We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, but Overpriced”
Review of Wheatleigh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wheatleigh
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Lenox
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2003

We had a wonderful winter weekend, with fantastic service, excellent food and very nice accomodations. However, at more than $800 a night, the inn is definately overpriced.

In addition, it has a very New York City feel that some may like and others may feel out of place in the country. The colors are beige, brown and taupe. I found them soothing; my wife thought they were dreary.

The rooms were spatious, but not overly so. We booked a junior suite, with a fireplace, but were disappointed to find it only takes Duraflame logs, which just don't quite create a normal fire.

The bathroom was great, however, with a huge soaking tub and a separate shower. So too was the terrace, but since it was winter, it saw little use.

The restaurant was very good but also quite expensive. Dinner for two, without a bottle of wine, was about $350.

The in-room massage and other treatments should be avoided. They were mediocre and also quite expensive, more so than at other pricey hotels.

In sum, we would probably not come here again, and certainly not during the winter. In summer, the inn could have a very different feel, so future summer guests may wish to take this review with a grain of salt.

11  Thank Brandt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 136 of 136 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
New york, NY
13
Reviewed 9 January 2003

Not even 3 hours from New York.
What a treat !
Expensive but worth it European-style inn and Restaurant in Lenox. the setting, the service, the ambience--it's a once in a life time experience.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Recomendo o quarto 2F.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcelo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Alle Zimmer sind einzigartig.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Judith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dimies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariannedeslandes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
2.3 mi away
Blantyre
Blantyre
#6 of 16 in Lenox
268 reviews
1.8 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#3 of 16 in Lenox
579 reviews
2.9 mi away
Courtyard Marriott Lenox Berkshires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,077 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
2.6 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheatleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheatleigh

Address: Hawthorne Road, Lenox, MA 01240
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lenox
Price Range: £494 - £811 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wheatleigh is the perfect marriage of the grandeur of a 16th century Florentine palazzo with the elegance and comfort of the 21st century. Set on 22 acres overlooking the Berkshire Mountains and lake, Wheatleigh is two and a half hours by car from New York and Boston, with easy access by private plane. Built in 1893, Wheatleigh has completed a four year multimillion dollar renovation to create the most unique luxurious small hotel in the world. Awarded Forbes 5 Star for hotel and restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Wheatleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheatleigh Hotel Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing