We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“looks charming but they blew off the breakfast part”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Village Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #18 of 20 Lenox B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We stayed one night at the Village Inn B & B. Its location is primo, right across from one of the best galleries in Lenox (Hoadley Gallery). It's a very old New England house, renovated for B & B. Tiny rooms, no place to put your suitcase with its dirty airport wheels....tiny closet. Still, charming. Canopy bed just like in the picture (that was probably our room) Quaint european style tiny tub, short but deep. nice little shampoos and potions to put in the bath. But you don't sleep so well on 2 HARD foam pillows (no extras in the closets). When we asked, they gave us two more hard foam pillows which only had a zipper cover on them, no cases. We didn't sleep well. The baseboard heat was on and we found no thermostat or switches to turn it down. We had to run the air conditioning. It may be standard in small B & Bs, but by 9pm this hotel desk was locked up and every host person was out the door, with the place locked up. Despite their telling us there would be continental breakfast in the lobby in the morning, all we found, at 8:30am there was lukewarm coffee in the pump pot. Nasty, probably Folgers. As we left, out the back where the parking is, the only guy we knew to be staff was walking up to the door having bought HIS coffee down the street. This is no quaint B&B. It's a funky hotel, retrofitted. For this, the price was just too high. We're not such picky travelers, and for us, if we have our expectations properly set, all it takes to please us is a decent bed with feather pillows. It's a small thing, but sorta central to the deal.

Room Tip: Just specify that you don't want your window facing on the street. For a tiny street, there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank axgj88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2012

Old Inn with many different rooms. I would not say you would stay here for a luxury experience, but rather for an interesting look at how people used to live. The bed and breakfast is quite large and the rooms are located over a pub/tavern. The breakfast that came with the room was very good. Room was clean and had it's own bathroom.

Room Tip: I would ask about rooms away from the tavern on a weekend night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RhondaAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

Lovely renovated Inn in the heart of Lenox. The rooms, while a bit dated, are very clean and the staff.....extraordinary! But the highlight is the dining. I never expected the level of quality and creativity that I encountered at the Inn's restaurant. From the appetizers to dessert, every course was delicious and well executed. And the wine selection was a perfect fit to the menu.
A "highly recommend" by me for both value and quality. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pressguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

My wife and I were delighted with our recent stay at The Village Inn Bed and Breakfast in Lenox, Massachusetts. What a wonderful home away from home this establishment turned out to be for us! We found the accommodations there to be an ideal blend of the past and the present. The building itself blends the aura of 18th century New England authenticity (the Inn having originally been built in 1771) with the best of modern comforts and conveniences. For instance, our cozy bedroom featured a classic queen-size four-poster canopy bed so quaint that we just had to take a few photos of it during our stay; but it also had its own independently controlled air conditioning and a private bath that included a whirlpool tub!

I don’t think a better breakfast can be found anywhere. Each morning began with a wonderful buffet that offered all we wanted from a variety of egg dishes, sausages, bacon, corned beef hash, potatoes, pancakes, french toast, cereals, rolls, muffins, pastries, juice, and coffee. And the dinner menu offered such a tempting selection of elegant dishes each evening that I regretted that our stay wasn’t longer so that we could have sampled all of them. Furthermore, the staff at The Village Inn were always courteous, professional, and helpful.

So many nice attractions are either in walking distance or a short car ride away. For instance, in one afternoon, we managed to visit the historic Shaker village and the wonderful Norman Rockwell museum (both in nearby communities) and still were able to get back in time to spend some leisurely time relaxing before dinner.

We thoroughly enjoyed the Village Inn Bed and Breakfast, and would not hesitate to stay there again.

Sincerely,

Lawrence LaMarca

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LawrenceLCommack_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our recent weekend visit to Lenox, Massachusetts where we stayed at The Village Inn Bed and Breakfast. It is located in the center of Lenox and has a generous sized parking lot which we appreciated as we could easily walk all over the town without driving.
The Inn is over 200 years old and very well maintained and updated with a unique style. Our room (#23) on the second floor was lovely and is featured in the current brochure. It was quiet, large, very comfortable and in the winter, has a fireplace. We also appreciated the free WIFI.
The breakfast offered both hot and cold dishes and everything was fresh and delicious. The staff was attentive and friendly and we had a great stay here.

Room Tip: The reservation staff member was very helpful and happy to help us find a great room. Rooms facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dephalp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We particularly like the Inn's convenient location in the center of Lenox, in walking distance of shops, restaurants, and Shakespeare & Co. Having a restaurant right in the same building was also handy, especially on the day of arrival. Our room (#32), billed to us as a "luxury room," was not luxurious by any means, but it was clean, adequate in size, and with all the promised accoutrements (A/c, etc...), other than the view, which was over the hotel's parking lot. Parking, reserved for hotel guests, was sufficiently ample so one could arrive late an still find a place, unlike, say, the Rockport Inn. We appreciated that they did not impose on us a 3-day minimum stay, because we prefer shorter weekends.Staff, both at the front desk and at the table, is efficient and businesslike Breakfast, while not stellar, was adequate. . The only negative aspect of our visit was the breakfast coffee (strong but, alas, harsh & somewhat bitter), but then again, poor coffee seems to be a hallmark of Lenox's B&B's and the clientele doesn't seem to mind.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debrigard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Village I, Public Relations Manager at The Village Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2012

Dear debrigard,

We sincerely appreciate your honest feedback. I see that you booked with us through Booking.com. I’d just like to clarify our room categories with regard to the “luxury room” that you reserved. We divide our room-types into Tiers (Tier 1 rooms, Tier 2 rooms, and Tier 3 rooms…Tier 1s being the largest of the three types) Your room, room 32, was of the Tier 1 category. Our Tier 1s are our nicest category of rooms, but the term “luxury” is a term applied to that category by Booking.com, not us.
We’re sorry to hear that our coffee didn’t meet your expectations! Complaints rarely come in about the coffee, but perhaps it is because everyone is distracted by the delicious homemade cookies right next to it!
We’re glad you’ll still think of us for a future stay. Give us a call directly at the inn and we’ll be sure to put you in a nice room and make sure the coffee is fresh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Stayed here this past weekend. Couldn't sleep due to noise from their pub below. I was not warned in advance despite what I see the marketing rep saying to other reviewers here. But regardless its unacceptable.

Otherwise the rooms are dirty, uncomfortable, and encourage people to stay out of their own expensive rooms.

    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Adler344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
3.3 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#5 of 16 in Lenox
587 reviews
0.4 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#4 of 16 in Lenox
581 reviews
2.7 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
5.4 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,082 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cornell Inn Lenox
Cornell Inn Lenox
#1 of 20 in Lenox
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 16 Church St, Lenox, MA 01240-2503
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range: £101 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Village Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in the Historic District of downtown Lenox, The Village Inn has been catering to the needs of travelers since 1771.Today, we are a prime choice for those wishing to be within walking distance to some of the finest shops, galleries, restaurants, and nightspots that Lenox has to offer.We also have our OWN restaurant, Rumplestiltzkin's Restaurant, right inside The Village Inn. Rumpy's Tavern, located right below The Village Inn, is open 7 nights a week and hosts a variety of entertainment for our guests and locals alike, from karaoke to bingo to live music.When you stay with us, you'll almost never need your car! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your The Village Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Hotel Lenox
The Village Inn b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing