We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walls couldn't get any thinner...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Lenox
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 30 October 2010

My husband and I couldn't wait to book a weekend here....Once we found the time to get away, here we were. At first glance it's quite beautiful, the grounds really are nice and the view is lovely. Now the rooms, my goodness the walls are beyond thin. The room next to us had two different couples stay there over a couple of days and we heard every conversation and every loving moan and groan, it was unbearable....It was like we were all roommates sharing a room. I was also highly disappointed in the service at the front desk, at check out there wasn't a single smile, a "how was your stay" or anything half-way friendly. We love the Berkshires and are returning once again for New Year's...this time at a lovely B&B. I just simply can't recommend this place.

Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mrs-marthasvineyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CranwellMktg, Marketing Manager at Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2010

We appreciate you taking the time to give us this feedback. We're so pleased you enjoyed the grounds and views during your stay but are sorry to hear you were not satisfied with your accommodations or the service at the Front Desk. We are constantly updating our guest rooms and will take your comments into consideration for future renovations. Our Front Office Manager will investigate the service issues you described and provide any necessary training. However, it will be difficult to identify specific employees on duty during your stay, given that you visited us back in April 2010 and did not report these issues sooner. We do hope to welcome you back to Cranwell in the future and hope you enjoy your next stay in the beautiful Berkshires.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (843)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

722 - 728 of 843 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2010

We just stayed at the Cranwell for the weekend and I was disappointed by the lack of service provided. We stayed in the manision and there was never anyone around to greet us or for us to ask about things to do. I had tried calling the cioncierge prior to our stay & could never get through to that person. Finally, left a message two days prior to our stay asking them to call me back with ideas of things to do, never rec'd a call back. The spa was so-so, have used the spas at the Mohonk Mountain House Spa & the Norwich Inn, found them both better than this spa. I would not recommend this resort or spa, not worth the money you have to spend to stay there and the small amount of staff that is there needs a BIG lesson in customer service, they are not friendly or service oriented.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CranwellMktg, Marketing Manager at Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2010

Thank you for sharing your comments. We are sorry the service you experienced did not meet your expectations. We pride ourselves on providing exemplary service - the kind that has garnered us numerous awards and accolades - and have investigated the issues you describe. Our Concierge records all correspondence with guests by logging each call or email in a detailed register. She returns each and every call promptly and cannot find any record of a call not returned. We do hope you will give us another opportunity to demonstrate our award-winning hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2010

This resort has several styles of accommodations which are remarkably different in class: (a) the rooms in the Founders are quite excellent, (b) the rooms in the main lodge and other lodges are ok if you like b&b styling (I live in an old house, so b&b is not amusing for me), (c) the cottages which provide kitchen, living room, and bedrooms. The latter are tawdry - in need of dramatic repair/makeover. They are beaten up by visitors and age and show it. The wood is rotted, the carpets dirty (don't put your kids on the floor), the kitchen rather sad. The cottages host several units in one building. The common door for the unit banged all night, shaking the structure. And the internet connection kept dropping in the room. Enough said. Tear them down and start over.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DonJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CranwellMktg, Marketing Manager at Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2010

Thank you for taking the time to provide your insights on your visit to our resort. We are glad you liked the accommodations in Founders and the Mansion but are sorry to hear you were not satisfied with the Resort Cottages. We are constantly updating our guest rooms and will be renovating the Cottages this winter/spring. We immediately investigated the wireless Internet signal and found it was completely functional. If you allow us the privilege of again welcoming you to Cranwell we would be happy to suggest the best accommodation on property to suit your individual needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2010

Just perfect. Indian Summer. Perfect Hotel, Perfect Golf Course, very kind people

Stayed: October 2010
Thank Luis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2010

Yikes,

I happen to read all the negative reviews on Cranwell and figured I had to respond. We have stayed there several times and haven't experienced the cleanliness issues etc others have commented on. I do agree the food can sometimes be marginal and with someones comment the massages are too light on pressure and not very benefical. Over all its a wonderful place and location to relax. The Spa is very quite and relaxing and the staff are very friendly. We will be back there in a couple of weeks and can't wait!

The Rutters

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruzzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2010

Having read the disparate reviews we booked this hotel with trepidation. We had driven by it in July and were impressed with its looks, so we took a chance and booked it for one night. Surprise, surprise, we liked this place, a lot. The room (#144 in the Beeches building) was spacious and clean with a large bathroom and a private porch. Management provided bottled water and AVEDA (my favorite brand) bathroom amenities. The TV was state of the art and included premium channels. The staff was very helpful and friendly.
We ate at the casual restaurant for dinner and had good food and service. Breakfast at The Mansion was very good and would have had an excellent rating from me if the orange juice had been freshly squeezed and the plates for the eggs had been pre-heated.
The spa is brand new and has a beautiful indoor pool and state of the art fitness equipment. We did not play golf, but noted that the fairways looked in good shape and there must be lovely views of the surrounding mountains from many holes.
Cranwell was a pleasant experience and we recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maven2929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2010

The Cranwell Mansion and surrounding lodgings on site had spacious rooms,the golf course was challenging ,the spa service was great ,also pool,jacuzzi and sauna,and tennis was also available .The dining room at the mansion was a very good experience; with beautiful views of the Berkshire mountains.The leaves on trees have just begun to change to the colorful orange and yellow; in this area of the Berkshires.Very relaxing stay and would return in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guilderland23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
4.7 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,093 reviews
1.3 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
1.8 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#4 of 16 in Lenox
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
0.4 mi away
Blantyre
Blantyre
#6 of 16 in Lenox
272 reviews
2.7 mi away
Courtyard Marriott Lenox Berkshires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort

Address: 55 Lee Rd, Lenox, MA 01240-2703 (Formerly Cranwell Resort, Spa & Golf Club)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Lenox
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lenox
Price Range: £126 - £351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched high on a hilltop in Lenox, MA, Cranwell Resort, Spa and Golf Club offers spectacular views for every season. Enjoy one of the largest spas in the Northeast along with elegant accommodations, fine dining, outstanding amenities and exceptional service. Whether your visit is for a weekend getaway, business meeting or stylish wedding or event, Cranwell Resort, Spa and Golf Club offers the ultimate resort experience on 380-acres snuggled in the heart of the Berkshires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranwell Resort, Spa & Golf Club Hotel Lenox
Cranwell Resort, Spa And Golf Club
Cranwell Hotel Lenox
Cranwell Resort Lenox
Cranwell Resort Anbd Spa Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing