We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this winter escape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Village Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #17 of 19 Lenox B&B and Inns
Wallingford CT
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love this winter escape”
Reviewed 15 December 2008

Our annual first weekend in December overnight escape has become one of our favorite weekends of the year. Our trip begins with a day of shopping at the nearby Lee Outlets followed by a visit to the local gift shops in Stockbridge and Lenox. We’re never disappointed when we arrive at the Village Inn late afternoon to be greeted by the friendly staff. We look forward to the warmth of the old colonial house beautifully decorated for the holidays. Our favorite large room (#20) is tastefully decorated with a fireplace and overlooks the front portion of the house. The gourmet dinner menu at the inn restaurant has become our favorite and never disappoints. Jen truly makes everyone feel at home at the Inn and it’s a special treat to have her serve you. She’ll answer any questions you have about the menu and local happenings and the desserts on the menu are her specialty. Following dinner, there is great entertainment and good times with the locals and Troy, the friendliest bartender in town at the downstairs tavern. The weekend special includes room, a $50 credit towards dinner, and breakfast. The Village Inn always provides an exquisite escape at a very reasonable cost.
We love it!

  • Liked — staff & good food
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingbuddies47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    31
    27
    22
    20
See reviews for
25
105
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
loudon79
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2008

We got a great deal ($122/night) on Orbitz so it's hard to complain about anything. However, you do get what you pay for. The Inn has three different categories of rooms, based on size. Ours was in Tier 3, the smallest. If you're only using it as a place to sleep then it's fine but we barely had room to move. This was OK because it's what we were expecting but a larger person would have a very hard time in one of these rooms. The Inn has a very good restaurant with an extensive menu that's worth trying once if you'll be in town for a couple of nights (there are better places to dine just up the street). Breakfast is included and is wonderful, especially the bountiful buffet they put out on Sunday. It will fill you up for the entire day. There is also a small bar in the basement. The music can be heard upstairs and may bother some, depending on where your room is situated. The Inn has a collection of board games and videos, which we took advantage of. The Inn itself is quite old it shows in certain areas so don't expect any of the amenities of a modern facility. The staff (and especially the bar crowd) are a zany and eclectic bunch, but friendly. Overall, a good value, perfect location (right in town), excellent food. Next time we would probably try one of the other B&B's in town since there are so many nice ones, but I wouldn't rule out a return trip to the Village Inn.

  • Liked — Breakfast (Gingerbread pancakes!)
  • Disliked — Room was small/old (but we knew that are didn't really care)
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loudon79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plattsburgh, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2008

My husband and I were looking for something that was not "chain-like" and that would help us ease out of some our work stresses. The Village Inn Bed and Breakfast and its restaurant did just that a couple of weekends ago in October . A well-kept, beautufully vintaged inn (aka 1771) nestled in a most lovely mountained area, this inn reflects the ambience and service expected of a hostelry with well over two hundred years of unbroken hospitality for travelers. The rooms were very clean and comfortably warm and the room's sitting area's spectacularly comfortable chairs overlooking the tree-lined street was delightful for private conversation, reading or just thinking. The four-poster bed and its soft, comfortable bedding were pleasing as was the hot-tub- like bath. The food was a hidden treasure as the chef well knew the art of presentation and the cravings of the palate. The service was superb from the front desk to the dining area to their own quaint pub, "Rumplestiltskins" . We had wanted to get away for our own privacy and re-energizing and maybe a bit of spoiling. We recommend this inn for such a get-away to anyone.

  • Liked — Service, accomodations and food...
  • Disliked — We couldn't stay longer...
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCWM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cerritos, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2008

My mother and I spent the night at the Village Inn during a weekend getaway to the Berkshires. Overall, it was a very pleasant stay, and I would not hesitate to stay here again.

The Location:
The Village Inn is located on Church Street in Lenox and is very close to the shops, art galleries, and restaurants. There is free parking for guests in a lot behind the inn. I would not characterize The Village Inn as a typical bed and breakfast, since there are around 30 rooms and interaction with the owners is minimal, if they are present at all.

The Room:
The bedrooms are broken up into three categories: Tier 1, 2, and 3. Tier 1 rooms are the largest, and also the most expensive. We stayed in Room 16 (a Tier 1), and housekeeping had split the king bed into two twins like we requested. The room was minimally decorated but comfortable, with an old but adequate sofa. However, it's important to note that there is a tavern below the inn that is open until around midnight. Since our room was in the back of the inn (we had a view of the parking lot), we could hear every conversation coming from tavern patrons who were on their way to their cars. If I were to visit again, I would request a room away from the noise.

The Bathroom:
The bathroom was adequate and had a jacuzzi tub. Although it took a while to fill, it was fantastic to have a relaxing soak after a long day of sightseeing. However, the toiletries provided for the tub weren't very appealing (ginger or spearmint scented), and the towels were very thin. The sink was also older and had two faucets-- one of cold water and one for hot. Also, I'm 5'1" and could not see into any of the mirrors in the bathroom, since they are small and located higher up.

The Common Areas:
The common areas of the inn were lovely, and I was able to get a significant amount of reading done. The big plus about the common areas was that they were very quiet. I had passed by the Red Lion Inn in Stockbridge, and the place was completely packed with senior citizens and it would have been impossible to find a quiet place to sit and read. The common area had plenty of seating, and was nicely decorated for fall. I suspect the inn would be very lovely when it is decorated for Christmas.

Breakfast:
Breakfast was wonderful and is served buffet style. (See my review on The Village Inn Restaurant.) Breakfast included coffee, tea, juice, waffles, pancakes, bacon, sausage, eggs, hash, fresh fruit, and a variety of breads and danishes.

Overall, a great stay. The inn could use a remodel, but is competitively priced (we booked a special for $199 for the room and $50 dinner voucher) and convenient. Would definitely stay again.

  • Liked — Reasonably priced, great location
  • Disliked — Could use an updating, esp. in bathroom area; loud noise from tavern
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank USCtraveler9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2008

We just got back from celebrating our one year anniversary at the Village Inn. In fact, we held our destination wedding weekend at the Inn. This was our fourth stay there and once again we had a wonderful time.

Upon arrival, we felt like we had come back home. From Michael who checked us in, the warm greeting from Pat and Billy Soto (owner-innkeepers), Jenn who keeps it all running smoothly, and virtually everyone else on the staff, we couldn't have been made to feel any more welcomed.

A visit to the Inn is not complete without enjoying dinner in their dining room, masterfully prepared by John the chef, whose creations in our opinion match some of the finest restaurants in Manhattan. (Do not miss the butternut squash bisque!)

Our tier 1 room was spacious, charming, and comfortable. Looking for warmth and hospitality without pretense? This is the real deal. We have already booked our reservations for next year to celebrate our second anniversary.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, food and wine, cozy
  • Disliked — Having to leave so soon.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PG-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2008

We stayed 2 nights at the Village Inn while in town for a wedding. I must say, I was not impressed. However, being in great spirits because of the events of the weekend and beautiful late summer weather made us overlook a lot of flaws. (The atmosphere of our accommodations was really a secondary concern on this trip.) As a place just to dress/sleep, it was fine. We chose it based on location and the fact that it was on an arranged shuttle route for the wedding. In general, I'm not too picky, as long as the place is clean and the staff is helpful. I am thankful though, that we paid a special wedding rate and not the regular rate--some flaws here were just too obvious!

Overall, we found ourselves laughing about a lot of this with other guests at the wedding who were also staying there. It's just kind of a funny place. If you're not high maintenance--it's fine. Amusing even. But if you consider your room a big part of your vacation enjoyment...go elsewhere!

PROS:
1) Location can't be beat! Right in the heart of downtown, walking distance to many cute shops and cafes.
2) Free parking lot right behind the Inn. Super convenient!
3) Room/bathroom were very clean.
4) Comfortable bed (but not pillows!). Spare pillows in the closet.
5) Breakfast was included in the room rate and offered a fair range of food, including eggs. Not extra special, but not bad either. (Well, except for the spoiled creamer I got one morning...but that was quickly remedied.)
6) Staff was very friendly (though not very...um, refined)

CONS:
1) Badly in need of cosmetic updates! The whole place was oddly, haphazardly decorated. Faded, peeling wallpaper, mismatched decor, old carpet, teddy bear collection (?) in dining area, bar behind the reception desk. The trim on our lampshade was reattached with scotch tape. (C'mon! Just get a simple new one at WalMart for a few bucks--it would be a major improvement!)
2) Towels were really small and super thin. We requested extras before even using any because we knew those wouldn't cut it. (To their credit, a big pile of fresh ones was delivered right away.)
3) Noisy AC unit in window--really couldn't sleep with it on at all.
4) Tavern in bottom level with live (and not very good) music is open late... we could hear the "concert" from our room.
5) No mirror in room, only two very small and too high mirrors in the bath, plus one on back of bathroom door. It was impossible to dress for a wedding or do make-up in there. I kept going out in the hall where there was a full-size mirror to adjust myself.
6) Our room and bathroom were ridiculously small! The room size would've been ok, BUT they filled up 1/5 of it with a huge TV armoire (TV didn't even work well). Not necessary! I really would've preferred a large mirror or even a floor lamp in it's place. The bathroom was REALLY small. No place to put toiletries. I bumped a towel in the toilet within the first 5 min. Couldn't look in mirror without craning sideways over teeny corner sink, and as a result, I ended up paying $80 at a nearby salon to have my hair done for the wedding because I couldn't manage an updo without bumping my elbow against the wall! You could literally brush your teeth while sitting on the toilet--not that you'd want to, of course! (Another guest remarked at breakfast that he realized when he saw the size of the room why they ask for your money up front!) Which leads to...
7) Must pay in full at time of booking. That's asking a lot.
8) Restaurant was overpriced for the quality. We decided to order a light meal between checking in and leaving for a party. Just apps., and it was pricey. SO glad we didn't order entrees, because the food was mediocre at best. (I also had to send back my first water glass because of two VERY obvious red lipstick impressions. Gross.)

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Bathroom
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bex18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brooklyn, ny
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2008

We just returned from a wonderful weekend at this beautiful bed and breakfast in Lenox, Ma. The accommodations were excellent and the service superb. We intend to recommend it to all of our friends and look forward to returning in the Fall.

  • Liked — very picturesque and comfortable
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank minniemouse26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
3.3 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#6 of 16 in Lenox
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.4 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#4 of 16 in Lenox
5.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
2.7 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
0.6 mi away
Cornell Inn Lenox
Cornell Inn Lenox
#1 of 19 in Lenox
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Village Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 16 Church St, Lenox, MA 01240-2503
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Village Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in the Historic District of downtown Lenox, The Village Inn has been catering to the needs of travelers since 1771.Today, we are a prime choice for those wishing to be within walking distance to some of the finest shops, galleries, restaurants, and nightspots that Lenox has to offer.We also have our OWN restaurant, Rumplestiltzkin's Restaurant, right inside The Village Inn. Rumpy's Tavern, located right below The Village Inn, is open 7 nights a week and hosts a variety of entertainment for our guests and locals alike, from karaoke to bingo to live music.When you stay with us, you'll almost never need your car! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Village Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Hotel Lenox
The Village Inn b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing