We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oy Vey...The Staff Is Sweet and The Breakfast Was Great BUT The Rooms and Hotel Overall Needs An Upgrade!!!!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Village Inn Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Village Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #18 of 20 Lenox B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Oy Vey...The Staff Is Sweet and The Breakfast Was Great BUT The Rooms and Hotel Overall Needs An Upgrade!!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Ok.. So this place works well if you are above 65 years old and like the old world charm of B and B's. It's quaint and charming but good lord this place needs some serious upgrading..Nothing has changed since 1975 and it shows.. And the rooms are tight and tiny with these queen beds that are actually two random twin beds pushed together.. I left the inn with a serious backache and I had to go to a physical therapist because of those beds. I am dead serious.... OY VEY... It's just a hot mess in terms of the decor... lenox needs places that are modern or sexy.. I would suggest that they really get it together in the decor department and take some funds to renovate and spruce the place up. I didn't even know how to use the hairdryer they had, it was literally from 1967.. Yikes.. But the STAFF is soooooo nice and sweet and the food was really great... It's a shame because if the place invested in an upgrade the whole scene there would be amazing.. Modernize please The Village Inn.. It's 2014...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xsimmons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    31
    27
    22
    20
See reviews for
25
105
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicopee, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Me and my hubby stayed here for our anniversary. we loved it. The people were so pleasant and made us feel welcome and comfortable . kinda like family. They made our special day so special . They understood it was our annivesary. We statyed at places before that weren't so
comforting. We loved the food it was the best. There one lady Mary Ellen in the staff that stood out so well. Me and hubby called her speedy gonzazlez. She did bascially everything and she was so pleasant. We feel she deserves a raise . This place was great and we starting tellling our friends and we will wihout a doubt stay again. They also had the best singer in the bar and we had a blast . Nice romantic fun night.
Mrs Darlene Gaudette

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darlene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

The Villiage Inn is one of the few affordable 'b&b' type hotels in the area. To start it's not really a b&b and more like an old style hotel. Beyond affordable, well located is about all that it was, but I would have much preferred to spend my money on the Quality Inn (now the Black Swan I think) down the road. The room, although we had one of the biggest, was tiny, the 'king size bed' was two terrible full beds pushed together, and the amenities were neither the modern kind or the charming b&b kind. If you're just looking for a decently priced place that will allow you to walk around Lenox without ever getting in your car, this is a good place. If you plan to spend any time in the hotel/in your room, plan to go elsewhere.

The hospitality was good - no complaints there - the place just desperately needs a renovation in more ways than one.

Additionally, we had food (breakfast and dinner) at the Restaurant and regretted it. There's a lot of great places to eat in Lenox, but this is not one of them.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank legowife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lenox hotels

Shawnee On Delaware
Level Contributor
172 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

Everything you want in winter Lenox including pretty good heating. Rooms are the usual combination of old furniture and chintz that seems so much in style in Lenox you would think there was a law mandating it. Staff friendly. Fluffy towels and clean. Breakfast is the meal to eat. Dinner was a disappointment. Why go to Lenox in the winter? We were here for a birthday party gathering of friends. Otherwise I can't think of a good reason. All those white-painted big New England homes look depressingly cold and damp. The nightlife is left to the bars where the locals gather (probably to complain to each other about being stuck in Lenox in the winter). We found the food at the Gateway Inn around the corner to be better. Another caution: Village Inn, like almost everything in old Lenox, is built of wood. There are smoke detectors in the rooms but no sprinkler system. So know where the fire exit is before you go to bed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertitoL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Closter, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

30 friends and I spent last weekend at the Village Inn to celebrate some milestone birthdays and the service/hospitality could not have been better. Plenty of food for breakfast and numerous choices, lovely rooms, and a fabulous dinner party in their restaurant. The dinner food and cocktail hour/hor'douvres the chef had arranged with me were especially terrific and great value. And there is so much to do in the area that even people with varied interests can each find something that appeals to them. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EllenSueAMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

We've stayed at the Village Inn on three occasions and will do so again on our next visit to the Berkshires. The Inn is perfectly located in the heart of the Village with an easy walk to shops and restaurants and a long walk or short drive to Tanglewood. Their rates are very resonable compared to other area inns, it is always clean and comfortable, and the breakfast buffet is fantastic, offering hot food, baked goods, fruit, coffee, and selection of juices. Some guests on this have made negative comments about the age of the Inn and its older decor, but that is part of its appeal. It is traditional old New England inn, but is sufficiently updated to offer all modern necessities without losing it's antique charm. Remember that it is an inn, not a resort or national chain hotel. The only caveat is to avoid Room 1 on the first floor. It is above the stage in the basement bar, and when a band plays, it sounds like they are your bathroom. Now for the best quality of the Inn - it's staff truely cares about its guests and bends over backwards to accomodate your needs make your stay enjoyable. For example, we had the misfotune of staying the aforementioned Room 1 two years ago when a hard rock band was playing. When we brought the noise issue to the attention of the staff, we received a very fair discount on the room rate and a complimentary breakfast. When we booked another stay this year, the manager gave us a complimentary room upgrade and apoligizedf again for our prior inconvenience. It gets better. My wife and I bought a few pounds of shrimp for a picnic with friends at a Tanglewood concert. About an hour before we were going to leave for Tanglewood, we realized the shrimp were uncooked. The manager and chef jumped into action, brought our shimp to the kitchen, cooked them, and returned them to us chilled and on ice. We tried to tip the chef, but he refused the gratuity and said, "I'm happy we could help you - just go enjoy your picnic and the concert." We'll be back again, and again.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 1 on the first floor - especially if a band is playing in the basement bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VLS1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watford
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We had a suite booked but when we saw it!! Found out we were sharing with another couple across the hall with communal sitting room! Also it was above the bar and club so asked for another room over the front. They found us one but you could hardly move it was so small, the bathroom held museum pieces and the linen and towels cheap quality.
Air conditioning was so old it made a terrible noise but that was better than sweltering plus it hid the sounds of other residents coming in late at night, the walls were thin.
Breakfast was poor so we went to local diners instead.
Would not stay again but to be fair we checked out after 2 nights as we could not face a third and they refunded the last nights fee.

Room Tip: They are so small you can't swing a cat
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WatfordLizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
3.3 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#5 of 14 in Lenox
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
5.4 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cornell Inn Lenox
Cornell Inn Lenox
#1 of 20 in Lenox
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn
0.4 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#2 of 20 in Lenox
5.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Village Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 16 Church St, Lenox, MA 01240-2503
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Village Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in the Historic District of downtown Lenox, The Village Inn has been catering to the needs of travelers since 1771.Today, we are a prime choice for those wishing to be within walking distance to some of the finest shops, galleries, restaurants, and nightspots that Lenox has to offer.We also have our OWN restaurant, Rumplestiltzkin's Restaurant, right inside The Village Inn. Rumpy's Tavern, located right below The Village Inn, is open 7 nights a week and hosts a variety of entertainment for our guests and locals alike, from karaoke to bingo to live music.When you stay with us, you'll almost never need your car! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Village Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Hotel Lenox
The Village Inn b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing