We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Lenox
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Warm, welcoming, friendly atmosphere. Comfortable, clean rooms and breakfasts, which changed every day, were excellent. Location is great being close to shops and many restaurants. Will definately return again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danette I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (970)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 970 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014

My girlfriend and I wanted a nice quiet weekend away. While I've only tried one b&b in the past as I typically am more of a modern hotel person, I thought our experience at the Hampton Terrace was exceptional. Food and service was great. Location and amenities couldn't have been better and I'd certainly recommend to anyone looking for a short stay in the Berkshires to check this place out. I can imagine it would only be better in the summer/fall.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RFinley01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Great location! Comfortable rooms (#1 w/fireplace and #4 [king for our teenage girls to share]). Breakfast buffet was tasty and plentiful.
Wonderful X-Mas decorations throughout.
Stan, Susan and Atticus are greats hosts.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

After reading all the positive reviews we thought this would be a great place to stay. The rooms were very nice, clean and we'll maintained. The B&B is nicely situated next to the town of Lennox. However we were very disappointed with the service and the breakfast. For the amount of money we paid we expected a cooked hot breakfast and not a cold continental breakfast. Also the service was lacking, for example after using the coffee machine we thought the coffee would be replaced the next day. After 2 days there still was no coffee. If the inn keeper made a few simple changes the place would be great.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonT, Owner at Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

A shocker, this. At first we thought these people did not stay here, because we include a full, hot, all-you-can-eat breakfast buffet, and our service and attention to detail is over the top - proven by many other reviews. Then I realized this was a family of 7, which squeezed into 2 rooms. They asked for a discount, and I knocked $60 off. Plus I did not charge for their three children, which saved $150, although we did set up rollaways and foldouts. And then this family DID eat the breakfast buffet each morning, which included blueberry and wheat pancakes, sausage, eggs, ham and seasoned grits. Each room had a coffee maker, fully stocked, and we have 2 Keurig machines in public spaces - so I also do not understand comments about lack of coffee. PLUS - we encourage people to ask us for what they need, so if one Keuig happened to be out of the type of coffee they wanted, pointing that out would have resulted in "problem solved" in seconds. So references to "cold, continental breakfast," and "service lacking".... About once per year, someone posts a review that wonders how 600+ reviewers, who gave us perfect scores, could be so wrong....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This was close to the end of a two month holiday and we found our stay to be very relaxing and enjoyable. We chose a cottage and had our breakfast in the beautiful main house. Stan and his wife provided wonderful breakfasts with changing menus every day. Since this lovely couple hail from Georgia originally. We had morning feasts of hearty New England fare with a touch of a Southern twist! Our cottage and bed were very comfy and Stan gave us some very good recommendations regarding restaurants. One in particular was called Nudel and a return visit was imperative. Stan's great tip was to sit up on stools in front of the chef to see the äction going on and it proved to be a wonderful experience with the chef interacting with us. We will return!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Auscanuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We had a wonderful time here - not only is it conveniently located, but you truly are made to feel at home. We didn't stay confined to our rooms, but frequently used the bar area, dining room and living room. We also enjoyed talking with Stan and his wife, who gave us excellent tips for what to do in the area. The rooms are nice and big - our room (the Struthers rooms) had two chairs, a beautiful king bed (very comfy!), a fireplace, nice size closet, a nice set of drawers (and bedside stands with drawers as well) and a great bathroom. It was always nice and warm, even though this was a cold time of year (it snowed one morning). The fridge in the hall was stocked with water bottles and ice - very helpful. Stan and his wife have gone through a lot of trouble to provide guidance to those new to the area - there are writeups on the area restaurants and attractions, and even a book with feedback from guests who have visited these restaurants. Stan solicits feedback on the area restaurants so that he can provide excellent advice.

Room Tip: Personally I wanted to stay in the main house so that I could feel more a part of the Inn - it was n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

went for a girls get away and couldn't have been more pleased with this B&B. Outstanding communication and service from Stan and his wife. The breakfasts was plentiful and delicious. Excellent amenities. Wonderful time. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
0.5 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#4 of 16 in Lenox
579 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
2.2 mi away
LakeHouse Inn
LakeHouse Inn
#1 of 9 in Lee
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
5.3 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,077 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 91 Walker St, Lenox, MA 01240-2719
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Lenox
Price Range: £184 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turn back the clock to "Gilded Age glamour and elegance at one of the East Coast's premier getaway destinations." Our Lenox, MA bed and breakfast is ideally situated in the heart of the Berkshires, steps from world class dining & shopping. This original 'Gilded Age' home delicately balances the style and grandeur of the past with the modern conveniences you require. Enjoy beautifully detailed public rooms with sconces, fireplaces, elaborate moldings, and a breathtaking three-story suspended stair. Rooms are updated with Wi-Fi, A/C and flat screen TV's mingled with period antiques and vintage fabrics. 12 of our beautifully appointed rooms have fireplaces and 10 feature spa tubs. Take a break to relax by our heated outdoor pool, indulge in our expansive breakfast buffet every morning, or enjoy a glass of wine at our BYOB antique bar. An experience Traditional Home Magazine has called "absolutely perfect." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Terrace b&b Inn
Hampton Terrace Hotel Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing