We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful get-away location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Village Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #17 of 19 Lenox B&B and Inns
Port Jefferson Station, NY
1 review
“Wonderful get-away location”
Reviewed 28 July 2008

The Village Inn in Lenox, MA is a comfortable, quaint, cozy and friendly place to spend some leisure time. Good location, especially for Tanglewood. The rooms are well-appointed and clean. The staff is warm and friendly and treat you as though they are glad you are there. The restaurant is 5-star. All in all, an enjoyable experience.

Helpful?
Thank marste65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    31
    27
    23
    21
See reviews for
26
106
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
MA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2008

First, when making reservations, we were told that all but the most expensive room ($304 /night) had already been taken. Upon arrival we found hotel only filled to 50% capacity. The hotel looked nothing like the absolutely beautiful pictures shown on their website (what happened to the cleanliness, and all the decorations and fresh flowers?! - false advertising). The room linens and towels were old and worn. Our requested king bed was two twins pushed together. The furniture was in disrepair, taped together, and supported with blocks of wood. The room window air conditioner was full of water and made horrific noise when turned on. The hotel offered free breakfast to guests and charged walk-ins off the street. The paying customers got "OK" service and for guests(whom had already paid for their stay) got horrible service with an attitude, if at all. Need to get the word out on this hotel. Avoid at all costs.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Customer service
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Seaducer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lenox hotels

New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2008

My husband and I went up for the 4th of July weekend and stayed at the Village Inn. The Inn is very old and ready for upgrades. The room was on the small side, but did have a private bath. The bath had a jacuzzi tub, but didn't seem clean enough to use. The breakfast is buffet style and had a nice selection of options. My favorite was the ginger pancakes! A plus for the hotel is that it is walking distance (about 30 minutes) to Tanglewood. All and all, an okay stay.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — small rooms in an old b&b
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2008

We had an amazing stay (just one night) at The Village Inn. The inn is 200 years old but it is incredibly clean and well kept. The staff is absolutely wonderful and helpful in every area. Our room had a fireplace, jacuzzi tub, and sitting area in a very quiet corner of the inn. The food was top-notch and presented quite well. Jen and her husband (the chef) have the dining experience down to a tee and know every end of the business. Both do the cooking and they set us up with am excellent dinner. Our dinner was a four star experience and after dinner we walked downstairs to the pub and met a very eclectic group of friendly and warm locals and enjoyed the live music. I plan to return here next fall for another fantastic stay

  • Liked — cleanliness and the food
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mdesimone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2008

We just returned from a weekend getaway in the Birkshires. The Village Inn was a fantastic spot for lodging and dinner! This place absolutely shined as a unique experience. The staff is friendly and just a bit off-beat. We felt completely cared for! Other hotels and inns serve you because they have to, The Village Inn takes care of you because they truly want to.

Be sure to eat dinner there too. Our dinner was fantastic and once again you get the chance to have them "care for you" and they do. I loved the coffee, tea and homemade cookies available at all times in the breakfast room.

Oh, don't forget to go downstairs and have a cocktail at Rumplestilskins or "Rumpy's" as the locals call it. It's a small tavern with the most amazing eclectic collection of visitors and regulars. You can't help but have a good time.

We highly recommend The Village Inn. Be sure to see if they have weekend specials, that's what we did and got a voucher for $50 toward dinner.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jillmckeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2008

I got married last September and we reserved the entire hotel for our wedding guests. Since they have 32 rooms of fluctuating price range, a bar, a restaurant for brunch, common areas, it was a great home base for our wedding guests.

Our friends and family found the hotel homey, comfortable, historic, and charming. They also appreciated the easy access to town (since they are IN town) and the large and delicious included brunch. Some of the rooms are small, but those staying in them felt the prices and other pluses more than compensated.

The innkeepers were helpful, kind, warm, but not intrusive.

As a bride, I made a NUMBER of demands on the Inn: we reserved the bar for an after party, we held a midnight poker tournament, we hosted a brunch for 100 people. The Innkeepers were more than willing to work with us every step of the way to help our guests - and us - have a memorable, warm weekend. My sincere thanks!

Much thanks!

  • Liked — Flexibility of hosts
  • Disliked — Rooms are small
  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcplaywright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverhill, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2008

I spent two nights at the Village Inn, in one of their fireplace rooms. I have to say, I was expecting the room to be quite a bit larger, though the size of the bathroom made up somewhat for it.

I had dinner and breakfast in their restaurant. The waitress Jennifer was very friendly and helpful. Other than the restaurant staff, I never saw the innkeepers other than to check in or check out.

If I were to remark negatively on anything, it would be their inability to adequately salt, sand, and shovel the parking lot and walk ways around the inn. It was virtually impossible to walk without slipping and sliding - and for an older couple, the elderly, or anyone for that matter, it can be very dangerous. Also, I found the rooms to be rather old and not recently remodeled or updated. The walls are paper thin and you can hear full conversations going on in the room next door.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Seemed to much like an impersonal hotel than a quaint B&B
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gjmus22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheferella, Director of Marketing at The Village Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 February 2008
Unfortunately this reviewer stayed at The Village Inn on a particularly foul weather weekend. For three days we got a combination of snow, sleet, freezing rain and rain. We were attentive to the walkways, and in fact used more than 75 pounds of rock salt and ice melt during that time period, and spent nearly $1000 in plowing, but with more precipitation falling and the temperatures fluctuating, it was a losing battle and there were certainly times when the walkways were slippery.

This was also a holiday weekend, close to Valentine's Day, and the Inn was completely full, so the noise levels were certainly higher than normal for this time of year. We're sorry that the reviewer was disturbed by neighbors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
3.3 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#6 of 16 in Lenox
542 reviews
0.4 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#4 of 16 in Lenox
555 reviews
2.7 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
0.6 mi away
Cornell Inn Lenox
Cornell Inn Lenox
#1 of 19 in Lenox
479 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Village Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 16 Church St, Lenox, MA 01240-2503
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Village Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in the Historic District of downtown Lenox, The Village Inn has been catering to the needs of travelers since 1771.Today, we are a prime choice for those wishing to be within walking distance to some of the finest shops, galleries, restaurants, and nightspots that Lenox has to offer.We also have our OWN restaurant, Rumplestiltzkin's Restaurant, right inside The Village Inn. Rumpy's Tavern, located right below The Village Inn, is open 7 nights a week and hosts a variety of entertainment for our guests and locals alike, from karaoke to bingo to live music.When you stay with us, you'll almost never need your car! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Village Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Inn b&b
The Village Hotel Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing