We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“UGH! Save your money!”
Review of Wheatleigh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wheatleigh
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Lenox
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2010

A group of 10 of us went to celebrate a wonderful birthday and spent over $4500 (yes, you saw that right) on dinner & wine alone. The service was abysmal (they couldn't WAIT to get us out the door at 11 (and no, we weren't rowdy or obnoxious!) on a Friday night. The portions were like the MasterCard "oohhhh it's Elf Food!!" commercial and just about everything had an upcharge.

Now, I will say the presentation was lovely and the attempt was good, but WAY too much gastronomic fru-fru's over substance. Not at ALL worth the $165 pp for 3 courses. Save your dough and go two nights just about anywhere else in town instead...

The grounds and house, however, are lovely! So, maybe just go for a cocktail instead...

Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
4  Thank SubstanceTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2010

I spent a small fortune here attempting to go on a grand vacation. The place is gorgeous (the bathrooms are perfect) and the understated elegance of detail stunning. But then what? The dinner was crazy expensive ($600/4) and two of us got sick (one threw up.) One of us got cut on the side of the bed's protruding metal leg and the staff had no antiseptic. We had to wait too long a time for a coke as their remedy. I found the entire experience unfriendly, snobbish and uncaring. I would never recommend this place.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank artpulse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2010

I recently took my boyfriend for his birthday to dine at Wheatleigh and could not have asked for more. The staff were uncommonly attentive and very keen to our every need without being intrusive. We ordered from the 4 course tasting menu and were very sad when the experience was over. While we did not stay at the hotel, I can only imagine how luxurious that must be if we just got a glimpse at dinner! A gem of the Berkshires, and certainly a rival of the finest restaurants and hotels everywhere.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DCB620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2010

From the moment we arrived to the time we left, our stay at the Wheatleigh was wonderful. Upon our arrival, we enjoyed a complementary glass of champagne in the Great Hall and we were able to relax after our drive to Lenox. The atmosphere was welcoming and so was the staff.

Our room was comfortable and it was nice to find the little extras like cookies, bottles of water and a handwritten note from the Hotel Manager in our room. While we were at dinner, the bed was turned down, candles were lit in the fireplace and soft music was playing.

We had dinner in the Dining Room and it was quite the experience. Our servers were professional, the food was excellent, and it is well worth the price.

We were not able to enjoy the grounds since our visit was during January. I took beautiful pictures of the snow covered hills and surrounding countryside. The sky was bright blue and it was a great backdrop to take pictures of the front of the hotel. We look forward to visiting again so we will be able to see the sculpture garden and use the pool.

Once again our stay at the Wheatleigh was magnificent!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lata016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2009

In a phrase: Just don't do it. Sure the location is lovely (right down the street from Tanglewood) and the building is beautiful with a lovely lawn but this is one ridiculously over priced inn.

I almost don't need to write this as several reviewers before me have done - a beautiful building with what I'll kindly refer to as disinterested service, small rooms, ok (but not over the top) food and ridiculous prices.

How ridiculous? How about $34 for a glass of Veuve Cliquot. That's the same price as the retail price in the wine shop in downtown Lenox. A 5X markup over retail??!!

We were "upgraded" to a room that normally goes for in the environs of $1500/night. It was a well decorated, but completely ordinary hotel room. Overlooking the courtyard.

Since the rooms start - at least in the high season - at $800/night you'd think something might be thrown in. Breakfast? A cup of coffee? Nope. You could attend the wine tasting in the cellar but that would depend on your finding it in the small print in the hotel brochure left in the room - not that anyone would tell you about it.

One hilarious note: When you arrive you are offered a selection of bath products and can choose which scent/brand you want. I chose two as there were two of us and one was described as "masculine" and the other "feminine". I thought the attendant was going to fall over! Two! Quel horreur.

It doesn't have the charms of Tanglewood but the Inn at Castle Hill in Newport is a fabulous alternative fine lodging/dining destination. And real value.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank mrwatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2009

My husband and I celebrated our 5 year anniversary at the hotel. We had the terrace suite, which had a beautiful and spacious patio, where we spent lots of our time. The patio is not very private as people can look in, but we didn't mind. The room itself is small compared to suites at other hotels for the same price. One small bathroom with one sink, so have to share! There was a nice flat screen TV with fancy remote and instructions on how to use the system. There is wireless internet in the room.

The service was impeccable! Anything we needed, they made it happen.

We went to dinner at their main restaurant twice. The food was delicious, but portions tiny! It was 125 prix fixe per person for 4 course menu. We also ate at the library and got food delivered to our room from there. Portions were bigger and food very tasty as well.

The only complain I had is that it's pretty noisy during the day. We didn't venture out anywhere so every time we would come out on our patio, they would be either mowing the lawn or blowing leaves. One day we had lunch on our patio when a guy started to mow right next to us! I called and they made it stop right away.

Overall, we had a great time and definitely come back!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank panthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2009

After reading the other reviewers' disappointment about Wheatleigh's approach to weddings, I wanted to share my own experience....

We held our wedding at Wheatleigh a year ago and by all accounts from every one of our guests, it was one of the best weddings they ever attended. The GM and team provided a lot of input to the wedding sequence especially when it came to the dining. We left the dancing to after the meal was over and while I initially wanted to sequence the dancing in between the courses, I am glad I listened to their guidance. By doing it this way everyone was able to enjoy the dinner which was fantastic and a gourmet dining experience (which is something they are known for) rather than your standard wedding food which can be less than memorable sometimes. You also avoid the possibility of the food going cold and alienating the other guests who are not dancing (who are waiting for their food).

Once the dinner was over, we moved over to cut the cake and then the big party began with the DJ. We continued to serve food late into the early morning to make sure we enjoyed every minute of the party.

All in all, the team at Wheatleigh are the best. They are experts at handling weddings, fine dining and delivering the very best service. All of our guests thoroughly enjoyed the wedding and are still raving about the hotel experience.

We just came back from another weekend Wheatleigh for our anniversary and the GM surprised us with re-creating a mini version of our wedding cake and even included one of our wedding favors! Now that is the best in service and personalization. Wheatleigh is a very special place and our wedding was incredibly romantic. As the bride, I never had to worry about anything because the team went above and beyond to take care of our every need.

If you are considering holding your wedding there, don't hesitate!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theworldismyhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
2.3 mi away
Blantyre
Blantyre
#6 of 16 in Lenox
269 reviews
1.8 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#4 of 16 in Lenox
579 reviews
2.9 mi away
Courtyard Marriott Lenox Berkshires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
4.2 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,078 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheatleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheatleigh

Address: Hawthorne Road, Lenox, MA 01240
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lenox
Price Range: £494 - £810 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wheatleigh is the perfect marriage of the grandeur of a 16th century Florentine palazzo with the elegance and comfort of the 21st century. Set on 22 acres overlooking the Berkshire Mountains and lake, Wheatleigh is two and a half hours by car from New York and Boston, with easy access by private plane. Built in 1893, Wheatleigh has completed a four year multimillion dollar renovation to create the most unique luxurious small hotel in the world. Awarded Forbes 5 Star for hotel and restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Wheatleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheatleigh Hotel Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing