We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Catskills in the Berkshires”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Lenox
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
westchester
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Catskills in the Berkshires”
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Cranwell offers many amenties that other hotels and lodging in the area do not. A spa, golf, dining rooms, music room and bar, and breathtaking vistas. The staff is very friendly and welcoming, and the rooms are large and clean. If your destination is the Berkshires this fall to go leafing, visit the local art museums and attractions, and have a few days to stay , then Cranwell will be a good choice. However if your looking for a less disjointed, cozy, charming well appointed feeling, then neighboring Wheatleigh, or Blantyre may be your pricey alternative.

The Spa offers a wide variety of services, and all reasonably priced. The massage rooms are large and comfortable. Sauna ,Steam and relaxation rooms are offered in both the mens and womans locker room areas. An attendent is always there to pick up towels, and redress the shower areas. There is a large swimming pool area ,so dont forget the suit, and a gift shop in case you do.

The rooms provide Keurig coffee service, bottled water, robes, and extra towels. There are fireplaces all around, and would have lent a homier atmoshpere had they been lit. The hallways colors are mismatched, and the rooms are painted hospital white with drab draperies, and old bed covers.

So like any grand lady that does not want to show her age, Its time for a facelift, or maybe a just a little tweaking.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itsallabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma_Probst, Public Relations Manager at Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
We truly value the time you have taken to provide detailed feedback on you experience at Cranwell. We’re pleased that you enjoyed so many aspects of your visit and your comments are being shared with all departments at our resort. We welcome your thoughts regarding the décor as we are continuously looking for ways to satisfy the personal interests of our guests and improve the overall appearance of our property. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    192
    81
    71
    36
See reviews for
158
318
23
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Older but nice and stately. LOVE breakfast in the Mansion with the lovely views. Love sitting outdoors (spring) at the Tavern. Meals/selection are limited at the Tavern but the Mansion has an impressive buffet.

Stayed for business in April 2012, July 2012 and planning to visit again 1015/2012.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCCowgirlLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma_Probst, Public Relations Manager at Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Thank you so much for your nice comments about your past stays. We began serving breakfast on the Rose Terrace in the Mansion this summer, so you will be able to enjoy those beautiful views outdoors. We hope you enjoy your return stay this week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

My husband and I just came back from a wonderful 2 day trip to the Cranwell Resort. We had an opportunity to get away so I called on that morning and I was fortunate enough to get the last room that was available.

We've been to various resorts throughout the country and I have to say that this one topped them all, or was very close to the best. We were greeted with a warm hello and welcome when we arrived at the front desk and even though we were two hours early to check in , the room was ready for us. The room was beautifully appointed and comfortable. After leaving our luggage in the room, we toured the grounds and a couple of other buildings and everything was so clean and tastefully decorated.

Also wanted to mention that Norma, the concierge during out stay, went over and above the call of duty in finding us a great dinner reservation in Lenox. She even asked if the restaurant had fireplaces.

I spent a few hours at the spa and it was incredibly relaxing. There was a spacious jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and a comfortable and relaxing quiet room where you could sit and have a cup of tea and read a magazine or book.

We also used the pool which was above and beyond our expectations. It was a clean and spacious facility which had very comfortable pool chairs and recliners.

We plan to make many return visits to Cranwell!

Room Tip: Choice is between main hotel and the adjoining lodges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UnoTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma_Probst, Public Relations Manager at Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Last minute getaways…aren’t they wonderful? Thank you so much for thinking of Cranwell and for your positive feedback. As you were able to enjoy so much of what our resort has to offer, we hope it won’t be too long before you return. The spa is an incredible place to escape to during the winter as well and it’s connected to many of our guest rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamden, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2012

The Cranwell Resort, Spa and Golf Club should be a destination you make in the very near future. The facility and amenities are excellent. The golf course is short but is well mainatained and interesting. The greens make this course very demanding.
Food and beverage were fairly priced and very good. The Mansion offers fine dining as well as a lighter fare menu for those just coming off the course or from the spa.
There is also a Tavern that offers only pub type food and beverages. We ate at both during our visit and were impressed with both. The Spa and fitness area are 5 star!
My wife and I went with 5 other couples for their Serenity weekend package. We will most assuridly be going back.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to be recently remodeled and everyone thought were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve7551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma_Probst, Public Relations Manager at Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
We appreciate all the positive comments you shared with us, especially about your golfing experience. The course was designed in 1926 by Wayne Styles and John Van Kleek when our resort was the Berkshire Hunt and Country Club. The back nine terrain and greens complexes are classic examples of their challenging designs. We will continue offering the Serenity Sunday Special throughout the coming Fall and Winter, so we hope you and your wife, along with your other friends who traveled with you, will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We traveled here on labor day weekend for a short getaway. The grounds of the resort are clean and spacious. We stayed in the mansion and had a very large room on the third floor. The rooms are very clean with all the amenities. Service at breakfast was excellent. In fact, the chef at the buffet gave us an indepth history of Tanglewood and the nearby mountains. My wife and I had massages, and the spa is excellent. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The mansion rooms are quiet and good for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travlite224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma_Probst, Public Relations Manager at Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Thanks for the great review about your recent stay at Cranwell Resort. Our buffet breakfast Chef will be delighted to know that you enjoyed your chat with him. He is very knowledgeable about the Berkshires including many of the cultural events. We’re also glad that you had a chance to relax at the spa and with over 50 treatments to choose from, you’ll have plenty to do on future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Found this resort on the internet and through great comments on tripadvisor. Stayed over the Labor day weekend mainly for the golf. Our room was in the Beechers and very convenient to the pro shop, practice green, tavern, and pool. Our room was beautiful, large and had everything we needed, especially a mini-fridge. Resort has several different types of rooms on the campus. Some are close to the tennis courts and spa. The indoor pool is magnificient, clean and perfect water temps. My son played golf and loved the course. We will plan to visit every year!

Room Tip: Beechers was very nice and close to the golf course and practice green. Other buildings on campus a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob54121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma_Probst, Public Relations Manager at Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Why wait until next year? You can practice your golf swing over the winter at our indoor golf center operated by Kay McMahon, an LPGA Hall of Fame Member. It’s just across the street in the Harvest Barn at our Meadow View Banquet facility (she also runs an instructional program at the Driving Range during the summer). Stay in one of our guest buildings connected to the spa by a glass enclosed walkway, so you can conveniently enjoy the indoor pool. Or if your family skis, you might be interested in our Berkshire Ski Package. We hope to see you next year, if not sooner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We stayed at the Cranwell for two nights and were very happy with our stay there. The grounds are beautiful and we stayed in Founder's Cottage and the rooms were nice and clean. The proximity to the spa was wonderful and I was very pleased with all the treatments I had there. The entire staff was exceptionally nice (aside from Gail at the desk who could have been nicer) and I would certainly highly recommend the resort!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joelle g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma_Probst, Public Relations Manager at Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Our grounds staff was delighted to be acknowledged for their efforts in keeping our resort looking beautiful. Thank you. We are also pleased that you found the entire staff to be exceptionally nice and noted your one concern. With the proximity of the spa connected by a glass-enclosed walkway, we hope you’ll consider returning during the winter months, which is an incredibly relaxing way to enjoy the Berkshires and the beautiful surroundings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
0.4 mi away
Blantyre
Blantyre
#5 of 16 in Lenox
5.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
4.4 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#6 of 16 in Lenox
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort

Property: Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort
Address: 55 Lee Rd, Lenox, MA 01240-2703 (Formerly Cranwell Resort, Spa & Golf Club)
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Lenox
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched high on a hilltop in Lenox, MA, Cranwell Resort, Spa and Golf Club offers spectacular views for every season. Enjoy one of the largest spas in the Northeast along with elegant accommodations, fine dining, outstanding amenities and exceptional service. Whether your visit is for a weekend getaway, business meeting or stylish wedding or event, Cranwell Resort, Spa and Golf Club offers the ultimate resort experience on 380-acres snuggled in the heart of the Berkshires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranwell Resort, Spa & Golf Club Hotel Lenox
Cranwell Resort, Spa And Golf Club
Cranwell Hotel Lenox
Cranwell Resort Lenox
Cranwell Resort Anbd Spa Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing