We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be warned: Nasty to visitors.”
Review of Wheatleigh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wheatleigh
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Lenox
Certificate of Excellence
New York City
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Be warned: Nasty to visitors.”
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We wanted to bring house guests to visit Wheatleigh for drinks on our way to Tanglewood. After calling the prior day, specifying the time of our visit and being assured of welcoming hospitality, we were coldly informed by a uniformed doorman that we should wait while he checked with the restaurant manager. A few minutes later, he returned to tell us that, "No one is available to serve us" and, "Sorry, but you must leave." You can imagine how embarrassed we were to be rudely turned away in front of friends -- especially when a couple seated nearby was enjoying drinks served by a waitress. Avoid this snooty place at all costs. Go to Blantyre or Cranwell.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
12 Thank IntrepidTravelerNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    8
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
12
75
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Parkland, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2011

My husband and I have traveled the world and styed at the best hotel. 4 Season Paris, Rits Carlton Centrail Park, One and Only, ETC ETC. This hotel was by far the nicest, finest service, most luxurious stay ever. We stayed in the Terrace Suite and yes it was expensive, but wow it was spectacular. If you ever get a chnace do stay here.. it is a fantastic, wothwhole experience!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmsmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2010

I literally set up an account to write this review. I am overwhelmed by the friendliness, cleanliness, kindness, and hospitality of the hotel. This is basically what happened to us:

1) We visited the hotel to get acquainted with the property, they gracefully welcomed us and showed us around the hotel (terrace suite, junior suite, and the aviary suite). We liked the property so much that we booked for dinner reservation. Up until dinner, we were strolling around the local shops of Lenox and when dinner time approached I headed for my car only to realize that I have BROKEN my spare key !!! We were literally stranded in the cold with no solution left. I called The Wheatleigh and told them about our situation, they sent us Claire, who is from Buffalo, New York to pick us up. She extremely kind, sweet, and very prompt. A comfortable and luxurious Audi picked us up from where we are and drove us to the hotel.

2) Claire went further and beyond, she sent someone to the store to purchase a super glue in order to fix my broken spare key. ( FOR FREE !! ) Fortunately, THE FIXED MY KEY AND NOW I CAN DRIVE MY CAR BACK TO BOSTON

3) We needed some privacy as we had to perform our prayers, Larrisa, who is from Zurich, Switzerland was extremely considerable and opened us one of the rooms in the hotel to pray in !!!!!!!!

4) After we had a fabulous meal at their restaurant, Claire drove us back in her Audi to where my car was parked. And now, with my fixed key, I unlocked the car and drove back home safely.

NOW, THE DILEMMA LIES IN THE FACT THEY WE WERE NOT EVEN GUESTS STAYING AT HOTEL !!!! WHAT IF WE WERE ?? I am sure we would be OVERLY SPOILED.

I really recommend this hotel, their rooms are beautiful and the property is magnificent. The entertainment system in the rooms are all Bang & Olufson. Loved Everything about it. I would like to thank Larrisa and Claire for their amazing generosity. And wish all the readers a chance to stay at his lovely place :)

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mohwaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2010

We stayed at the Wheatleigh for three nights in a junior suite. The room and amenities were wonderful. The service personnel (managers, front desk, housekeepers, porters) could not have been more gracious and eager to please. We stay at hotels/ inns of this caliber on a regular basis, and this hotel really has its "act together". It might be considered expensive but given the service and facilites it is a good value. The only downside was the waitstaff service in the dining room . You are better advised to eat at one of the many alternative restaurants in the area---although the dining room is a very romantic (if formal ) setting.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlztravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2010

I have never been to a hotel, let alone paid this much, and have gotten more value. This property is incredible. Everything was meticulously planned from housekeeping, to the restaurant, to the cookies and the complimentary bottle of champagne in our room at arrival. Not to mention there is no annoying 20% service charged added to everything like some properties. We went out to Lenox to Prime Steakhouse (see review) but wished we ate at Wheatleigh our entire stay. We will be back!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank from_ny_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2010

A group of 10 of us went to celebrate a wonderful birthday and spent over $4500 (yes, you saw that right) on dinner & wine alone. The service was abysmal (they couldn't WAIT to get us out the door at 11 (and no, we weren't rowdy or obnoxious!) on a Friday night. The portions were like the MasterCard "oohhhh it's Elf Food!!" commercial and just about everything had an upcharge.

Now, I will say the presentation was lovely and the attempt was good, but WAY too much gastronomic fru-fru's over substance. Not at ALL worth the $165 pp for 3 courses. Save your dough and go two nights just about anywhere else in town instead...

The grounds and house, however, are lovely! So, maybe just go for a cocktail instead...

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank SubstanceTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
116 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2010

I spent a small fortune here attempting to go on a grand vacation. The place is gorgeous (the bathrooms are perfect) and the understated elegance of detail stunning. But then what? The dinner was crazy expensive ($600/4) and two of us got sick (one threw up.) One of us got cut on the side of the bed's protruding metal leg and the staff had no antiseptic. We had to wait too long a time for a coke as their remedy. I found the entire experience unfriendly, snobbish and uncaring. I would never recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank artpulse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
2.3 mi away
Blantyre
Blantyre
#5 of 16 in Lenox
247 reviews
2.6 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
4.2 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#4 of 16 in Lenox
552 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
4.7 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#6 of 16 in Lenox
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheatleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheatleigh

Property: Wheatleigh
Address: Hawthorne Road, Lenox, MA 01240
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wheatleigh is the perfect marriage of the grandeur of a 16th century Florentine palazzo with the elegance and comfort of the 21st century. Set on 22 acres overlooking the Berkshire Mountains and lake, Wheatleigh is two and a half hours by car from New York and Boston, with easy access by private plane. Built in 1893, Wheatleigh has completed a four year multimillion dollar renovation to create the most unique luxurious small hotel in the world. Awarded Forbes 5 Star for hotel and restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Wheatleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheatleigh Hotel Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing