We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Lenox
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 12 November 2012

I loved the Cranwell - it is gracious and welcoming and very very stylish. The check-inn staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful and the concierge super efficient. We stayed in a lovely room which was huge and stocked with lovely spa products for our use. The Spa is special and the Pub at the golf course serves lovely pub food that is really affordable. The Mansion is very grand and formal, and very well suited for a special occasion. Pricey but definitely worth the spoil!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely but the rooms in the mansion are more formal than the ones in the other bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IngeJHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma_Probst, Public Relations Manager at Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

We enjoy hearing from guests who have the opportunity to experience a little of everything while here. Thanks for sharing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (841)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

552 - 558 of 841 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2012

Some girlfriends took our friend on a surprise outing there in celebration of her 50th birthday. The location is so easy to get to, yet you feel like you're miles from anything. The grounds are beautiful and peaceful. They have Sunday packages that are impossible to beat for value. Our rooms in Beecher Cottage were stunning and pristine. We did have a problem when somehow our dinner reservation for 7 went lost and we couldn't be seated for a while. While initially disappointed, we were given a round of drinks and a sumptuous appetizer platter. Our dinner was delicious and so was breakfast (the coffee cake is phenomenal). The spa is nice - the usual offerings and facilities, but well done and very clean. The indoor pool is large though and and unusual plus for lap swimmers. We felt all the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. I will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesroccario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma_Probst, Public Relations Manager at Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

Happy Belated Birthday to your girlfriend. We’re glad you were able to take advantage of our Serenity Sunday special and are very pleased to learn that the staff took good care of you. When is the next birthday in your group so can all return to celebrate at Cranwell Resort?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

My new husband and I stayed here two days after our wedding. We were traveling back to Boston after having our wedding in upstate NY, and we wanted to stay somewhere nice and quiet that was on our route back to Boston. So glad we found out about Cranwell! Friends of ours mentioned their Sunday night special deal, which was an awesome deal - just $129 for the night. When we arrived, they upgraded us to a suite since we had mentioned we just got married. What a great surprise! We loved our room - very spacious and the king size bed was incredibly comfy. We had an amazing night's sleep - the first good night's rest we'd had in weeks, thanks to the busyness of wedding planning. Cranwell's property was gorgeous, the rooms were comfortable and clean, and the staff was incredibly friendly and welcoming. We had an all-around wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cbarber15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma_Probst, Public Relations Manager at Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2012

Congratulations on your recent wedding. How wonderful that you found Cranwell to be your peaceful haven following all the festivities. Hopefully, you will return for many anniversaries to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

My friend of 35 years and I took a girlfriend trip and started it out by staying at Cranwell. First two nights were in the mansion - WOW! Second two nights were in Beechers Cottage. Both locations deserve a big thumbs up. Stunning views at both.The grounds were immaculate. Comfortable beds AND pillows. Used our spa credits with a massage and facial. Word to the wise though, if you expect to use spa credits for merchandise in the gift shop, don't. There is a difference in their brochures and what is done. One other bonus was a group of classic Jaguar car owners from the UK were there when we were. Beautiful vehicles.

Room Tip: If staying in the mansion ask for corner room of 202. Large, sunny, and a great choice. In Beecher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StoneWiegman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma_Probst, Public Relations Manager at Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

I’m so glad that you got to enjoy staying in two of our most historic buildings. Both the Mansion and Beecher’s Cottage were built in the late 1890’s. Beecher’s refers to Reverend Ward Beecher (brother of Harriet Beecher Stowe) who owned this property back in 1853. He once stood at the top of the hill where the Mansion stands today and proclaimed “From here I can see the very hills of heaven”. You saw those magnificent views that inspired him. I apologize for the confusion on the spa credit . We will be sure to clarify in our future copy that it applies to spa services only. Thanks again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Attended a conference at Cranwell. Beautiful property. Several of the buildings have no elevator. Walls turned out to be paper thin. Heard everything from the next room. Housekeeping staff was very disappointing. Took four calls, one personal visit and four hours to get our roon cleaned. Restaurant and bar staff were wonderful. The food was especially good, diverse and well prepared.

Room Tip: Make sure reservations is aware that you need an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawtraveler084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma_Probst, Public Relations Manager at Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2012

We’re pleased that you enjoyed the food during your conference. We host a substantial number of groups throughout the year and we’re proud of the consistent quality of our banquet food and service. Your other comments are also being shared with the appropriate departments so that we can continue to improve our guest services. Thanks for taking the time and bringing these details to our attention. We hope you can return for some leisure time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

My friend and I stayed here 4 nights. Two nights in the mansion and two nights in Beechers Cottage. Highly recommend either location. The mansion offered a huge living room and separate bedroom. Beechers Cottage had one large room with 2 queens and large sofa and chairs, large windows overlooking the golf course and hills. Simply lovely. Staff was always friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xctryskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma_Probst, Public Relations Manager at Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2012

Given your previous travel experience, it was nice to receive your great review. Thanks so much for sharing details of the different accommodations that we have at our resort. Looking forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

I was surprised this Resort was given so many stars. Maybe my standards are too high? It wasn't horrible but it wasn't 5 stars either. The grounds are nice enough and the people pleasant but it is very dated. It needs an overhaul. The rugs are old and dirty, the beds are very soft and uncomfortable. I looked at the mattress, it looked like it had been bought in the 90's. We ate breakfast and the coffee was outstanding but the food subpar. I had a massage and arrived 5 minutes late. The massage therapist did not give me my full 50 minutes and was abrupt. If I am going to pay for a massage and be forced to give a 20% tip, I better be treated like GOLD. I was not! They need to get rid of the mandatory tipping. Tips are given for outstanding service not just because you work at a resort. The golf course is nice, but the ones where I live are better. It also takes to about the 4th hole to start seeing a nicer view. Also, the whole time we were out there were mowers, leaf blowers, etc. going on. For a quite place it was one of the louder places I have been. I would maybe come again for a 2 night stay but it wouldn't be my top choice. It really does need to upgrade, update and at the spa the guest should be treated like gold. No 5 stars from me

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lenice2doggz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma_Probst, Public Relations Manager at Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2012

We were happy to hear that you found our staff friendly and that you may be returning in the future. We consider this an opportunity to make your next visit even more enjoyable. We certainly understand the concerns relating to the noise on the golf course, but this sometimes comes with our having to keep up with the falling leaves and end of season maintenance. However, it seemed it was overall enjoyable and with our off season rate, we hope you found it to be a good value. We were sorry to hear about your level of disappointment relating to your spa service experience. We will certainly do all we can to rectify situations such as these prior to your departure and would be happy to talk with you about this if it would not be too inconvenient to give our General Manager a call. We are continuously updating our facility, including plans for upgrades in our guest rooms for the coming year. Based on your consideration of returning we would do all we can to arrange for a room that would be more in keeping with your expectations. We believe our rating comes not only from the vast majority of our guests enjoying their overall experience but also our effort be sure we get to know our guests and show genuine concern for their individual interests. Please feel free to contact our General Manger directly prior to your next visit and he will be sure you are not disappointed with your future stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
4.7 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,092 reviews
1.3 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
1.8 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#4 of 16 in Lenox
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
0.4 mi away
Blantyre
Blantyre
#5 of 16 in Lenox
272 reviews
2.7 mi away
Courtyard Marriott Lenox Berkshires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort

Address: 55 Lee Rd, Lenox, MA 01240-2703 (Formerly Cranwell Resort, Spa & Golf Club)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Lenox
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lenox
Price Range: £126 - £342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched high on a hilltop in Lenox, MA, Cranwell Resort, Spa and Golf Club offers spectacular views for every season. Enjoy one of the largest spas in the Northeast along with elegant accommodations, fine dining, outstanding amenities and exceptional service. Whether your visit is for a weekend getaway, business meeting or stylish wedding or event, Cranwell Resort, Spa and Golf Club offers the ultimate resort experience on 380-acres snuggled in the heart of the Berkshires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranwell Resort, Spa & Golf Club Hotel Lenox
Cranwell Resort, Spa And Golf Club
Cranwell Hotel Lenox
Cranwell Resort Lenox
Cranwell Resort Anbd Spa Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing