We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay even for the price”
Review of Wheatleigh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wheatleigh
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Lenox
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great stay even for the price”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We knew coming in that this was going to be a costly one-night escape to the Berkshires. However, we were very excited to see the Wheatleigh and enjoy the comforts provided its guests. When we checked in we were not disappointed. The hotels is gorgeous and the grounds were immaculate. There was no one to meet us in the lobby upon our arrival (for the first 8 seconds at least) and then when they realized we were there, they were so apologetic for not opening the doors and taking our luggage (I managed just fine). We were given a welcome glass of champagne which we drank at the tables on the rear of the property. Later we were given a tour of the hotel and take to our room. Our room was huge with wonderful amenities and of course, champagne. Overall, the staff was fantastic and incredibly accommodating. My wife and I could not have asked for a more relaxing stay. Spending that kind of money on a hotel is not something I do often, but when I do getting that much in return makes the financial expenditure seem worth it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niko137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    8
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
12
76
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We stayed at this hotel recently because we were having our wedding in the area. We were welcomed with a friendly greeting. We stayed at one of the suites. Although it was quite nicely decorated it was not what we were expecting from a 2000 USD/night suite. Although the living area was spacious, the bedroom was tiny. There was very little closet space and the bathroom was tiny as well (except the shower). The internet connection failed the first hour we began using it and didn't work for the rest of our stay. They tried fixing it but with no success.

The night before our wedding I had my suit pressed but before putting it on I realized that the shirt was not ironed properly. We called to see if it could be done quickly and we were told that it would take an hour and they would charge 30% extra. After calling multiple times my fiancee had to walk to the lobby to find someone herself. Although she was promised that it would be done in 10 mins it took another 50 mins.

As a conclusion, it is a very beautiful hotel with beautiful grounds, the staff is overall friendly but the rooms and service are not worth the price.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Phenompilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Barrington, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Wheatleigh may be the priciest place to visit for an overnight stay or maybe just for dinner - but you absolutely experience the best there is - the decor is superb, the setting is gorgeous, with mountain views and the gardens designed by Olmstead. The staff is welcoming and sees to your every need without being obsequious or underfoot. The rooms are a great combination of elegant historical decor and modern conveniences. We also had dinner, which was delightful - great portion sizes and delicious combinations. They have two fixed price options for dinner - at $125. and $165, not cheap, but each course was a delight for the eye and the palate.
I hesitate to say more for fear you will think that this is a planted review - which it is absolutely NOT - read my others, 'cause I don't gush about many places.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wywyno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Barrington, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Wheatleigh is a gem. On a par with many of the nicer properties visited anywhere in the world. The setting, the food, the staff, and the rooms are all exceptional. It didn't hurt that we were here for a midweek getaway. It wasn't crowded and I imagine that everyone was a bit more attentive than they could be at mid season.
I have eaten here before and dinner, no the entire experience is pricey. But worth the price.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinakil1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

My husband and I were looking for a 5 star weekend getaway from NYC that didn't require a plane ride. Having relied on trip advisor and other reviews for suggestions, we were pleasantly surprised with our stay at Wheatleigh. Here are the pros and cons in a nutshell for those of you on the fence.

PROS:
Lovely setting and location on 22 park-like acres near a lake
Extremely nice and professional young staff who go out of their way to meet all your needs and make your stay a pleasant one
Beautiful dining room for dinner with good French food
Great proximity to tennis, biking, hiking and kayaking

CONS:
Our Terrace Suite was nice size, but furnishings older and a bit run down
Bathrooms need updating
Dinner was a set menu and pricey, $125 for food alone, which makes it even pricier than NYC's best French restaurant, Daniel, which is much better!

We stayed in their nicest room, the Terrace suite, which I preferred over their other suites. However, the normal rate for this room is $1,800/nt (although they gave us a 25% discount) but quite frankly, those are "big city, 5 star room" prices, and not what one would expect to pay in Lennox or Stockbridge!!

The best part for us was that it was a great escape from NYC and all the people! There were only 19 rooms in the hotel which gave it a very exclusive feeling...like staying at your rich friend's country mansion. Just be prepared, that "exclusivity" comes with a high price tag. But we felt it was worth it...and we will definitely go back!!

Room Tip: Splurge and upgrade to the Terrace suite if you can afford it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Donna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockbridge, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Beautiful Wheatleigh is in Stockbridge not Lenox! It was often the case in the times that these great estates were built because Lenox had a certain cache to state that the address was Lenox. Wheatleigh, however, is located in the beautiful village of Stockbridge!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SUnderwoodMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

We just returned back to NYC after an amazing weekend at the Wheatleigh. We felt like we were away for a week in a European Villa, rather than just two days a mere three hours away from our apartment. Being at the property is a transformative experience; you literally experience the sensation of staying at a private estate with a staff ready to help with any request. After spending time in many luxury hotels around the world, I can honestly say that the level of service at the inn is unparalleled. Don't hesitate, make your reservation today! A special thank you to Sabine, Marc and the entire team for making our stay so memorable.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank LadyBren85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
2.3 mi away
Blantyre
Blantyre
#5 of 16 in Lenox
249 reviews
1.8 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#4 of 16 in Lenox
555 reviews
2.6 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,006 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
4.7 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#6 of 16 in Lenox
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheatleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheatleigh

Property: Wheatleigh
Address: Hawthorne Road, Lenox, MA 01240
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wheatleigh is the perfect marriage of the grandeur of a 16th century Florentine palazzo with the elegance and comfort of the 21st century. Set on 22 acres overlooking the Berkshire Mountains and lake, Wheatleigh is two and a half hours by car from New York and Boston, with easy access by private plane. Built in 1893, Wheatleigh has completed a four year multimillion dollar renovation to create the most unique luxurious small hotel in the world. Awarded Forbes 5 Star for hotel and restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wheatleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheatleigh Hotel Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing