We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Years Eve”
Review of Yankee Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yankee Inn
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Lenox
Certificate of Excellence
NH
2 reviews
“New Years Eve”
Reviewed 2 February 2012

My wife and I spent a few days over New Years Eve in the Lenox area and were favorably impressed with the Yankee Inn. We stay several times a year and enjoy the new renovations-especially the lobby area. Being a frequent traveler, I come to expect certain amenities and I was not let down. The rooms are always very clean and we are able to get a good nights sleep with the very comfortable bedding. From what I can see, the Toole family is quite committed to their hotel business. The staff has always been very friendly and accommodating. They are providing a comfortable, affordable stay without being trendy. The location is great and they have a very spacious indoor pool with hot tub. We plan to return soon to the Yankee Inn!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thewoodpeckers2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    212
    73
    20
    18
See reviews for
165
226
19
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

My fiance' and I travelled to the Berkshires for quick ski getaway and found Yankee Inn. We stayed in a king bed, fireplace room in the main hotel. The room and hotel was immaculate, we found the breakfast buffet adequate (good coffee, fresh assortment of breads,danishes, and cereals). There are 3 mountains within a 15 minute drive for skiing, hiking, biking. The staff is knowledgeable and friendly. Overall a great value -- given that the chain hotels are in the same price range (Yankee Inn had more amenities).

As another reviewer noted, there is a hot tub and pool area -- while there were a good number of families with children in the early evening, we found that later in the evening (past 8) we had the hot tub and pool area all to ourselves!

Highly suggest for families and for couples looking for a good central point to a weekend in the mountains.

Room Tip: Try for a room in the main building, otherwise you would have to walk (not far but still a good hund...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UpperEastGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

My husband and I stayed in a king bed room with a fireplace in the main building. The room was a nice size and appeared to be very clean. There was a private balcony, which I am sure we would have used if it was the summer. The hotel had easy parking and a central location for us. It was not "charming" but rather decorated as if it were a chain hotel. The breakfast was standard but adequate. We were excited to use the hot tub in the pool area, however our first attempt was thwarted by a large group of children playing in it. When returned at an alternate time we were disappointed that it was not hot, but rather luke warm. Overall we would return but not for a romantic weekend. It seemed to us to be better suited to families.

Room Tip: would request main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TMC-WP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We had no specific complaints but there was nothing outstanding about this motel. Our room was in an older building which seemed just a touch shabby. For example, there was a new jacuzzi plopped in the middle of the bedroom but it seemed to be at the expense of the original tub/shower, which could have used caulking. The instructions on the door regarding the lock seemed to pertain to a previous doorknob and lock. It had snowed lightly the night before and the walkways were quite slick. We felt $200 was pricey.

Room Tip: Try asking for newer section, although we didn't see those rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mydeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresh Meadows, New York
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

My family and I went to the Yankee Inn from 12/27-12/30 and when we checked in our room was ready and we had two connecting rooms. The staff was very helpful and Leo checked us in and was very professional. The other staff members like Sean was very helpful too. My boys loved the in door pool and the water perfect to swim in. The breakfast was good from 6-10am. Again the staff was very helpful and professional. The Yankee Inn was totally booked and there were many families and it was fun for all. Thank you again for making us feel like a part of the family of the Yankee Inn. See you in the summer.

Dean D.

Room Tip: If you want connecting room us 406 and 408 they double beds but great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dino2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OSWEGO
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

We just returned from a trip to Pittsfiled Mass. visiting our grandchildren. We had a wonderful stay at the Yankee Inn. The Inn and the rooms were spotless. They had an indoor pool and hot tub for everyone to enjoy. If you are in Lenox stay at the Yankee Inn instead of a chain hotel. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcrap53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, FL
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

I spend up to 200 nights a year in hotels all over the world. I have stayed at the Yankee Inn twice, and both times have been excellent. The staff is friendly and attentive, and the rooms are immaculately clean and very comfortable. It's always a treat to find a family run operation that can compete with the chains. You can find fancier hotels, by this place is one of the most comfortable and reasonably priced hotels in the US!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sethrapaport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
5.7 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Berkshire Hills Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lenox Pittsfield
8.7 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yankee Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yankee Inn

Property: Yankee Inn
Address: 461 Pittsfield Rd, Lenox, MA 01240-2132
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lenox
#3 Family Hotel in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yankee Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yankee Inn is a landmark hotel in the beautifully serene Berkshire Hills of Lenox, MA. The Yankee Inn is cozy and private enough for a romantic getaway, but also accommodating and accessible enough for a family vacation. Our staff works above and beyond to cater to your needs and provide the exact experience you want. The Main Building houses our lobby, cocktail lounge, indoor pool and guest rooms, which included original and newly built hotel rooms. Our South Building maintains the motel style of the original motor lodge, housing smaller and more economical rooms. We provide a complimentary breakfast every morning, leaving you more time to spend skiing or sightseeing. You can also book an in-room massage for ultimate relaxation. Whatever your vacation desires are, we can help you plan the perfect stay. Yankee Inn is your next vacation destination. Book a room with us today and let's get started planning your perfect getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Yankee Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yankee Hotel Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing