We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Lenox
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We had a nice weekend away from New York after a hard long winter. The Spa is really lovely with a big pool and nice steam room and sauna.
We had a really excellent meal at the bar and enjoyed the bartender and atmosphere.

Beware of the spa treatments. The massage was expensive to begin with and then they added an outrageous fee/tip on without permission! We were appalled.

Otherwise the place is a very nice getaway.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma_Probst, Public Relations Manager at Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Fabulous that you selected Cranwell Resort for your weekend getaway and that we delivered! We do all that we can to promote the information about our spa service fees in advance. Looking forward to you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (817)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

389 - 395 of 817 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

food and restaurant service was terrible. really terrible. not sure if it was because it's the off season or what, but definitely will not stay again. rooms were old, nothing updated, definitely not 350/night room!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank temple112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma_Probst, Public Relations Manager at Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

We’re so sorry that this was your experience. Our General Manager would be happy to talk with you as this is so out of line with what we often hear regarding our food and service. We can't determine your room location by your comments but we have multiple options and one may be more in line with your expectations. Although we are in a transition with our chef, we have not heard any disappointments such as yours. We are always improving and adjusting to our guests comments, so we’d be happy to help if you would consider contacting us directly. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

This is such a beautiful place. They have done an excellent job with the rooms and the property. I was very impressed. Beds comfortable, rooms very clean and spacious. No complaints. Restaurant was very nice, food ok. Didn't have a chance to visit the spa.

Room Tip: They have some rooms that seem to be more updated than others. We stayed in two types of rooms. Yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FlowerLife22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

The grounds and facility are amazing. Location is far enough away to feel like an oasis yet close enough to enjoy the simplicity or its surroundings. This was my first time at Cranwell and my sisters second. We both got out of it what we wanted, relaxation and a winter detox. The staff was great. We arrived early for our check in, knowing we could use the spa facilities if our room was not ready but it was so we were able to drop our bags and head to the oasis they call the spa. We both got a massage and facial. I had the 50 minute swedish massage and my sister got the warm stone massage. We compared notes after and were both highly satisfied. Every detail was great. The sauna, steam room, hot tub, amenties (towels, robes, slippers, etc). We went with one intention in mind which was to relax and this place hit it spot on!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimberly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Spent a multi-generational weekend, staying in a townhouse. Although it comes with a kitchen, the kitchen lacked so many essentials, it made everything kind of difficult (pots, but no pans, no sponge, no salt, lack of plates, etc). The pool was too cold for the adults to want to swim (kids were happy). I would not bother to write a review for these little things, except our big family dinner at the Tavern was terrible. I ordered the "spa salmon" which was just overcooked salmon with no butter or salt. I have eaten healthy low-cal spa food at other places where the food was wonderful and tasty. The meals were just not up to today's standard. The dinner also took 2.5 hrs, so long that we had the cake packed up to eat back at the townhouse. Still, we all got together, skiing was nearby and we had a good time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma_Probst, Public Relations Manager at Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

It was great that you choose Cranwell for this important family occasion and are sorry that you found some areas less than satisfactory. Apologies that there was not adequate kitchen ‘equipment’ for your needs, sounds like you were cooking up a storm. Always happy to accommodate particular needs you might have and will note this for future visits. You mentioned the food at the Tavern, but this outlet was closed during your stay. I believe your dinner was in the Mansion, where service is more aligned with a fine dining experience and can take a bit longer than our more casual dining environment that was closed for renovations. When Sloane’s does re-open in April, we will be introducing a new tavern menu with delicious new healthy salads, flat breads, and specialty burgers and will likely be more in keeping with more swift dining. We hope you’ll return – Now that we know you, I’m sure we will be easily able to fulfill your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Cranwell this past weekend. We arrived early and our room was all ready, which was a pleasant surprise. The room, in the Carriage House was very clean and bright, beds very comfortable, bathroom luxurious. We loved being in close proximity to the spa. I had an awesome massage (thanks Carissa) and enjoyed the sauna, hot tub and steam room. The fitness room and classes were great. We ate at Sloane's Tavern both nights, it was quite convenient to be able to walk to, the food was good. I was glad to see that the Tavern is getting a much needed renovation next month, it needs it. I would highly recommend the Cranwell because the staff is quite warm and helpful; the facilities are exceptionally clean and luxurious. The breakfast at the mansion was fine, but not great. Overall, the wonderful service and amenities outweigh the dated decor in the Tavern and the not so great breakfast to make it an excellent place to visit.

Room Tip: Beecher's Cottage - private, near golf, tavern and ski shop Mansion - antique charm near Wyndhu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

My mom bought my two sisters and I a weekend getaway to Cranwell Resort and Spa as a Christmas gift. Combined, the three of us have 7 children and our kid-free escape could not have come at a better time! We arrived at Cranwell around 11:00am and presumed that our room would not be ready, but stopped at the front desk to inquire about where to park. I was greeted by a man named Peter at the reception desk and he cheerfully informed me that the room was indeed ready! He also gave me a map of the resort, told me about dining options, handed me our spa itineraries and offered to help with our bags! After we dropped our luggage off, we immediately headed to the spa. We were once again greeted by a cheerful receptionist named Erin. She went over our treatments, explained our lunch options, and encouraged us to come see her if we needed anything. And, she was even able to change the time of my sisters facial so that it fit into our day better. Once we were at the spa, we enjoyed all of the amenities and enjoyed our relaxing massages, facials and pedicures. After a few hours of being pampered, we thought that the perfect way to end the day would be a chilled bottle of champagne and a snack to accompany it. We approached the spa reception just as the Spa Director Christine emerged from her office. Without a second thought, she made a quick phone call to the kitchen and was able to accommodate our request! And within minutes, we had a bottle of champagne, four glasses, and a beautiful (and delicious) fruit and cheese place. Our wonderful experience continued that evening at the Sloane Tavern for dinner and drinks, and finally commenced at the Mansion for breakfast the next morning. Our servers at both restaurants were equally accommodating and went above and beyond to seat us quickly, make us drinks that weren't on the menu, and ensure that we were enjoying ourselves. A weekend at Cranwell will leave you feeling like a queen, which is exactly what the four of us needed!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Carriage House and the rooms were very spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
4.7 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,082 reviews
1.8 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#4 of 16 in Lenox
581 reviews
1.3 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blantyre
Blantyre
#6 of 16 in Lenox
270 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
2.7 mi away
Courtyard Marriott Lenox Berkshires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort

Address: 55 Lee Rd, Lenox, MA 01240-2703 (Formerly Cranwell Resort, Spa & Golf Club)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Lenox
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lenox
Price Range: £120 - £296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched high on a hilltop in Lenox, MA, Cranwell Resort, Spa and Golf Club offers spectacular views for every season. Enjoy one of the largest spas in the Northeast along with elegant accommodations, fine dining, outstanding amenities and exceptional service. Whether your visit is for a weekend getaway, business meeting or stylish wedding or event, Cranwell Resort, Spa and Golf Club offers the ultimate resort experience on 380-acres snuggled in the heart of the Berkshires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranwell Resort, Spa & Golf Club Hotel Lenox
Cranwell Resort, Spa And Golf Club
Cranwell Hotel Lenox
Cranwell Resort Lenox
Cranwell Resort Anbd Spa Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing