We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sweet down to earth staff”
Review of Wheatleigh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wheatleigh
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Lenox
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sweet down to earth staff”
Reviewed 21 September 2011

I was hired as a music DJ for a friends wedding , the staff where very accommodating and polite. I do recommend wheatleigh for that special day/event .
Thanks Wheatleigh staff. "Congrats S&M <3 "

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank easilyentertained
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    8
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
12
73
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
West Brookfield, MA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

For the past 20 years i have been going to Wheatleigh as a wonderful addition to my vactation to Tanglewood. It really is outstanding!

Room Tip: any room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbenedict6111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Litchfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Very elegant, did not stay there but have dined twice before. Convenient to Tanglewood.
Excellent food and really good service, pricey but worth it, particularly on a special occassion.

Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Anita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We are a young couple from New York. We went up to the Berkshires for a short weekend getaway and were also attending the BSO performance at Tanglewood. We decided to stay at Wheatleigh for the first time. We were surprised to see the staff waiting at the driveway with a warm, welcome smile and who couldn’t wait to welcome us inside. We had some welcome champagne at the back Terrace before heading to our room. The view was magnificent overlooking to the mountains and lake. This place is exactly what my husband and I wanted. It was so peaceful. The service was extremely personalized. The Front office agent offered us a tour of the property and also gave us a short orientation about the history of the Wheatleigh. Even though it was built in 1893 the interior and architectural design is modernistic. Especially for us, we love staying at a modern and up to fashion hotel which seems hard to find in the Berkshires. We also saw the fitness room and a wonderful wine cellar. There was a great collection of wines from around the world. We were even offered a wine tasting at the end of our tour. We were extremely happy and already enjoying our time here. The last thing we saw was the outdoor heated pool; again I could not believe there is such thing like Wheatleigh up here in the Berkshires. It was such a lovely setting. We requested for an Aromatherapy massage on Saturday by the pool and the hotel was kind enough to arrange for us at the last minute. Our room was a Junior suite on the 2nd floor overlooking the mountain sand the lake with a private covered balcony. We couldn't ask for more with the price we've paid. The room was equipped with a Bang& Olufsen entertainment system and a powermat for my Ipad and Black Berry. At first I couldn’t understand how to use it but the agent noticed and immediately explained it to me. For dinner that evening we went down to the AAA 5 diamond awarded Dining room. We were greeted by the host from the stairway down to the great hall. We were laughing to each other and still can’t believe these young people are so detail oriented and passionate about what they are doing. I noticed the entire staff was young but provided such an exceptional service. We had the seven course chef's tasting menu and were completely filled, but it was a delicious dinner. Throughout our stay we were completely spoiled; it was a memorable experience with prompt service. We will definitely return, let us hope our work gives us more days like this. Thank you to all for such a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nadia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

I have a soft spot for Wheatleigh. My husband and I make an annual pilgrimage to dine there, and recently stayed for the second time at the hotel. One certainly can be at peace here, a transformation that is sometimes instantaneous for me, sitting on deck chairs in one of the most enchantingly peaceful spots in the Berkshires, overlooking the Berks hills (not mountains, but pleasing nonetheless), and the massive trees found throughout the property. This is a quiet place that exudes elegance and historical substance and doesn't feel overly opulent despite the Italianate mansion aspect of the place, because of the spare, modern furnishings. (As an aside, if you haven't been and are comparing to Blantyre, the interiors are vastly different, so check out the photos carefully-- I think of Blantyre as a 'winter, cozy by fireside' spot, and a bit too gloomy for me for the summertime). I was grateful that we were upgraded when we arrived, given that it was our 20th anniversary, never take that sort of thing for granted, and found ourselves in a lovely room overlooking the courtyard fountain, and given some bubbly to celebrate. I can understand why some reviewers here would balk at the price. It is expensive, but that's why we just like to 'hang out' on the property and it feels worth it if that's how you like to spend your time away, without too many other people, if any, to contend with. There is also a lovely staff to welcome you and assist, and though some are 'newbies' they are earnest and sincere. You can literally walk to Tanglewood, for more lawns and massive trees, with music as an accompaniment. One word of advice-- I found that the main restaurant was closed midweek, and although we were able to eat in the library, the food was just not of the standard as the main restaurant, or perhaps I just felt the lack of choices on the prix fixe menu. The experience is decidedly different, and was not my idea of our grand 20th anniversary meal-- however, we have built up sufficient wonderful gastronomic memories there and nostalgia to have tossed off that particular dining experience. So if you are going for the 'total' experience, do make sure you can make a reservation in the main dining room, and that it is open.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mand0line
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We wanted to bring house guests to visit Wheatleigh for drinks on our way to Tanglewood. After calling the prior day, specifying the time of our visit and being assured of welcoming hospitality, we were coldly informed by a uniformed doorman that we should wait while he checked with the restaurant manager. A few minutes later, he returned to tell us that, "No one is available to serve us" and, "Sorry, but you must leave." You can imagine how embarrassed we were to be rudely turned away in front of friends -- especially when a couple seated nearby was enjoying drinks served by a waitress. Avoid this snooty place at all costs. Go to Blantyre or Cranwell.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
12 Thank IntrepidTravelerNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkland, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2011

My husband and I have traveled the world and styed at the best hotel. 4 Season Paris, Rits Carlton Centrail Park, One and Only, ETC ETC. This hotel was by far the nicest, finest service, most luxurious stay ever. We stayed in the Terrace Suite and yes it was expensive, but wow it was spectacular. If you ever get a chnace do stay here.. it is a fantastic, wothwhole experience!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmsmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
2.3 mi away
Blantyre
Blantyre
#5 of 16 in Lenox
5.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
4.7 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#6 of 16 in Lenox
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
2.6 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheatleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheatleigh

Property: Wheatleigh
Address: Hawthorne Road, Lenox, MA 01240
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wheatleigh is the perfect marriage of the grandeur of a 16th century Florentine palazzo with the elegance and comfort of the 21st century. Set on 22 acres overlooking the Berkshire Mountains and lake, Wheatleigh is two and a half hours by car from New York and Boston, with easy access by private plane. Built in 1893, Wheatleigh has completed a four year multimillion dollar renovation to create the most unique luxurious small hotel in the world. Awarded Forbes 5 Star for hotel and restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ so you can book your Wheatleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheatleigh Hotel Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing