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2011

This is the most wonderful bed and breakfast I have ever been to. Everything from the warm arrival welcome to the homemade cookies to the complimentary cheese and crackers to talking with other guests by the fire. The innkeepers were extremely helpful and friendly and gave great advice about things to do and restaurants to eat at. The room was very comfortable and the location was perfect (walkable to local restaurants). The breakfast was out of this world. Would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a place to stay in Lenox. Look forwards to visiting again soon. Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natashalever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2011

A friend and I recently spent 4 midweek days at Garden Gables while cross-country skiing at different ski centers in the Berkshires. I loved Garden Gables! Each of us had a comfortable, well-furnished and immaculate room with private bath. Breakfast was served in a large, light-filled dining room and included just about anything I might have wanted to eat. The inn's location in the center of Lenox meant easy access to restaurants and shops there as well as to nearby towns and the 3 ski centers we sampled. Best of all, Peggy and John are warm, gracious and knowledgeable hosts who added immeasurably to the pleasure of my trip. I hope I get to go back soon!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mar-outofnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2011

We had an exeptionally wonderful trip to Lenox for four days of x-country skiing no small thanks to the tender loving care and warmth from the innkeepers, Peggy and John. They sweat the small stuff (and the big stuff too) and we very much appreciated it. The inn is impeccable. We'll be back VERY soon.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NinaFNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2011

My wife and I stayed for two nights midweek in winter. One night we were the only guests. We stayed in the Furnace Brook WInery Suite. The Inn was immaculate and very peaceful. We had a superb breakfast each morning. The innkeepers were very friendly and helpful while still giving us our space. We woudl definitely stay here again. My wife really didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jstout0515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshires, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2011

John and Peggy definitely made this an incredible trip! The Garden Gables Inn was beautiful, clean and a wonderful place to stay. I would definitely recommend it and we will be back!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCguy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lenox hotels
2.2 mi away
Blantyre
Blantyre
#4 of 14 in Lenox
5.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
3.0 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#5 of 14 in Lenox
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cornell Inn Lenox
Cornell Inn Lenox
#2 of 20 in Lenox
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn
1.8 mi away
Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort
0.4 mi away
Gateways Inn
Gateways Inn
#3 of 20 in Lenox
5.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Gables Inn

Property: Garden Gables Inn
Address: 135 Main St, Lenox, MA 01240-2396
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Bed and Breakfast Country Inn, updated with 5-star amenities and personalized, professional service. Set back on five quiet and landscaped acres, yet just steps from the shops and restaurants of historic Lenox Village. Your breakfast, which is included, features many local and organic foods, private seating, professional waitstaff, cooked to order breakfast favorites of your choice, complemented by fresh fruit, baked goods and other items on our extensive buffet. Pamper yourself with a massage or facial in our dedicated spa treatment rooms; swim in the 70-foot heated pool (June-mid Sept). All guest rooms have private baths, AC, spa robes, L'Occitane products, LED TVs, DVD players and iPod clock radios. Complimentary WiFi throughout the Inn and grounds. Homemade chocolate chip cookies, beverages and afternoon sherry are included, as is free wine-tasting at Furnace Brook Winery at Hilltop Orchards, in nearby Richmond. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Garden Gables Hotel Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing