We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Lenox
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Grounds were lovely but rooms are in dire need of remodel, room smelled musty and included college refrigerator as a wet bar. Should have stayed at a clean chain hotel at half the price. I've seen the hotel management respond to other displeased patron's. Please don't insult me or my review by responding and saying I should have complained and asked to move. The room was what it was and at over $500 a night, it room should have been in better shape.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrs M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma_Probst, Public Relations Manager at Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
I’m sorry that you were disappointed with your room accommodations. This is an area of priority for us and we continue our efforts to remodel and upgrade our rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    193
    82
    71
    36
See reviews for
159
320
24
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We went to Lenox for a Tanglewood Concert which is very near. The room turned out to be a very comfortable suite in the estate building. The spa was wonderful. The pool well kept, the golf course well maintained and the spa nice. A place with all the amenities to make your stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the mansion
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We've been to the Cranwell quite a few times and it never disappoints. We love it's location and large grounds! The staff is very friendly & super accommodating without feeling stuffy. It's the only place to stay in lenox for a w/e getaway. So many amenities! And close to restaurants and outdoor activities. Especially if you golf! I love the fact that the resort is spread out. Makes you really appreciate the Berkshire outdoors.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meptravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenox, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

I just visited Cranwell Salon and received a moroccan pedicure . It was a great experience and my toes came out great ! I had Manny and I would recommend him highly! He picked out my color for me and it was perfect . Back in January I visited Cranwell and received a facial from hell so I was excited to learn that in September Manny will be doing Facials I might have to give it another go ! I would recommend the salon but I think the actual spa it's self needs a lot more love and attention !

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I just spent two nights at the Cranwell with two of my close friends. The rooms were spacious and clean as well as comfortable. The facilities were equally clean and very well maintained. The spa was first rate and easily accessible from the Carriage House, where we stayed. The staff was largely helpful and all were friendly. We had an amazing trip and are already planning a return trip.

Room Tip: Rooms in the carriage house are newer and well maintained.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston, VA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Having only visited the Lenox area in the winter, I was not prepared for the intense beauty of the area. The green is like no other ever experienced. It was enchanting. Our stay at Cranwell Resort and Spa offered us two days of perfect weather, museums and accommodations . The staff at the resort was uniformly gracious, helpful and professional. Because of time constraints, I was only able to fit in a Restorative Yoga class and a deep-tissue massage -both were superb. I would definitely avoid the dining room. Our dinner started with a dreadful soup and just got worse as the meal progressed. I think the chef needs to get the basics under control before experimenting.

Room Tip: We had a first-floor room facing the golf course and couldn't have been happier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Booklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I stayed at the Cranwell last weekend and had a lovely stay. The grounds were beautiful and the services were great. However, the fitness classes were subpar and the rooms could use renovation. My biggest qualm was their lack of hospitality to their guests. I got the moroccan body scrub treatment and was asked to remove my necklace before the treatment. The treatment was excellent, but after I got home that evening I realized I had forgotten my necklace at the Spa. I called the Cranwell, and they said they could ship it to me for $9.80. I understand that it is technically my responsibility to remember my belongings, but you would think the staff would remind you about the expensive jewelry they had you remove, or that they could show some hospitality and send my necklace free of charge. Apparently, after you have paid they no longer care about your business. I was thoroughly disappointed and was left with a bad taste in my mouth.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Hannah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma_Probst, Public Relations Manager at Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
We’re so glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and spa treatment. During these services, we always encourage guests to remove jewelry as a protective measure. When property is left behind, we do everything possible to locate it and it’s great to know that your necklace was returned to you safely. We would be happy to reimburse the $9.80 shipping cost. Please contact me and I'll arrange a refund. Thanks and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
0.4 mi away
Blantyre
Blantyre
#5 of 16 in Lenox
247 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
994 reviews
1.3 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
7.9 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
413 reviews
1.9 mi away
Wheatleigh
Wheatleigh
#8 of 16 in Lenox
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort

Property: Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort
Address: 55 Lee Rd, Lenox, MA 01240-2703 (Formerly Cranwell Resort, Spa & Golf Club)
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Lenox
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched high on a hilltop in Lenox, MA, Cranwell Resort, Spa and Golf Club offers spectacular views for every season. Enjoy one of the largest spas in the Northeast along with elegant accommodations, fine dining, outstanding amenities and exceptional service. Whether your visit is for a weekend getaway, business meeting or stylish wedding or event, Cranwell Resort, Spa and Golf Club offers the ultimate resort experience on 380-acres snuggled in the heart of the Berkshires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranwell Resort, Spa & Golf Club Hotel Lenox
Cranwell Resort, Spa And Golf Club
Cranwell Hotel Lenox
Cranwell Resort Lenox
Cranwell Resort Anbd Spa Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing