We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must like dogs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Lenox
Certificate of Excellence
Montclair, NJ
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Must like dogs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2009

You definitely feel like you are in the home of the owners, who proudly display drawings of their children up the staircase and in the dining room. Their black dog greets all who enter! There was just a review about B and B's in Lenox in USA today on Friday, Sept. 25, 2009, and it was fun to see the owner quoted and view a photo of their pretty red dining room. We had stated there after Labor Day--and booked the room just two days before. The rooms were comfortable, and the house is filled with interesting objects, furniture. This was a great base for our visits to The Mount, the truly amazing estate of Edith Wharton. Close to the shops in Lenox. My mother and I were able to get a two room suite in the main house, and we both enjoyed our night there. It can be hard to find a B and B that caters to family who want separate beds, but this was a nice find.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GigiMontclair_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    825
    54
    25
    11
    3
See reviews for
91
656
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2009

The Hampton Terrace was a perfect choice for my stay in Lenox in late August. Close to Tanglewood and walking distance to downtown Lenox, the location was absolutely perfect. We chose the Rosalyn Elkan Suite, which was in the cottage area behind the main house. It was considerably more roomy than the standard rooms, with a seating area and a private jacuzzi (which unfortunately we never used), and a very comfortable bed. It was also right in front of the pool, which was great. Breakfast was excellent, and there are wonderful restaurants for dinner within walking distance of the inn. Owner Stan Rosen was very engaged in making sure his guests had everything they needed, which was much appreciated. I would definitely stay here again next time I'm visiting the Berkshires.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grafton, NSW
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2009

We loved our one-night stay at the Hampton Terrace. We were in the Marion Slocumb King suite, seperate to the main house, and the bed was so comfortable! After our late-afternoon arrival, my mum and I relaxed by sitting on our porch, sipping a galss of wine, while my teen daughter enjoyed the spa bath! Breakfast next mornning (quite nice, and I believe the hot dishes change daily) was in the beautiful dining room of the main house, or we had the option of sitting in the adjacent sun-room. Stan was a great host who had emailed us lots and lots of info about the area (dining etc) prior to our visit, and followed up after our stay as well to make sure we were happy with everything.
We were a very short stroll to lots of lovely restaurants, we only wish we had more time to stay. Lenox is a beautiful town. We'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AUSSIESTEF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2009

Hampton Terrace is a very nice bed and breakfast. Its conveniently located in Lenox within walking distance of the shops and restaurants. The people there were more than pleasant and the rooms were quite nice.

All in all the stay at Hampton Terrace provided the basis for a very enjoyable long weekend in the Berkshires.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cperl82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mevaseret Zion (near Jerusalem
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2009

Charming and yet functional decor; lots of info about touring in the area; very helpful staff regarding the little details. Stayed there for 4 nights, and would have enjoyed much longer.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gjn16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mass
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2009

it was me and my wife 30th anv.. all I can say is we left with memories that we will charish for the rest of our lives..even though stan could not be their his wife sue was the most gracious and pleasurable during our stay their. we are looking forward to going back next year to celebrate our 31st anv. god willing. thanks again for everything.
.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livetoridehd03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2009

I surprised my wife for our 15th anniversary, and she was very delighted upon our arrival at the Hampton Terrace, our room was excellent and warm and cozy, perfect for a getaway weekend. The food was great and we meet lovely guest at the breakfast table. Everyone was friendly and courteous; we look forward to a return trip in the future. Thanks again for a wonderful weekend, Mike and Nancy

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank majnnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
6.9 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
1.7 mi away
Blantyre
Blantyre
#4 of 14 in Lenox
5.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
LakeHouse Inn
LakeHouse Inn
#1 of 9 in Lee
5.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
3.4 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#5 of 14 in Lenox
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
2.6 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 91 Walker St, Lenox, MA 01240-2719
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turn back the clock to "Gilded Age glamour and elegance at one of the East Coast's premier getaway destinations." Our Lenox, MA bed and breakfast is ideally situated in the heart of the Berkshires, steps from world class dining & shopping. This original 'Gilded Age' home delicately balances the style and grandeur of the past with the modern conveniences you require. Enjoy beautifully detailed public rooms with sconces, fireplaces, elaborate moldings, and a breathtaking three-story suspended stair. Rooms are updated with Wi-Fi, A/C and flat screen TV's mingled with period antiques and vintage fabrics. 12 of our beautifully appointed rooms have fireplaces and 10 feature spa tubs. Take a break to relax by our heated outdoor pool, indulge in our expansive breakfast buffet every morning, or enjoy a glass of wine at our BYOB antique bar. An experience Traditional Home Magazine has called "absolutely perfect." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Terrace b&b Inn
Hampton Terrace Hotel Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing