We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nightmare experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Lenox
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Glenville, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nightmare experience”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Attention guests, especially those traveling with children:

Whether one is staying at a fine resort or a roadside motel, the most basic expectation is that the lodging is safe and is properly outfitted with an operational fire alarm system. Cranwell failed us and many other guests in this regard and responded with a chaotic and utterly unreasonable response to a crisis.

Our stay at Cranwell was cut short due to a nightmare experience. During our second day at the resort, we noticed that the fire alarm panel in our building was beeping and displaying a message indicating that there was trouble with the system. We called the front desk and was told that it would be looked at by maintenance. Later in the day, upon returning to our building, we witnessed the panel in the same state. Calling the front desk again, we were assured that the problem would be addressed. That night, someone (I’m not sure if it was an employee or guest) woke my family and me up by frantically banging on our door and announcing that there was fire and smoke in the building. This frightened us greatly, to say the least, and we exited the building. No alarms were sounding as the alarm system did not work.

After retreating to the lawn to watch the firefighters, for whom we were very thankful,
do their work, we were given no direction, reassurance, or notice of any kind from the staff (save one employee who desperately tried to find a home for a lost copy of The Kite Runner). It would have been nice if the staff could have at least checked on us and asked us to congregate in the lobby or another comfortable location. Or . . . something. Much, much later, we were asked to meet in the lobby for new accommodations at another resort. After relocating the other displaced guests, we were not offered equal accommodations due to the fact that we were traveling with children. The organization and customer service that followed this very scary experience showed that Cranwell has no contingency plan for a safety issue and no sympathy for its guests or the order or manner in which they should be acknowledged. Treated rudely and as second-class guests, we garnered the support of other guests but not the staff or general manager. We couldn’t return to our room, obviously, as our building was deemed unsafe for the foreseeable near future, were not offered a reasonable alternative and equal accommodation after waiting our turn, and wound up driving home at midnight in a state of utter distress.

I hope this helps paint a picture of the resort and its lack of basic safety and customer concerns. This is not a review of the grounds or amenities but perhaps shows an aspect of lodging that we often take for granted but shouldn’t.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
11 Thank Mike Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl P, General Manager at Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
In mid July a severe thunder and lightning storm system came through central Berkshire County and one particular building was directly impacted by the storm. The alarm system effectively activated the emergency response system and our staff responded immediately along with the Lenox Fire Department ensuring an effective evacuation with no injuries of any kind to any individual.
It was determined the alarm did not sound due to the lighting storm that impacted the alarm system which is also believed to cause a small burst of flames in a single guest room. The 'trouble alarm' was being monitored up to the time of the storm but was not the cause of the alarm not sounding. Following this incident, extensive review of the system repairs was completed by both the local fire department as well as outside authorities certifying the system effective and the building safe for occupancy.
Beyond the most important aspect of safety, alternative accommodations were arranged for each and every individual guest with the exception of this individual family. Following multiple offers to make alternative arrangements they decided they would prefer to return home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    195
    84
    74
    38
See reviews for
162
326
25
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We just stayed for one night on our trip around New England. The hotel was good and we stayed in the modern annex. We looked around the facilities that the hotel had to offer, but due to only staying one night we did not try them. Enjoyed walking and sitting in the grounds..

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I spent 4 days at the Cranwell in early July as part of a family gathering. The new rooms at the Carriage House were comfortable and well appointed. The spa and fitness facility is excellent. Fantastic indoor pool with large windows and huge space. The grounds are just lovely - a perfect setting for a group gathering. Food service for breakfast and lunch (at tavern) not up to par with the rest of the resort. But overall, a very nice property.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aurelius64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The Cranwell is a beautiful property that was once a boarding school for boys. We stayed in the Beecher Cottage and it felt exactly like a boarding school or college dorm--kind of musty, dated, and tired, but still clean and pleasant. This is an affordable option during shoulder seasons in a really expensive region, and if your rate is a fair one, it's really not that bad. Rooms, though, would tend to send you out to golf or play tennis. Oddly, on a beautiful property there were virtually no spots to sit in a comfortable chair outside, to relax and enjoy being in the country.

Staff here are professional and efficient, and the place itself is really beautiful. Knowing the boarding school back story will help you put the dormitory room and the campus feel of the property into perspective.

Room Tip: It might be helpful to call to select a room that would meet your expectations and needs. There are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Landonsholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma_Probst, Public Relations Manager at Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
We appreciate your taking the time to write a review. One of the highlights of Cranwell Resort is the setting and our guests tell us how much they enjoy the outdoors while here. We have about 20 Adirondack chairs situated throughout the property including outside the Pro Shop and the front side of Beechers near the practice greens. In addition there are chairs on the front porch of Beechers and a gazebo with a sitting area by the tennis courts. There is also the Rose Terrace at the Mansion which offers magnificent views of the surrounding hills and where you can sit for breakfast, drinks or dinner. Thanks again for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monsey, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Outstanding resort and most accomodating and friendly.Great reception staff especially Peter and entire staff gail,david and all without exception.Excellent fitness center,indoor pool and spa.>i have stayed at resort numerous times and have never bee disappointed.

Room Tip: rooms not facing aparking lot
See more room tips
Green Features: appears to be enviromentally friendly.Signs in rooms urge you to conserve in any way possible
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ken g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma_Probst, Public Relations Manager at Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
So nice to receive your review and read the wonderful comments about your experience here. Lovely to hear from our many repeat guests. Please come visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Grounds were lovely but rooms are in dire need of remodel, room smelled musty and included college refrigerator as a wet bar. Should have stayed at a clean chain hotel at half the price. I've seen the hotel management respond to other displeased patron's. Please don't insult me or my review by responding and saying I should have complained and asked to move. The room was what it was and at over $500 a night, it room should have been in better shape.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrs M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma_Probst, Public Relations Manager at Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
I’m sorry that you were disappointed with your room accommodations. This is an area of priority for us and we continue our efforts to remodel and upgrade our rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We went to Lenox for a Tanglewood Concert which is very near. The room turned out to be a very comfortable suite in the estate building. The spa was wonderful. The pool well kept, the golf course well maintained and the spa nice. A place with all the amenities to make your stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the mansion
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
0.4 mi away
Blantyre
Blantyre
#5 of 16 in Lenox
249 reviews
1.3 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
1.8 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#4 of 16 in Lenox
555 reviews
1.9 mi away
Wheatleigh
Wheatleigh
#8 of 16 in Lenox
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort

Property: Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort
Address: 55 Lee Rd, Lenox, MA 01240-2703 (Formerly Cranwell Resort, Spa & Golf Club)
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Lenox
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched high on a hilltop in Lenox, MA, Cranwell Resort, Spa and Golf Club offers spectacular views for every season. Enjoy one of the largest spas in the Northeast along with elegant accommodations, fine dining, outstanding amenities and exceptional service. Whether your visit is for a weekend getaway, business meeting or stylish wedding or event, Cranwell Resort, Spa and Golf Club offers the ultimate resort experience on 380-acres snuggled in the heart of the Berkshires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranwell Resort, Spa & Golf Club Hotel Lenox
Cranwell Resort, Spa And Golf Club
Cranwell Hotel Lenox
Cranwell Resort Lenox
Cranwell Resort Anbd Spa Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing