We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and historical”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Lenox
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Older but nice and stately. LOVE breakfast in the Mansion with the lovely views. Love sitting outdoors (spring) at the Tavern. Meals/selection are limited at the Tavern but the Mansion has an impressive buffet.

Stayed for business in April 2012, July 2012 and planning to visit again 1015/2012.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KCCowgirlLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma_Probst, Public Relations Manager at Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Thank you so much for your nice comments about your past stays. We began serving breakfast on the Rose Terrace in the Mansion this summer, so you will be able to enjoy those beautiful views outdoors. We hope you enjoy your return stay this week.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (805)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

530 - 536 of 805 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2012

My husband and I just came back from a wonderful 2 day trip to the Cranwell Resort. We had an opportunity to get away so I called on that morning and I was fortunate enough to get the last room that was available.

We've been to various resorts throughout the country and I have to say that this one topped them all, or was very close to the best. We were greeted with a warm hello and welcome when we arrived at the front desk and even though we were two hours early to check in , the room was ready for us. The room was beautifully appointed and comfortable. After leaving our luggage in the room, we toured the grounds and a couple of other buildings and everything was so clean and tastefully decorated.

Also wanted to mention that Norma, the concierge during out stay, went over and above the call of duty in finding us a great dinner reservation in Lenox. She even asked if the restaurant had fireplaces.

I spent a few hours at the spa and it was incredibly relaxing. There was a spacious jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and a comfortable and relaxing quiet room where you could sit and have a cup of tea and read a magazine or book.

We also used the pool which was above and beyond our expectations. It was a clean and spacious facility which had very comfortable pool chairs and recliners.

We plan to make many return visits to Cranwell!

Room Tip: Choice is between main hotel and the adjoining lodges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UnoTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma_Probst, Public Relations Manager at Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Last minute getaways…aren’t they wonderful? Thank you so much for thinking of Cranwell and for your positive feedback. As you were able to enjoy so much of what our resort has to offer, we hope it won’t be too long before you return. The spa is an incredible place to escape to during the winter as well and it’s connected to many of our guest rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

The Cranwell Resort, Spa and Golf Club should be a destination you make in the very near future. The facility and amenities are excellent. The golf course is short but is well mainatained and interesting. The greens make this course very demanding.
Food and beverage were fairly priced and very good. The Mansion offers fine dining as well as a lighter fare menu for those just coming off the course or from the spa.
There is also a Tavern that offers only pub type food and beverages. We ate at both during our visit and were impressed with both. The Spa and fitness area are 5 star!
My wife and I went with 5 other couples for their Serenity weekend package. We will most assuridly be going back.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to be recently remodeled and everyone thought were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve7551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma_Probst, Public Relations Manager at Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

We appreciate all the positive comments you shared with us, especially about your golfing experience. The course was designed in 1926 by Wayne Styles and John Van Kleek when our resort was the Berkshire Hunt and Country Club. The back nine terrain and greens complexes are classic examples of their challenging designs. We will continue offering the Serenity Sunday Special throughout the coming Fall and Winter, so we hope you and your wife, along with your other friends who traveled with you, will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We traveled here on labor day weekend for a short getaway. The grounds of the resort are clean and spacious. We stayed in the mansion and had a very large room on the third floor. The rooms are very clean with all the amenities. Service at breakfast was excellent. In fact, the chef at the buffet gave us an indepth history of Tanglewood and the nearby mountains. My wife and I had massages, and the spa is excellent. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The mansion rooms are quiet and good for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travlite224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma_Probst, Public Relations Manager at Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Thanks for the great review about your recent stay at Cranwell Resort. Our buffet breakfast Chef will be delighted to know that you enjoyed your chat with him. He is very knowledgeable about the Berkshires including many of the cultural events. We’re also glad that you had a chance to relax at the spa and with over 50 treatments to choose from, you’ll have plenty to do on future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Found this resort on the internet and through great comments on tripadvisor. Stayed over the Labor day weekend mainly for the golf. Our room was in the Beechers and very convenient to the pro shop, practice green, tavern, and pool. Our room was beautiful, large and had everything we needed, especially a mini-fridge. Resort has several different types of rooms on the campus. Some are close to the tennis courts and spa. The indoor pool is magnificient, clean and perfect water temps. My son played golf and loved the course. We will plan to visit every year!

Room Tip: Beechers was very nice and close to the golf course and practice green. Other buildings on campus a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob54121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma_Probst, Public Relations Manager at Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2012

Why wait until next year? You can practice your golf swing over the winter at our indoor golf center operated by Kay McMahon, an LPGA Hall of Fame Member. It’s just across the street in the Harvest Barn at our Meadow View Banquet facility (she also runs an instructional program at the Driving Range during the summer). Stay in one of our guest buildings connected to the spa by a glass enclosed walkway, so you can conveniently enjoy the indoor pool. Or if your family skis, you might be interested in our Berkshire Ski Package. We hope to see you next year, if not sooner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We stayed at the Cranwell for two nights and were very happy with our stay there. The grounds are beautiful and we stayed in Founder's Cottage and the rooms were nice and clean. The proximity to the spa was wonderful and I was very pleased with all the treatments I had there. The entire staff was exceptionally nice (aside from Gail at the desk who could have been nicer) and I would certainly highly recommend the resort!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joelle g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma_Probst, Public Relations Manager at Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2012

Our grounds staff was delighted to be acknowledged for their efforts in keeping our resort looking beautiful. Thank you. We are also pleased that you found the entire staff to be exceptionally nice and noted your one concern. With the proximity of the spa connected by a glass-enclosed walkway, we hope you’ll consider returning during the winter months, which is an incredibly relaxing way to enjoy the Berkshires and the beautiful surroundings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

So we have stayed twice more at the Cranwell since my last review. Yes, it has lovely facilities - still. What we were impressed with was the improvement in housekeeping and the overall cleanliness of our rooms. The front desk staff was much nicer and even smiled this time! This stay we had friends who also came but stayed in the hotel and not the cottages. They liked the overall facility but did not recommend the restaurant in the mansion. We did not have dinner at the mansion as they did - we had breakfast there which was just fine. We ate a Sloan's Tavern and found the service very friendly and efficient and the food standard tavern type food.

The Spa services were excellent as always with a very helpful and attentive staff. The gym was clean with a reasonable selection of fitness classes considering that this is a hotel I was impressed with the varied classes and excellent teachers.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank far_away_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma_Probst, Public Relations Manager at Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2012

As a frequent visitor to Cranwell, we can’t thank you enough for continuing to share your feedback concerning your stays with us. We’re pleased to hear that you continue to enjoy the quality of services at the spa and have also noticed improvements we’ve made in other areas. We look forward to your next visit and more firsthand reviews of your experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
0.4 mi away
Blantyre
Blantyre
#5 of 16 in Lenox
264 reviews
1.3 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#3 of 16 in Lenox
573 reviews
2.7 mi away
Courtyard Marriott Lenox Berkshires
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort

Address: 55 Lee Rd, Lenox, MA 01240-2703 (Formerly Cranwell Resort, Spa & Golf Club)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Lenox
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lenox
Price Range: £159 - £381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched high on a hilltop in Lenox, MA, Cranwell Resort, Spa and Golf Club offers spectacular views for every season. Enjoy one of the largest spas in the Northeast along with elegant accommodations, fine dining, outstanding amenities and exceptional service. Whether your visit is for a weekend getaway, business meeting or stylish wedding or event, Cranwell Resort, Spa and Golf Club offers the ultimate resort experience on 380-acres snuggled in the heart of the Berkshires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranwell Resort, Spa And Golf Club
Cranwell Resort, Spa & Golf Club Hotel Lenox
Cranwell Hotel Lenox
Cranwell Resort Lenox
Cranwell Resort Anbd Spa Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing