We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful weekend escape in the Berkshires”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Lenox
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“wonderful weekend escape in the Berkshires”
Reviewed 7 February 2011

I've been coming here with friends for the last few years for a girls weekend getaway. We always have such a positive experience at Cranwell. The spa is wonderful - a great selection of treatments, very nice amenities and a super-relaxing "quiet room." This past year I happened to have the best massage I EVER had, anywhere. The rooms are very spacious (we always ask for and get connecting rooms, which is great) and the beds are super comfy. The staff has always been friendly and courteous. I would definitely recommend Cranwell for a wonderful weekend escape.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhisson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    194
    84
    74
    38
See reviews for
162
326
24
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2011

We have now stayed at Cranwell five times during the past year. Each time we are more impressed with the rooms, the staff and the overall resort.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barnstablerw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2011

We just got back from a one night/two day stay at Cranwell. I live in Manhattan and was a bit hesitant about the trip. I was afraid it would be very run down, old-lady Inn and not nice enough. I really wanted to book Weatleigh Inn or Blantyre but didn't want to spend that for a week night during the winter.

Well Cranwell was perfect. It is an old mansion that felt so amazing on a snowy night. Roaring fires in just about every room, a real old mansion style and feel. Our room was beautiful and the decor really lovely. No flowery curtains in sight! We stayed in the bridal suite. It was about 750 sq. ft. and had sweeping views of the Berkshire mountains. We had dinner at Wyndhurst Restaurant and the food and wine were both outstanding. I was pleasantly surprised. Breakfast was equally delicious. I saved the best for last - the spa! This spa is just beautiful. Voted one of the best on the East Coast. It's huge and very clean. It rivals The Golden Door and The Breakers spa - really it does. I've been to both. We swam in the giant indoor pool (they have an outdoor pool too), sat in the hot tub and quiet room (both have fireplaces) and took in a sauna. It all felt so lovely.

I would absolutely go back to Cranwell - it's very romantic.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nyctravelmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosmont, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
514 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2011

We spent four nights here to do some winter sports locally over New Year. For reasons unexplained, we were put in the rooms in the town houses that were further than other rooms from the resort facilities, when we understood, based upon our booking, that we were to be in one of the main buildings. For the resort to say it is at their discretion was not good customer care.

The phone and internet did not work for the first 24hrs, and there was no hot water on the first morning. Having said that the room was excellent, as were the facilities, although to advertise that ski lessons were available, when they had not been for two years was not helpful

Probably the biggest niggle was that we were English, and so drank tea not coffee, but everytime we used the room tea cartons, they were replaced next day with more coffee, until at the end there was no tea just coffee

Breakfast was a real treat

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cwyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2010

Stayed during the week of Christmas. The hotel property (e.g. there are a number of buildings) is very nice, but you really come here for the spa. The spa is reasonably priced with very attentive spa staff. The hotel is also 10 min from a mountain where my daughter and I went skiing and snow tubing and my wife did spa on those days so all were happy.

The mansion and eatery overlooking the golf course were very convenient and staffed well over the holidays. I will certainly be back.

Only minor note is that we booked a mansion stay, but were later advised that no children under teenage were permitted, but I did see guests with young children at the mansion, which was strange. Note that is turned out to be a good thing as the mansion is not connected to the spa (e.g. you need to go outside if in the spa where the other buildings are connected, nice in the wintertime).

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LongIslandJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2010

We stayed here in May 2010 as a long-weekend "baby moon" getaway from Boston. It was a pleasant drive, and the grounds of the Cranwell are beautiful. May is still technically off-season in the Berkshires, so it was very quiet with not too many folks staying at the resort. My husband golfed all weekend, while I enjoyed the fabulous spa and indoor pool (outdoor pool was not open yet). We went into Lenox town most nights for dinner, but did have lunch at the tavern once and ate in the main dining room on our last night - service was spotty at both, though the food was very good. The room we stayed in was in the main building and was very large and nicely appointed. All in all, a great long-weekend getaway. Note that they do not allow anyone under the age of 12 at the resort!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonMAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CranwellMktg, Marketing Manager at Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 16 December 2010
Thank you for your comments. We're so pleased you enjoyed your "babymoon" with us. While the spa core and Fitness Center are restricted to guests aged 14 and older, we welcome children of all ages to our resort. Our spa's 60-foot heated indoor pool is especially popular with kids and Sloane's Tavern is perfect for family-friendly dining year-round. We look forward to hosting your next visit to the Berkshires and hope you will bring the whole family along.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2010

A beautiful resort to relax, dine, work out, golf, or be pampered at the spa. A wonderful get away for couples who need some time to focus on relaxing and enjoying some quality time together. You don't even need to leave the premises for anything. We enjoy using the Lee Shopping Outlets for starting our holiday shopping before or after our stay at the resort.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vamaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
0.4 mi away
Blantyre
Blantyre
#5 of 16 in Lenox
249 reviews
1.3 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
1.8 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#4 of 16 in Lenox
555 reviews
1.9 mi away
Wheatleigh
Wheatleigh
#8 of 16 in Lenox
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort

Property: Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort
Address: 55 Lee Rd, Lenox, MA 01240-2703 (Formerly Cranwell Resort, Spa & Golf Club)
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Lenox
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched high on a hilltop in Lenox, MA, Cranwell Resort, Spa and Golf Club offers spectacular views for every season. Enjoy one of the largest spas in the Northeast along with elegant accommodations, fine dining, outstanding amenities and exceptional service. Whether your visit is for a weekend getaway, business meeting or stylish wedding or event, Cranwell Resort, Spa and Golf Club offers the ultimate resort experience on 380-acres snuggled in the heart of the Berkshires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranwell Resort, Spa & Golf Club Hotel Lenox
Cranwell Resort, Spa And Golf Club
Cranwell Hotel Lenox
Cranwell Resort Lenox
Cranwell Resort Anbd Spa Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing