We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good find”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Yankee Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Yankee Inn
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Lenox
Certificate of Excellence
Holliston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A good find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Looks like just another motel by the highway, but it's quite good. Very reasonable rates, relaxed and welcoming atmosphere [bring your own wine & cheese party poolside in the evening]. The staff are outstanding - friendly and helpful. Kyle, in particular, went out of his way to make our stay a pleasure. Short drive to Tanglewood, Arrowhead, downtown Lenox - well located.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtoole, General Manager at Yankee Inn, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Tom,
We greatly appreciate your feedback! We are so happy you found the inn to be relaxing and were able to enjoy the outdoor pool. We love when guests are able to utilize our property to the fullest and are grateful to you for spreading the word! It is always wonderful when a particular staff member receives accolades, it makes our job so much more enjoyable. Kyle is truly a wonderful staff member and were so happy he was able to impact your stay with us.
We hope you will come back and visit us again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    204
    69
    20
    18
See reviews for
158
219
19
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

As you are driving up the highway, you might think the Yankee Inn is just another hotel. Don't be fooled! The staff is amazing: helpful, friendly, knowledgeable, in short, a pleasure. The room was very clean and well-appointed with a balcony. The interesting thing about the balcony is that it is angled to look, not toward the highway but at the grounds which are quite nice. The indoor pool and jacuzzi were very pleasant and well-maintained. We didn't try the outdoor pool. The breakfasts were very well presented and we could get individually ordered omelets on the weekend. The location is central to many activities. All in all, a great place to stay!

Room Tip: We were on the second floor and that was very good. Can't compare with other locations because d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtoole, General Manager at Yankee Inn, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Mary,

Thank you for such a lovely review! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and you found the staff to be pleasant! We love having the opportunity to make a positive impact on our guests vacation and are glad to know we impacted yours! We hope you come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed here for one night. The hotel staff is super sweet and very helpful.. The room we had was in the motel portion and that side is very motel like. it was very inexpensive $120 or so a night but we had two doubles beds and we are a couple. The beds are kind of mediocre and well unless you can afford $200 to stay in he nicer rooms I might just try to find someplace else. These places need updating as they just aren't up to 2014 standards.. I wouldn't stay here again but at least it's clean and the staff is nice..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xsimmons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtoole, General Manager at Yankee Inn, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear xsimmons,

Thank you for your most helpful feedback. We rely upon superior customer service and cleanliness to supplement the current shortcomings of our economy section of the hotel. I am very glad to know that we succeeded in proving our worth in those areas! We are always continuing to make updates and renovations and are currently very focused on bringing our south building rooms up to the standards of the rest of our hotel.

If you do plan on returning in the future please contact me directly and I would be very happy to make sure you are placed in the perfect room for your needs!
Best wishes,

Mollie Toole

413-499-3700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We had a great stay. The room was clean and we loved the private balcony and view of the pond. Didn't use the pool. Hotel was quiet. Bed and pillows were very comfortable. Shower was clean and hot water worked well. Toiletries were nice. Continental breakfast was above average and held in a large, bright room. We appreciated that it lasted until 10am on a Sunday morning. Halls and common areas were well maintained. The stairwell had been freshly painted. Price was high for us at $134 but competitive for that area on a Saturday night. Desk workers were young but polite and knowledgeable. Parking situation was good. Like that the hotel was set back from the road noise, especially on the pond side. There is a second building on site that is closer to the road than the main building.

The best part was the complimentary wine bottle found in our room as part of a promotion where I booked the room directly on the hotel website. I was expecting a small bottle of cheap domestic wine, but it was a full-size bottle of Pinot Grigio (our favorite), imported from Italy. My wife and I enjoyed drinking it on the balcony after the kids were asleep. The wine was a nice touch that made our stay at Yankee Inn stand out among the hotels we stayed at on our vacation. We would have liked to stay longer, if our itinerary had allowed us to stay in the area longer. Thank you for a good night!

Room Tip: Rooms on the south end of the main building on the 2nd and 3rd floors have a view of the pond. Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayPak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naugatuck, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

To the wonderful people at Yankee Inn,


I was looking for something quaint, relaxing and inviting while searching the internet. We were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary so I wanted someplace special. After much research, including online reviews, I settled on Yankee Inn. We had travelled to the Berkshires before, having stayed at many other places, but The Yankee Inn seemed more down-to-earth, a little bit more homey. Having only been there for an evening, we didn't get a chance to take advantage of all of the things available to us, but we did have some great conversations with the front desk staff. The Yankee Inn turned out to be the best choice for us; the reviews were right. It's a prime location filled with down-home country charm, professional and respectful people, and great views of the mountains. We will be back again, sooner than our next 25th, possibly even coming back in the fall. Thank you, Bill & Marybeth Kiely

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank write4bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here a night last week traveling for business. So, this place is an older motel-style establishment, with the front doors directly leading outside. I have stayed in the Berkshires plenty of times, and this is typical for the area. There are some newer chain hotels popping up, but this is the norm. I will say I had moderate expectations, but Yankee Inn surprised me. For its age, the place was well kept. Clean room, clean bathroom, clean sheets. Room had a fridge/microwave, desk, tv, queen bed, bathroom and was plenty adequate for a night. Lobby was nicely remodeled (I think?). WIFI was faster than chain hotels I'm used to. Did not experience breakfast. Check in and out was a breeze.
My only complaint was this hotel seems to cater to some work crews. There was a sign out front advertising a special rate. Well, I checked in at 9pm and there was a crew hanging out outside, drinking. A bit loud. Not a huge deal, but then they all seemed to be up at 5:30am, yelling, and walking around right outside the room. Not the hotels fault, but something to consider. Other than that, I would stay again if in the area.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here one night, before my program at Kripalu. Great location, about 10 minutes away from a pizza place that serves vegan pies.

The hotel is very cozy and feels like a New England home. Front desk was very nice and helpful. The room was equipped with a small fridge, large TV, and a sliding glass door that leads to a small patio. Wonderful view of the mountains. Great value, will stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrisy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
5.7 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Berkshire Hills Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
8.7 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yankee Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yankee Inn

Property: Yankee Inn
Address: 461 Pittsfield Rd, Lenox, MA 01240-2132
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lenox
#3 Family Hotel in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yankee Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yankee Inn is a landmark hotel in the beautifully serene Berkshire Hills of Lenox, MA. The Yankee Inn is cozy and private enough for a romantic getaway, but also accommodating and accessible enough for a family vacation. Our staff works above and beyond to cater to your needs and provide the exact experience you want. The Main Building houses our lobby, cocktail lounge, indoor pool and guest rooms, which included original and newly built hotel rooms. Our South Building maintains the motel style of the original motor lodge, housing smaller and more economical rooms. We provide a complimentary breakfast every morning, leaving you more time to spend skiing or sightseeing. You can also book an in-room massage for ultimate relaxation. Whatever your vacation desires are, we can help you plan the perfect stay. Yankee Inn is your next vacation destination. Book a room with us today and let's get started planning your perfect getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yankee Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yankee Hotel Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing