We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Party - Food, Service and Ambience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Village Inn Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Village Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #18 of 20 Lenox B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
137 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
“Wonderful Party - Food, Service and Ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2007

Had an 85th birthday party for my Mother-in-law at this charming New England Inn. The service was excellent, friendly and attentive without being intrusive. There were about 50 guests of all ages at this party and everyone had a good time. The common areas are really unique - antiques and a comfortable, semiformal feel. Hors D'oevres were also excellent . We did stay one night and while the rooms are small (you have to understand that this is an authentic 200-plus year old Inn) they are very clean and comfortable. The weather even cooperated and several of our party-goers enjoyed themselves outside on the dining area on the side lawn. I can't say enough about the staff - everyone went the "extra mile" without being asked. I would highly recommend this property if you are in the Berksshires - whether for a for a party or for an overnight stay.

  • Liked — Excellent Service
  • Disliked — Small size of rooms
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Royzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    31
    27
    22
    20
See reviews for
25
105
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicopee, MA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2007

During the last few months (June 23, and Sept. 16) I've had the pleasure of twice staying at the Village Inn in Lenox, MA. Both times I've encountered an establishment that was comfortable and unpretentious.
The rooms exuded a cozy, colonial charm and the staff (especially Jen, the restaurant hostess) was never anything less than friendly, helpfull and pleasantly conversational.
The food was both plentiful and well prepared. From the breakfast / brunch menu I'd heartily recommend the gingerbread pancakes and from the ever changing dinner menu on one particular stay, the special of the night was a seafood paella which was absolutely fantastic!
Also not to be missed is a visit to the Inn's tavern known as Rumpy's for drinks and live music. This seemingly low key pub is apparently becoming an up and coming spot to hang and hear music. The Sunday I was there was open mic night featuring a woman doing some great tin-pan alley tunes and a gentleman doing some great fingerstyle guitar. Oh yeah, Troy the bartender is an absolute scream.
All in all The Village Inn. in my book, is truly a 360 degree, four season affair. I look forward to returning.

  • Liked — I said it in my review
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deltapunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2007

My husband and I booked this "Inn" because we were attending a concert at Tanglewood. I would like you to know, before you spend your hard earned money, that the pictures (and some reviews) here are VERY misleading. This Inn looks like it has seen better days, to say the least. The room was literally a shoebox. I am not kidding when I tell you that the bed took up the entire room! We stacked our luggage by the door and were literally trapped in this nightmare of a place. The ceiling was leaking, the old tacky wallpaper was peeling off the wall, and the bed was...well let's just say HORRIBLE...and the bathroom? It was the size of a small closet. The air conditioner was held in place by duct tape and oh, did I mention that there was not even a closet in the room? Seriously, I know the room was a bit less expensive than the other rooms....but at a little less than $200 it was still quite pricey. The place as a whole was run down and really quite depressing. One more thing. if you do happen to attend a concert and come back to the dump...I mean Inn... a little later, good luck getting a parking spot. If one is not available, then you are on your own to find one on the street somewhere. Nice.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrew34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheferella, Director of Marketing at The Village Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 October 2007
We doubt the validity of this review, due to the reviewers stating that they stayed here in June to attend a concert at Tanglewood. The Tanglewood season is July and August only. They made no mention of the common areas, dining rooms and grounds, which have been recently updated and redecorated, nor did they mention staff, breakfast, or housekeeping. Our June rates are substantially less for our smallest rooms than the $200 per night they stated that they payed. In June our smallest rooms are $114 per night plus tax. No room has had a reported ceiling leak, and there is no duct tape on any airconditioner. This is a 230 year old inn, and our economy rooms are small, but guests are informed of this when they book, and the rooms are accurately described on our website. We upgrade to larger rooms, at no additiional cost to the guest, when possible, especially for repeat guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lenox hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2007

We booked the entire Inn for many of our wedding guests and also had a farewell Brunch there.
Jen - the manager - was wonderful to work with. The Inn has a variety of rooms at very fair rates for Lenox. It has a charm both inside and out and a convenient parking lot since Lenox is often full of tourists.
We made special arrangements to host a "Poker Tournament" one night, and to take over the Pub after the Wedding reception.
Jen and Michael who manages the front desk did a great deal to make our guests feel comfortable and welcome.
The Sunday brunch accommodated over 125 people and more children than I can count. The food was great and plentiful and most importantly - everyone felt at home. I strongly reccommend the Village Inn if you need group arrangements. Its also a great place to stop for breakfast - lunch or dinner.

  • Liked — Manager was so accommodating
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manhattansasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2007

I was quite excited to come to this inn after reading so many great reviews and pictures but ended up quiet disappointed and would not recommend this inn. The location was perfect since we could walk to anywhere in town and even to Tanglewood (a short 20-min. walk) which was much better than hitting traffic on that single road after the concert is finished. However the inn does not look as nice as it appears on the pictures and is comprised of so many rooms that we get more of a "hotel" feel than a b&b one. The room was clean and yes there was a whirlpool tub but both rooms and bathrooms were VERY small, so that we joked with my wife that we were in the "smallest hotel room in the world". Breakfast was ok - its a buffet - and we didn't try the restaurant but the decor and ambiance didn't feel particularly welcoming. Overall this inn felt like a "tired" place with microscopic rooms still charging a consequent price.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Maximilien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, QC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2007

Due to a glitch with the hotel's website, we were able to book a room for only one night when they have a two night minimum (like most hotels around Lenox) and at a much cheaper rate. When the proprietor realized this, he very graciously accepted the rate and length of stay we had confirmed without question. He also went out of his way to help us find a lost item. Consequently, I feel somewhat guilty making any criticisms of the hotel, but if we had paid the regular rate for two nights I would have been much less satisfied with our stay. The hotel itself is charming--old (in a good way since some of the buildings are from 1771--hence the name), with tons of character. The common areas and the rooms are lovely, the breakfast included in the rate was fantastic, and the hotel is perfectly located in the center of Lenox. That said, for a rack rate of about $300 per night, I would expect much more as regards the quality of the room. The bed was "firm," to put it nicely, the bathroom had a hairdryer that seemed to be from the 50s, somewhat cheap toiletries, and the air conditioner was rather battered. I expected something more like the American Hotel in Sag Harbor, that is, an historic hotel with first class amenities--feather bed, Frette sheets, etc. In general, I think lodging around Tanglewood is outrageously expensive for the quality provided, and in that respect the Village Inn is typical. I would certainly recommend staying here, knowing that you are paying too much, but would anywhere else.

  • Liked — Historic character
  • Disliked — Bed too firm
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2007

My sister and I, recently took our elderly mom with Alzheimers
on an 87th birthday trip to Tanglewood.
It is a trip we had taken so many times, but this trip
was a bit of a gamble as our mom had not been able to successfully
travel for years....
because of her condition, an unknown restaurant, or any hotel room,
is usually confusing and upsetting for her, as it is too much new
information to take in.
When we found that the "accessible, spacious" room we had booked, at
another hotel, was anything but, we ambled onto your inn while
looking for a cozy place for dinner.
As soon as we entered the Inn, we saw that there was indeed,
understated elegance and room at the inn, as well as unsurpassed
food, ambiance and service.
Long before the fabulous filet, the scrumptious soups and the
Decadent DESERT... we decided that the price of the disappointing
room at the other inn,
was a small excess to pay for our mom's one happy birthday night at
the Village Inn and we decided to stay.
We lingered on basking in the music of the Inn's perfection,
forfeiting part of the evening's concert at Tanglewood, which we
attended later.
Our mom was happy and joyous at dinner, woke calm and relaxed -
AMAZING - a first.
She said that it felt like home.
Then, at the breakfast buffet, with the gracious help of our
unexcelled staff, we were able take care of three very different
health conditions and food requirements, by grazing from early am, to
the very last breakfast seating.
Your guests are blessed by your presence and an atmosphere, and most
importantly staff, which, like all wondrous people, is unaware of just how amazing and treasured they are.
This trip has given the hope that we may, again, take memorable
excursions with our mom and that she, and we, may smile many more smiles at the Village Inn in Lenox.

  • Liked — Ambience/Staff
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knowtogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
3.3 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#5 of 14 in Lenox
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
5.4 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cornell Inn Lenox
Cornell Inn Lenox
#2 of 20 in Lenox
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn
0.4 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#1 of 20 in Lenox
5.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Village Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 16 Church St, Lenox, MA 01240-2503
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Village Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in the Historic District of downtown Lenox, The Village Inn has been catering to the needs of travelers since 1771.Today, we are a prime choice for those wishing to be within walking distance to some of the finest shops, galleries, restaurants, and nightspots that Lenox has to offer.We also have our OWN restaurant, Rumplestiltzkin's Restaurant, right inside The Village Inn. Rumpy's Tavern, located right below The Village Inn, is open 7 nights a week and hosts a variety of entertainment for our guests and locals alike, from karaoke to bingo to live music.When you stay with us, you'll almost never need your car! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Village Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Hotel Lenox
The Village Inn b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing