We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Lenox
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We just stayed for one night on our trip around New England. The hotel was good and we stayed in the modern annex. We looked around the facilities that the hotel had to offer, but due to only staying one night we did not try them. Enjoyed walking and sitting in the grounds..

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (804)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

349 - 355 of 804 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

I spent 4 days at the Cranwell in early July as part of a family gathering. The new rooms at the Carriage House were comfortable and well appointed. The spa and fitness facility is excellent. Fantastic indoor pool with large windows and huge space. The grounds are just lovely - a perfect setting for a group gathering. Food service for breakfast and lunch (at tavern) not up to par with the rest of the resort. But overall, a very nice property.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aurelius64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The Cranwell is a beautiful property that was once a boarding school for boys. We stayed in the Beecher Cottage and it felt exactly like a boarding school or college dorm--kind of musty, dated, and tired, but still clean and pleasant. This is an affordable option during shoulder seasons in a really expensive region, and if your rate is a fair one, it's really not that bad. Rooms, though, would tend to send you out to golf or play tennis. Oddly, on a beautiful property there were virtually no spots to sit in a comfortable chair outside, to relax and enjoy being in the country.

Staff here are professional and efficient, and the place itself is really beautiful. Knowing the boarding school back story will help you put the dormitory room and the campus feel of the property into perspective.

Room Tip: It might be helpful to call to select a room that would meet your expectations and needs. There are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Landonsholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma_Probst, Public Relations Manager at Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

We appreciate your taking the time to write a review. One of the highlights of Cranwell Resort is the setting and our guests tell us how much they enjoy the outdoors while here. We have about 20 Adirondack chairs situated throughout the property including outside the Pro Shop and the front side of Beechers near the practice greens. In addition there are chairs on the front porch of Beechers and a gazebo with a sitting area by the tennis courts. There is also the Rose Terrace at the Mansion which offers magnificent views of the surrounding hills and where you can sit for breakfast, drinks or dinner. Thanks again for your time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Outstanding resort and most accomodating and friendly.Great reception staff especially Peter and entire staff gail,david and all without exception.Excellent fitness center,indoor pool and spa.>i have stayed at resort numerous times and have never bee disappointed.

Room Tip: rooms not facing aparking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank ken g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma_Probst, Public Relations Manager at Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

So nice to receive your review and read the wonderful comments about your experience here. Lovely to hear from our many repeat guests. Please come visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Grounds were lovely but rooms are in dire need of remodel, room smelled musty and included college refrigerator as a wet bar. Should have stayed at a clean chain hotel at half the price. I've seen the hotel management respond to other displeased patron's. Please don't insult me or my review by responding and saying I should have complained and asked to move. The room was what it was and at over $500 a night, it room should have been in better shape.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Mrs M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma_Probst, Public Relations Manager at Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

I’m sorry that you were disappointed with your room accommodations. This is an area of priority for us and we continue our efforts to remodel and upgrade our rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We went to Lenox for a Tanglewood Concert which is very near. The room turned out to be a very comfortable suite in the estate building. The spa was wonderful. The pool well kept, the golf course well maintained and the spa nice. A place with all the amenities to make your stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the mansion
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We've been to the Cranwell quite a few times and it never disappoints. We love it's location and large grounds! The staff is very friendly & super accommodating without feeling stuffy. It's the only place to stay in lenox for a w/e getaway. So many amenities! And close to restaurants and outdoor activities. Especially if you golf! I love the fact that the resort is spread out. Makes you really appreciate the Berkshire outdoors.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meptravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
0.4 mi away
Blantyre
Blantyre
#6 of 16 in Lenox
264 reviews
1.3 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#3 of 16 in Lenox
573 reviews
2.7 mi away
Courtyard Marriott Lenox Berkshires
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort

Address: 55 Lee Rd, Lenox, MA 01240-2703 (Formerly Cranwell Resort, Spa & Golf Club)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Lenox
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lenox
Price Range: £159 - £382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched high on a hilltop in Lenox, MA, Cranwell Resort, Spa and Golf Club offers spectacular views for every season. Enjoy one of the largest spas in the Northeast along with elegant accommodations, fine dining, outstanding amenities and exceptional service. Whether your visit is for a weekend getaway, business meeting or stylish wedding or event, Cranwell Resort, Spa and Golf Club offers the ultimate resort experience on 380-acres snuggled in the heart of the Berkshires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranwell Resort, Spa & Golf Club Hotel Lenox
Cranwell Resort, Spa And Golf Club
Cranwell Hotel Lenox
Cranwell Resort Lenox
Cranwell Resort Anbd Spa Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing