We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Castle in the rough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Lenox
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Castle in the rough”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Staying at the Cranwell is a unique experience, as it has a tremendous amount of history and unique architecture. The golf courses are well kept and the spa is seems to be a large draw for many guests. We has breakfast, the buffet, and it was a good value.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scott f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    196
    88
    74
    38
See reviews for
166
328
25
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

There is a lot to like about Cranwell. It is conveniently located and the main house is quite pretty. The cottage rooms are generously sized and the indoor pool is awesome (and huge). On the negative side, the whole place is a bit too developed; with all the cottages on top of each other, the resort can give off a little bit of the feel of a housing development. And the food is spotty; we have had excellent meals at Sloanes and a pretty bad breakfast in the main dining room.

Overall, we liked Cranwell and recommend it to anyone looking for a nice hotel in the Berkshires at something approaching a sane price (I.e., for those who, like us, are priced out of Wheatleigh and Blantyre).

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Person3557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful experience!
Rooms were spacious and so comfortable. People were very friendly. Facilities were great and the place is very pretty.
Of note, Sandy, a manager in reservations was so helpful and friendly and was a great prelude of things to come.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daveyhaeesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

My wife and I first visited CRANWELL July 2012 as we attended several performances at Tanglewood. Awesome experience that encouraged me to come back this year (2-6 August). Everything in 2012 was great but on our return visit it became quickly apparent that something was amiss. The CRANWELL brand soaps, shampoo, conditioner, and lotions had have been replaced by some unknown brand that I would expect to see in a Dollar General store. In the spa, fitness, and rooms it is quite evident that upkeep maintenance is not being performed.

Our interactions with the staff throughout the property was excellent with the lone exception of the Mansion event staff on Sunday. I noted that the temperature setting in the Grand Board Room was set at 60 and it was cold in the room (not in use at the time nor did it appear that it was going to be used Sunday). I passed this observation onto the staff and not only did they not thank me their body language indicated that my input was not desired (they literally said nothing to me).

I still think CRANWELL is a destination that one should put on their schedule to enjoy. I just hope that feedback like mine will motivate ownership/management to evaluate their current operating policies.

Room Tip: We stayed in the the Carriage House in 2012 and the Olmstead in 2013. Carriage House is far better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rich T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl P, General Manager at Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
So glad to have you back with us and that you found the staff to be exceptional throughout the property. The concern with the one staff person would certainly standout among all the others. I'm sorry that you missed the in room soaps of the past but the upgrade was to have a product with fewer unnecessary chemical additives, making them a better product for both you and the environment. I do hope you read this response so you have an understanding that there maybe a few more changes when you return but I can assure you they are well thought out and very intentional. See you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bulverde, Texas, United States
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

My husband and I stayed here two nights. The room was in the Carriage House and it was huge. It would be perfect for a family. The grounds were immaculate and everyone was friendly and helpful. We ate at Sloane's Tavern and the Lounge and enjoyed both immensely. We received a free paper every day and loved the Keurig in our rooms. Everything is within easy walking distance on the grounds and we loved exploring.

While this place is really easy to find, during the day it's a little noisy. I was expecting more or a quiet setting but it's on a main road. Don't get me wrong, it's beautiful and lovely but you can hear cars on the highway at the entrance all day.

Room Tip: room 317 in the Carriage House is very large with two queen beds. It's perfect for a family of f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockport, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I have been to Cranwell at least 40 times in the past and the past few months there have been significant changes for the worst. It is still a beautiful resort so there are things they really cannot change overnight - like the structures and the beds. ANYTHING, it seems, they could cut back on they have - the quality and quantity of food and drink, complimentary newspapers, landscaping, complimtary soaps and shampoo. If you run a Super 8 you go the economy route...you dont do that with Cranwell and increase pricing in the meanwhile.

And even the staff is not the same. For years, every person I came in contact with had a smile and a Hello. I walked in the mansion and the doorman was glaring at me like some bouncer at a Boston nightclub...and he did this twice in 2 days. I wonder what Zagots rating is going to be the next time around...and if you havent been there before you may not notice. But many regulars - including guests and many employees are concerned as to where Cranwell is going.

Green Features: I think its a sham to save money by using cheap products and not changing linen as often.
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl P, General Manager at Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
I'm of course concerned as a return guest you are finding your experience so different from the past. I'm shocked to hear this and would be more than happy to talk with you directly if would be interested in taking the time for me to address your concerns. What you are experiencing to so out of character I would want to do all I can to ensure this simply doesn't happen in anyway that you are describing. I'm always here and always willing to help in any way that I can.

I'm hoping you are willing to give me a call so we can get things back on track for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maplewood,
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This was our first visit to Cranwell and it truly lived up to its reputation. We arrived early and our room was not ready, but the desk called my cell phone to say that the room was available earlier than we expected. We were staying in the main building and the room was very nice - typical New England setting. There is a small foyer as you enter the room with a sink, Keurig coffee pot, coffee, tea, etc. and other nice amenities. the bathroom was well appointed, very clean with fluffy towels and a magnifying mirror. Although we requested 2 double beds, we were given one king size bed which was very comfortable and had a thick comforter which was perfect for a cool evening
We ate lunch in Sloane''s restaurant at the golf course and the outdoor seating with large umbrellas was perfect. The lobster salad, turkey burger and chicken salad were all enjoyed by all. The resort is located very close to Tanglewood and.the hotel is immaculately clean, welcoming and helpful staff. It will be a pleasure to return

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanag1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
0.4 mi away
Blantyre
Blantyre
#5 of 16 in Lenox
252 reviews
1.3 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Wheatleigh
Wheatleigh
#8 of 16 in Lenox
130 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
1.8 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#4 of 16 in Lenox
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort

Property: Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort
Address: 55 Lee Rd, Lenox, MA 01240-2703 (Formerly Cranwell Resort, Spa & Golf Club)
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Lenox
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched high on a hilltop in Lenox, MA, Cranwell Resort, Spa and Golf Club offers spectacular views for every season. Enjoy one of the largest spas in the Northeast along with elegant accommodations, fine dining, outstanding amenities and exceptional service. Whether your visit is for a weekend getaway, business meeting or stylish wedding or event, Cranwell Resort, Spa and Golf Club offers the ultimate resort experience on 380-acres snuggled in the heart of the Berkshires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranwell Resort, Spa & Golf Club Hotel Lenox
Cranwell Resort, Spa And Golf Club
Cranwell Hotel Lenox
Cranwell Resort Lenox
Cranwell Resort Anbd Spa Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing