We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay at The Village Inn Bed and Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Village Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #17 of 19 Lenox B&B and Inns
Summit, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay at The Village Inn Bed and Breakfast”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our recent weekend visit to Lenox, Massachusetts where we stayed at The Village Inn Bed and Breakfast. It is located in the center of Lenox and has a generous sized parking lot which we appreciated as we could easily walk all over the town without driving.
The Inn is over 200 years old and very well maintained and updated with a unique style. Our room (#23) on the second floor was lovely and is featured in the current brochure. It was quiet, large, very comfortable and in the winter, has a fireplace. We also appreciated the free WIFI.
The breakfast offered both hot and cold dishes and everything was fresh and delicious. The staff was attentive and friendly and we had a great stay here.

Room Tip: The reservation staff member was very helpful and happy to help us find a great room. Rooms facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dephalp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    31
    27
    23
    22
See reviews for
26
106
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Higganum, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We particularly like the Inn's convenient location in the center of Lenox, in walking distance of shops, restaurants, and Shakespeare & Co. Having a restaurant right in the same building was also handy, especially on the day of arrival. Our room (#32), billed to us as a "luxury room," was not luxurious by any means, but it was clean, adequate in size, and with all the promised accoutrements (A/c, etc...), other than the view, which was over the hotel's parking lot. Parking, reserved for hotel guests, was sufficiently ample so one could arrive late an still find a place, unlike, say, the Rockport Inn. We appreciated that they did not impose on us a 3-day minimum stay, because we prefer shorter weekends.Staff, both at the front desk and at the table, is efficient and businesslike Breakfast, while not stellar, was adequate. . The only negative aspect of our visit was the breakfast coffee (strong but, alas, harsh & somewhat bitter), but then again, poor coffee seems to be a hallmark of Lenox's B&B's and the clientele doesn't seem to mind.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debrigard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Village I, Public Relations Manager at The Village Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 August 2012
Dear debrigard,

We sincerely appreciate your honest feedback. I see that you booked with us through Booking.com. I’d just like to clarify our room categories with regard to the “luxury room” that you reserved. We divide our room-types into Tiers (Tier 1 rooms, Tier 2 rooms, and Tier 3 rooms…Tier 1s being the largest of the three types) Your room, room 32, was of the Tier 1 category. Our Tier 1s are our nicest category of rooms, but the term “luxury” is a term applied to that category by Booking.com, not us.
We’re sorry to hear that our coffee didn’t meet your expectations! Complaints rarely come in about the coffee, but perhaps it is because everyone is distracted by the delicious homemade cookies right next to it!
We’re glad you’ll still think of us for a future stay. Give us a call directly at the inn and we’ll be sure to put you in a nice room and make sure the coffee is fresh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Stayed here this past weekend. Couldn't sleep due to noise from their pub below. I was not warned in advance despite what I see the marketing rep saying to other reviewers here. But regardless its unacceptable.

Otherwise the rooms are dirty, uncomfortable, and encourage people to stay out of their own expensive rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adler344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lenox hotels

San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

I stayed here recently to attend some concerts at Tangelwood. About the only thing I liked was it's location.

Now the negatives:
* They apparently thought it was a great idea to put a loud club/bar right below where their guests sleep. Each night I was there, I sat angrily in bed waiting until 1am when they turn off the music. If you plan on falling asleep before 1am, I would look someplace else.

* Blood stains and smears in the bathroom. It looks like it might be mosquitos that have been squashed all over it, but still, no reason they can't clean this up. Disgusting. (see photos)

* The king/queen sized bed was really two smaller beds pushed together, each being incredibly uncomfortable. I can sleep on just about anything, but these felt like concrete. I would rather any other sized bed as long as its more comfortable than those. Even an air mattress would have been better.

I'm sure they could easily fix all these issues with a remodel (except for the noisy pub music below), but until then it remains as others have pointed out, a tired, dirty, small, and not terribly comfortable place.

Room Tip: try someplace else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AaronJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Village I, Public Relations Manager at The Village Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Dear AaronJD:

Thank you for your honest feedback about your stay. While a negative experience with us is always disheartening to hear about, we try to use all input to better our customer service. Your review was in three parts, so I’ll respond to them individually.

1) We sincerely apologize for the noise from the tavern. While this doesn’t excuse us, we do always try our hardest to make sure that those staying in a room susceptible to residual noise from the tavern - and, well, a variety of noises that result from being located downtown - know that they are susceptible.

2) Upon viewing the pictures you posted of the stains, we went and checked it out. The stains are actually leftover marks from an adhesive used around the tub. Thank you for bringing this to our attention – our housekeeping staff will be sure to address the issue.

3) All of our king-sized beds ARE really two twin beds so as to accommodate guests requiring two beds in a smaller room much simpler. We appreciate your feedback and will take that, and all comments, into consideration as we move forward with plans to update.

We take your review very seriously, and The Village Inn has begun taking the necessary steps toward an update and improvement of our rooms. We hope that you’ll give us a second chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The Village Inn was a great disappointment, especially after reading such glowing reviews. Yes, the location is excellent right in downtown Lenox, but that is no excuse for less than clean, tired old hotel that is badly in need of updating. The room was tiny and I had to crawl over my husband every time I needed to go to the bathroom. The air conditioner was situated so that it blew right in your face — and it was such a hot weekend that we couldn’t get away without using it, especially because the windows had no screens. The room was on the third floor without an elevator; steep stairs that we stifling hot and musty (as were the hallways). When we arrived we were barely greeted with more than a grunt. The breakfast was adequate … and that is the nicest thing I can say.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Just spent a night at the Village Inn, in Lenox. We were there for a concert, and previously had no info on this location other than what we found on the Internet. It's not inexpensive (but not unreasonable by summer Berkshires standards). The Inn was exactly what one would expect in this setting, and in a good way: the heart of it is a 1700s farmhouse, but it has been extended (through annexing other old building) to be fairly large. Our ground-floor room was immaculate, charming, had a (working? hard to know in July) fireplace, and a large and well-appointed bathroom (Note: Ours was designated as a Tier I room). Breakfast was a buffet the next morning, quite satisfactory. Walking distance to many restaurants, coffee shops, and the like.
One bit of info: before we came I called to ask the desk if walking to the concert (and back) was feasible: I was imagining a highway in the dark. She cautioned us that it was a longish walk and uphill coming back. But we found it an easy and pleasant walk of 1.5 miles, far superior to driving! (we were moving as fast as the cars on the road back into the village!) So if you are coming for a Tanglewood event, there's no reason to move your car after you get here!

Room Tip: I believe we were on the far side from the bar that other posters have mentioned - no noise issues a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aworden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danbury, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Pre-high season visit in June was enjoyable. Very inn-like and creaky. Restaurant active but a bit disappointing in quality; plus percussive dining room with unaccountably loud patrons and servers made it less than ideal.
Nearby activities were great including Hancock Shaker Village and Edith Wharton Mansion.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
0.4 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#4 of 16 in Lenox
559 reviews
3.3 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#6 of 16 in Lenox
550 reviews
2.7 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Marriott Lenox Berkshires
0.6 mi away
Cornell Inn Lenox
Cornell Inn Lenox
#1 of 19 in Lenox
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Village Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 16 Church St, Lenox, MA 01240-2503
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Village Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in the Historic District of downtown Lenox, The Village Inn has been catering to the needs of travelers since 1771.Today, we are a prime choice for those wishing to be within walking distance to some of the finest shops, galleries, restaurants, and nightspots that Lenox has to offer.We also have our OWN restaurant, Rumplestiltzkin's Restaurant, right inside The Village Inn. Rumpy's Tavern, located right below The Village Inn, is open 7 nights a week and hosts a variety of entertainment for our guests and locals alike, from karaoke to bingo to live music.When you stay with us, you'll almost never need your car! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Village Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Hotel Lenox
The Village Inn b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing