We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dreams really do come true!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wheatleigh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wheatleigh
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Lenox
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Dreams really do come true!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2005

Just returned from a dream weekend at The Wheatleigh. While this is probably the most expensive spot in the Berkshires, it is worth every single penny. As a very discriminating traveler, I know what's worth it...and this was worth it. Robb Report readers, this is your kind of place. The decor is impeccably elegant (no hideous doiles and creepy dolls on the shelves here), the food rivals NYC's finest restaurants, the service is perfection, and most important to me...the little luxuries are top-notch. The towels are soft and plush and stark white. The beds are firm but comfortable. The warm cookies upon arrival are heavenly. The lemonade on the terrace so refreshing. Ah....

Splurge on the Wheatleigh. You'll thank me.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Annielovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    8
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
12
72
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sausalito, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2005

Recently we spent a night at Wheatleigh, expecting the world as we had prepaid our room! We had reserved a "junior suite" which we had been assured was one of the resort's finest rooms. Upon arrival we were greeted by a very pleasant man who seemed infatuated with his own voice. Our car and our credit card were taken and not returned to us without a lengthy request. (Both the car and credit card!)The room was pleasant enough: clean and seemingly tranquil. We were informed that flowers were available for a certain fee as well as wine or champagne in our room. There were many uniformed, young, personel lurking about which made us feel as if we were actors in a play we were unfamiliar with. The towels in the room were threadbare, the rooms was quite noisy during the night, and the dinner in the restaurant was a lot of hype without delicious flavor. To top off our mediocre but very costly experience, our check -out was difficult and confusing. It seems one should never question a bill in places like Wheatleigh! Too expensive and too pretentious for words!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank lucindaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2005

I went to wheatleigh for thansgiveing with my family, and they did just one heck of a job. From the moment you arived they knew our name, the europian staff took us out of our car, walked us around the 19th centry medaterian style mansion. There was no check in there was only relaxtion, they showed us the stain glass, and hallways, the dinning rooms that faced the expansive grounds, and then took us to our room. We had booked the aivery suite nicknamed the tree house suit, it is its own little compartment and has a staircase that go's up the center of an old oak. It has a beatifull downstairs liveing area, and on top, and bedroom with wooden floors and walls, that contains a large window that faces onto the gergous forests. The bathroom was a antique shower wetroom with an old tub that was derservant of some anquiqe award or something. The staff asked us if we wanted any thing and we ordered hot apple cider, and it was delivered promptly. Dinner was a wonderful event for thanksgiving, it was tasty combanations of french, and american cusiune in their elagent dinning room. It was like heaven. Breakfast was something else, when i asked for hot choclate they bubeled fresh chocalote with homemade marshmellows. Everything was kept like a compostion untill the very end of our stay, a beatifull manor in beatifull setting. Bravo to the wheatleigh.

  • Stayed November 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2005

This is a high price to pay - but the service was ever present, and understated - and the meals exceptional. We've been back yearly since our first visit in 2001 and will return...... though I agree, that a meal should be included in the price.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2004

We visited the Wheatleigh on our first trip to the Berkshires. While we loved the area (so much so, that we bought a home there two weeks later), we were disappointed with the Wheatleigh. Though the disappointment was purely from a value standpoint.

The setting is stunning, and the proprietors have done a superb job of decorating with an eye that is contemporary yet consistent with the aesthetic of the building. The rooms (we had a small suite) are comfortable with an elegant simplicity.

However, at $1,000 per night, we expected more than comfortable and lovely. We get more than that for $1,000 in virtually any venue. Even Canyon Ranch, a few miles away, might throw in a massage and a meal for that price!

And the dining room, while lovely, is again, massively overpriced.

The service is everpresent yet undertrained. Subtlety would be appreciated. And our enthusiasm for having a "fire prepared" for us after dinner was dampened when we discovered that just meant putting a match to a duraflame log.

Since moving to the Berkshires, we use the Wheatleigh regularly as a visitor stop off point. And we can recommend the "Library" for casual dining. In fact, that would be our suggestion . . . have a drink and dinner in the library, and find another room for the evening.

Helpful?
34 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2004

The Wheatleigh was simply exquisite. Walking distance to Tanglewood. Elegant, understated, & stylish guest suites. Euro style service. Exceptional dining. Bvlgari amenities. Delightful experience!

  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2004

Our weekend stay at Wheatleigh proved to be a very expensive. The hotel is very overpriced, the food is mediocre. The rooms are lovely but not luxurious or extradonary.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank seta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
2.3 mi away
Blantyre
Blantyre
#4 of 14 in Lenox
5.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
4.7 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#5 of 14 in Lenox
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
2.6 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheatleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheatleigh

Property: Wheatleigh
Address: Hawthorne Road, Lenox, MA 01240
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wheatleigh is the perfect marriage of the grandeur of a 16th century Florentine palazzo with the elegance and comfort of the 21st century. Set on 22 acres overlooking the Berkshire Mountains and lake, Wheatleigh is two and a half hours by car from New York and Boston, with easy access by private plane. Built in 1893, Wheatleigh has completed a four year multimillion dollar renovation to create the most unique luxurious small hotel in the world. Awarded Forbes 5 Star for hotel and restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ so you can book your Wheatleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheatleigh Hotel Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing