We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Food, But I'm Still Hungry”
Review of Blantyre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Blantyre
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Lenox
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Our party of four has been making a yearly pilgrimage to Blantyre from our home in Connecticut for several years. It is an experience we really look forward to because the hotel is wonderful and the food is outstanding. We have never had anything there that wasn't excellent. As with many "up scale" restaurants, the portions were not large, but with the complete meal, there were usually adequate. On our visit last week we found the food to be up to the usual high standards, but the portions of all the courses (not the tasting menu) were extremely small. The amuse bouche was the size of half a peanut, the appetizer was the size of an amuse bouche and the main courses, lamb and venison, were two small slices of meat with tiny accompanying sides. I only bother to mention this because because we love this place so much, but for the prices they charge, we should not be leaving the restaurant hungry. Hopefully the chief will make note of these comments. We are planning and looking forward to returning to Blantyre again. We haven't given up yet on this Relais and Chateau property.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alfred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2012

celebrated our anniversary here this weekend. While it is very expensive, it seemed well worth it. The main house is beautifully decorated. The rooms are roomy and comfortable. The service was excellent from check in to checkout. Dinner was delicious with a fabulous wine list. Only quibble would be poor internet connections

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jed k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Blantyre was built in 1902 as the summer "cottage" of Robert W. Patterson, a native of Scotland who modeled it after his wife's ancestral home in Lanarkshire, Scotland, and named it after his father's country home. The building has been restored to its former glory, and even though the furnishings are not original, upon entering the great hall, one feels transported back in time to when Blantyre was one of the last showplaces of the "Gilded Age" (i.e. pre-Income Tax). Upon crossing the threshold, we were greeted by a staff that made us we feel as though we were two of Mr. and Mrs. Patterson's guests, arriving for two days of elegance, refinement, and, as we soon learned, excellent food.

The property has been meticulously restored by Blantyre's current owner, Ann Fitzpatrick. In supervising the restoration, Ms. Fitzpatrick stated that her goal was "to make it feel just like it did when it was a private house." She has succeeded. Unlike many restored former private mansions, or other very high-end country properties, Blantyre feels like a real home. There is nothing theatrical or over the top about the furnishings. They appear to my untutored eye to be warmly authentic to the period and some of them seem to be ever so slightly used, exactly like they would be in the Patterson's house. The cushions on the couches in the sitting areas often have depressions left by prior occupants, or are very, very slightly lumpy, just as one would expect in a summer "cottage.".

The grounds are a marvel with a spa, a pool, tennis courts, croquet, wild turkeys and deer. There are even two swings suspended from a branch of a magnificent oak tree that appears to have been groomed specifically to support them. The cuisine is world-class, and the wine cellar is among the best I've seen, with over 17,000 bottles. The building is replete with working fireplaces (including in our suite), and pre-dinner canapes are served in the evening to the accompaniment of a pianist..

Blantyre is a very special place. I cannot recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harrydog44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

This gorgeous country manor house hotel exceeds every expectation. We had no idea what to expect when walked through the door of this stately mansion but As soon as we entered the magic begins. The only way to describe a stay here is incredible. If you want to know what it would feel like to be invited to stay at the palace while the queen is away, look no further. We felt as if she had left the castle for us and asked that our every wish be taken care of. You don't need to ask for anything. The rooms are gorgeous and the food perfection. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diropswpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Out of this world service and a truly beautiful property. The standard and generosity of the staff exceeds anything we have ever experienced. The formality is not really our favorite mode of travel - but this is a unique experience.

Room Tip: We had the "cheapest" room in the house, the ribbon room. It is small compared to the rega...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FPerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We chose Blantyre thinking it would be peaceful and atmospheric. What a letdown. We felt uncomfortable and unwelcome from the very start. The staff was incredibly off-putting. Our room was claustrophobic, and every time we came down the main stairs we were intercepted by staff inquiring "can I help you with something?" like we were snooping around (the blonde with glasses and indecipherable accent was downright creepy). You'd think a small place like this would remember who was staying there and who was not. The overall atmosphere was very cold and staid. Much of the grounds were also left to be desired - smelly "gaming hut," run-down tennis courts, barely a flower anywhere on the grounds. It's amazing they get away with charging a mandatory 18% gratuity on room charges that are already hefty - take your substantial amount of money elsewhere if you want any semblance of warmth or welcomeness.

Room Tip: Not the small rooms in the Main House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank L73_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We only had a few days for our honeymoon and we decided to stay at the Blantyre since, based on a previous stay, we knew a few days here is better then a week at most places. You would of thought we were the Royal Couple on their honeymoon by the way they treated us. They were extremely generous to us and made us feel very special. The Blantyre is a very special place with some of the best service we have ever experienced. Each room is unique. Their breakfasts are over the top. Try to have at least one breakfast in your room, it is a wonderful treat. Their dinners, while certainly not cheap, are a journey back in time when the "experience" was just as important as the food. We also ordered a picnic basket for a dinner at a Tanglewood show and it was very well done. Thank you very much to Ann, the owner, and her staff for making very special memories for us.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LessWorkMoreVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
2.2 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#4 of 16 in Lenox
581 reviews
1 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
LakeHouse Inn
LakeHouse Inn
#1 of 9 in Lee
168 reviews
3.1 mi away
Courtyard Marriott Lenox Berkshires
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blantyre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blantyre

Address: 16 Blantyre Rd, Lenox, MA 01240-2776
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lenox
Price Range: £402 - £754 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blantyre 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blantyre Relais & Chateaux is a romantic country house hotel. Set amidst 110 acres of lush lawns and woodlands in the beautiful Berkshires of Western Massachusetts. A Tudor style house built in 1902 is resplendent with period furnishings and sumptuous fabrics. A relaxing retreat with a professional,caring and friendly staff. Award winning food, wine list and spa. A getaway for all seasons...summer music festivals, splendid fall leaves, winter wonderland with ice skating and snowshoeing on property. Blantyre is equidistant between NYC and Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and MrandMrsSmith so you can book your Blantyre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blantyre Hotel Lenox
Blantyre Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing