We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Family Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Lenox
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tenafly, New Jersey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best Family Resort”
Reviewed 23 February 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Cranwell 8 years ago before we had kids and had a great time. We were a little concerned to return with our 2 children (8 and 19 mos.) based on the formality of the resort and the bad reviews on this site.

However, we were thrilled with our experience, and cannot understand the low ratings given to this property which is one of the best within 3 hours of NYC. We stayed in a two room suite (which most of the rooms outside the main house/castle are) in the Olmstead building and had plenty of room.

The suite had a large bedroom with king size bed and TV, a hallway with sink and refrigerator and a living room with queen size sleeper, TV and room for another bed/crib. Our 8 yr old son slept on sleeper and the baby in a Pack and Play with plenty of room for both. The bathroom was clean, good size and stocked with plenty of high-end products.

The front desk staff , valets and concierge were helpful and there was always a roaring fire in the lobby. Since our last visit, they installed a large, indoor pool, an extensive spa (where my wife had 2 great massages) and indoor, heated hallways connecting most areas. They even provided complimentary shuttle service throughout the resort.

We ate breakfast in the Music Room which consisted of an expansive buffet with a fresh egg station for $17.95 per adult. Even though we had a toddler, the staff went out of their way to be helpful and nothing was a problem for them. They had plenty of highchairs and booster seats and were happy to accomodate any request. We also ate dinner there one night and it was fantastic. The restaurant is one of the best in the Berkshires.

Other than the fact that it is expensive ($345 per night), there was nothing not to like about the hotel. We are looking forward to returning next year.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank DShluf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    192
    81
    71
    36
See reviews for
158
318
23
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
boston, ma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2007

I was definitely expecting much much more from my first visit to the Berkshires. The drive was easy and beautiful...I can only imagine with the foliage how gorgeous things would be in the fall. Thinking I was going to getaway to a quaint, 4 star, "best spa resort in massachusetts" It was so incredibly disappointing from the minute I set foot on the property.
1) the service was terrible-the front desk not helpful
2) the grounds-very confusing/not well kept up
3) the spa- pool is like any hotel pool...nothing special, the "quiet area" was sooo loud and not relaxing. massages were decent but well overpriced for the property.
4) the rooms- small, the comforters/blankets were equivalent to a days inn, the tub was dirty/small/old-no relaxing bath for me, i had a great view of the parking lot and my car :)
5) i didn't even try the food as "room service": ended at 9pm-there were no menus in the room for the restaurants on site. i asked for them but they never brought them up.

I would never return there again...NOT even for the golf

  • Liked — that they allowed pets!
  • Disliked — room
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank drgolfmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2007

I read the negative reviews right before visiting Cranwell for the first time in three years. We went last night and got the Sunday night 1/2 price deal. Arrived at 2 and our room was not ready (check in is at 3:30 but my husband had a massage booked at 3). After initial irritation at the implacable person behind the desk, we went to the spa. As good as their word, they brought our luggage to our room, brought the key card to the spa, and called on our cell phone to tell us the room was ready. The spa folks took care of a problem we had with delicacy and good will. As a matter of fact, we found that the staff were unfailingly pleasant and helpful, right down to the waiters and waitresses at the main building. Our room was much better than we expected: a suite with two bathrooms, two televisions, a refrigerator, and a giant tub, along with a porch. Really quiet, pleasant, and large. Our dinner at the main building was overpriced, but the food was good. Breakfast was charming, with Bach playing softly and grand views of the mountains. My husband and I are pretty critical folks, but we (and our 15 year old daughter) all loved Cranwell.

  • Liked — Span connects to most rooms; in the winter this is wonderful
  • Disliked — Restaurant too expensive
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Senoritagringa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2006

A term that is used most often in these reviews are overrated. But this term holds true for this resort. I agree with the posting from May 2006 that this more of a motel than hotel. The rooms are not as they are described on Cranwells website. We paid $375 for a room with a view of the parking lot.

Staff never asked how our stay was and the restaurant was below average. I would have rather spent more and stayed down the road at the Blantyre.

  • Tips/Secrets — If you stay there get specific information about your room
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank KatonahTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2006

This month we had our wedding at the Cranwell. The staff was beyond fabulous. They made sure we had everything we needed to ensure that our day was perfect. Before the wedding we communicated with them constantly and they met our needs and surpassed them. We had many different menu ideas and they worked with us and followed through on everything. The event staff Samantha, Chris and Kevin were with us throughout the entire weekend. Everything went smoothly from our golf tournament, welcome dinner in the golf school, wedding celebration and farewell brunch. IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR A PLACE TO GET MARRIED THAT SURPASSES PERFECTION THEN THE CRANWELL IS THE PLACE....

  • Liked — The staff was helpful and accessible at all times....
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nyeastsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
138 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2006

My husband and I spent this past Saturday night at Cranwell. His firm held their summer offsite there on Sunday/Monday and we tagged a night on to the beginning in order to attend a nearby party.

We were favorably impressed with Cranwell from the moment we drove up. The Mansion is quite imposing as you drive north on Route 20. Front desk staff was very friendly and efficient. We had a room in the Founders Cottage. It was quite large and included a separate area with an additional bar-type sink, fridge and coffeemaker. Bathroom was quite large with two sinks and a Jacuzzi tub. Very clean all around. And we had a private patio. Rooms were very quiet--although banging doors woke us at 8:30 a.m. (much later than we usually sleep!).

We had a drink at Sloane Tavern at the golf course which was quite nice. Unfortunately, I fell on the walk back (really, I only had one drink!) and really gashed my knee/leg. The front desk was extremely accommodating and quickly sent over bandaids and antiseptic lotion for my cut.

We enjoyed our breakfast the following morning in the Mansion--lovely setting and food delicious. And then took a long walk outside the property.

We would definitely return and would consider bringing our children. Nice health club and indoor pool. Didn't try the spa services.

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ccrosner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
0.4 mi away
Blantyre
Blantyre
#5 of 16 in Lenox
5.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
4.4 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#6 of 16 in Lenox
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort

Property: Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort
Address: 55 Lee Rd, Lenox, MA 01240-2703 (Formerly Cranwell Resort, Spa & Golf Club)
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Lenox
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched high on a hilltop in Lenox, MA, Cranwell Resort, Spa and Golf Club offers spectacular views for every season. Enjoy one of the largest spas in the Northeast along with elegant accommodations, fine dining, outstanding amenities and exceptional service. Whether your visit is for a weekend getaway, business meeting or stylish wedding or event, Cranwell Resort, Spa and Golf Club offers the ultimate resort experience on 380-acres snuggled in the heart of the Berkshires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranwell Resort, Spa & Golf Club Hotel Lenox
Cranwell Resort, Spa And Golf Club
Cranwell Hotel Lenox
Cranwell Resort Lenox
Cranwell Resort Anbd Spa Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing