We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have Dinner in the Library, and find a room elsewhere”
Review of Wheatleigh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wheatleigh
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Lenox
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
New York, NY
135
Reviewed 21 October 2004

We visited the Wheatleigh on our first trip to the Berkshires. While we loved the area (so much so, that we bought a home there two weeks later), we were disappointed with the Wheatleigh. Though the disappointment was purely from a value standpoint.

The setting is stunning, and the proprietors have done a superb job of decorating with an eye that is contemporary yet consistent with the aesthetic of the building. The rooms (we had a small suite) are comfortable with an elegant simplicity.

However, at $1,000 per night, we expected more than comfortable and lovely. We get more than that for $1,000 in virtually any venue. Even Canyon Ranch, a few miles away, might throw in a massage and a meal for that price!

And the dining room, while lovely, is again, massively overpriced.

The service is everpresent yet undertrained. Subtlety would be appreciated. And our enthusiasm for having a "fire prepared" for us after dinner was dampened when we discovered that just meant putting a match to a duraflame log.

Since moving to the Berkshires, we use the Wheatleigh regularly as a visitor stop off point. And we can recommend the "Library" for casual dining. In fact, that would be our suggestion . . . have a drink and dinner in the library, and find another room for the evening.

35  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 136 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Tampa, FL
14
Reviewed 24 September 2004

The Wheatleigh was simply exquisite. Walking distance to Tanglewood. Elegant, understated, & stylish guest suites. Euro style service. Exceptional dining. Bvlgari amenities. Delightful experience!

  • Stayed: August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2004

Our weekend stay at Wheatleigh proved to be a very expensive. The hotel is very overpriced, the food is mediocre. The rooms are lovely but not luxurious or extradonary.

  • Stayed: September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank seta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
New York, NY
430
Reviewed 19 March 2004

This place is perfect in every way, but it cost close to $1000 per night. Definitely a special occasion splurge.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2004

A superlative Berkshires retreat. Make sure you arrive after sunset, for that amazing first impression of the handsomely lit property after driving along a dark and winding road. The understated service by a young, European staff begins to impress immediately: a warm welcome at the porte cochere, "check in" in the comfort of your room, a welcome drink served almost immediately. The whole estate has been meticulously restored and updated. Gone are the stuffy Victorian furnishings that no doubt once cluttered the place. Instead, soothing colors, whimsical yet comfortable furniture and theatrical lighting throughout. The views of the green Berkshire hills from the back porch sent shivers down my spine. A secluded pool is located a short stroll from the house. Two dining options: the main restaurant and the slightly less formal "library". Both will serve you memorable meals (best cheese cart I have ever sampled!) We visited during a very rainy Memorial Day weekend, and yet we had a wonderful time. Can't wait to come back during different seasons.

5  Thank trippy036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2004

My uncle owned this fabulous estate back in the 1930s and '40s; he purchased the mansion for a song from descendants of the Countess, Mrs. Carlos de Heredia upon her death. I saw this place as a child and eleven years ago as an adult and hope to go back soon. I am a bit biased, having had this in the family, but it is truly one of America's lovliest and grandest estates. The grounds were designed by the same person who designed New York's famed Central Park, Frederich Law Olmstead. The property is adjacent to the equally venerable Tanglewood concert grounds where the Boston Philharmonic performs during the summer months. The villa is in the Italianate style, replete with fountain in the middle of the circular driveway and an elegant façade that is also reminiscent of the Parthenon in Greece, with its white pristine columns. The place was redecorated about four years ago, 2000 and the new furnishings changed the mood of the interior. I am somewhat dismayed at the new decorations, as I feel that they do not capture the old-world, original Gilded Age opulence of the villa. The old brochure shows the rooms and interior and Great Hall to best advantage. The elegant Chippendale furnishings of ten years ago have been replaced with neo moderne minimalist style settees and chairs which I don't care for. The rooms are still elegant and airy, but again, I wish they had chosen a better interior design firm to re- do the place. The architecture however and the out of this world culinary offerings are still some of the best in North America and are so recognized by many upscale magazines and travel firms. I am proud to have had this in the family at one time and am glad that the new owners have taken such pride of ownership and care in keeping the grounds up and the place restored. The Wheatleigh estate would be the ideal locale for a wedding or that special occasion, and especially on Valentine's Day or Thanksgiving. I hope to one day very soon return to this splendid manor and to relive its elegance and beauty again.

4  Thank cjennt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2004

The Wheatleigh is certainly the "Nordstom's" of the Hotel world. We just had a wonderful experience at the Hotel. While the accomodations are very nice, you must go to experience the outstanding cusine and the unbeatable service. The young European staff is as good as it gets. The service was flawless - unobtrusive but a genuine interest in meeting every need. Bravo to them!! The Chef's Tasting menu should not be missed. We will go back.

5  Thank nevermissBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
2.3 mi away
Blantyre
Blantyre
#6 of 16 in Lenox
264 reviews
1.8 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#3 of 16 in Lenox
573 reviews
2.6 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Courtyard Marriott Lenox Berkshires
4.2 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,056 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheatleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheatleigh

Address: Hawthorne Road, Lenox, MA 01240
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lenox
Price Range: £495 - £1,335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wheatleigh is the perfect marriage of the grandeur of a 16th century Florentine palazzo with the elegance and comfort of the 21st century. Set on 22 acres overlooking the Berkshire Mountains and lake, Wheatleigh is two and a half hours by car from New York and Boston, with easy access by private plane. Built in 1893, Wheatleigh has completed a four year multimillion dollar renovation to create the most unique luxurious small hotel in the world. Awarded Forbes 5 Star for hotel and restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wheatleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheatleigh Hotel Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing